We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Sesto Calende, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very Average rooms”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Not sure what it is about UK hotel rooms, but they generally seem tired and so so small. As for the location of this hotel, i am assuming it's convenient only if your going to the airport and your not in a rush to get there!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel and bedrooms have been refurbished over the past two years and usually receive positive feedback. If you are ever unhappy with your bedroom please feel free to contact the front desk staff who will always try to help with any issues you are experiencing.

There are many restaurants, cafes and bars located within walking distance of the hotel, including a cinema and bowling alley. Our Concierge will be happy to inform you of places to dine and things to see and do.

The hotel is located 3 miles from Gatwick Airport, taking less than 10 minutes to drive. Our staff will happy to order a taxi for you or help with information regarding buses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    786
    409
    138
    83
See reviews for
280
1,005
131
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Had a great deal here with parking for 8 days included , check in was easy and we were on our way to our room which had great views towards the airport , The room was very nice with a big bathroom and a large shower , just as we were going to go to bed we could hear the airconditioning unit making noises even though it was switched off . A call to reception to try to change to a quieter room came back with the response that all other rooms were the same , so we did have a bad nights sleep before our flight .Otherwise we couldnt't fault the hotel . We just missed the airport bus so we caught the number 10 bus 2 mins away for £1.70 each wich took us to the airport in about 15mins , we also caught this bus at 22.20 when we came home as well which saved half on the cost of the hotel bus .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJPNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
We were disappointed to hear that you were disturbed during your sleep due to the air conditioning system. If there is a maintenance issue with your bedroom we will always offer a change of room if available and so I was sorry to hear this was not offered as our bedrooms are not currently experiencing any issues related to air conditioning noise. Moving forwards I was pleased to hear you found the bathroom to be large with a good shower.

I hope you had an enjoyable holiday and would like to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza London Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We booked a Club Room through Booking.com and they were a very nice surprise: huge room, with Bose audio system, big LCD TV, posh accessories in the room (I loved the 'sleep well' set, a perfumed spray you can put on your pillow). The bathroom got both the shower and the bath...everything was very clean and well maintained. I would just say that there was too much light around, but I say that just as a 'gree consumer' that would like to reduce energy consumptions. The continental breakfast was included and it was delicious: no need to go for the english breakfast, unless you are a fanatic of it. They also have a very nice swimming pool and jacuzzi, but we didn't use it...maybe next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saronca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for your great review following your stay here with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and were delighted to hear you found your Club room comfortable and that you were able to make use of the accessories. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here the night before heading to Mexico on our honeymoon.

I had emailed the hotel in advance to inform them that it was our honeymoon, and on arrival at the hotel they had upgraded us! What a lovely surprise.

The room was really lovely and comfortable and we couldnt have asked for anymore.

The hotel is a short walk to a complex where there is a bowling alley and a few restaurants. Further on from here you can walk into Crawley where there are a few nice restaurants. We had a lovely meal and a few drinks and then headed back to the hotel before our early flight the following morning.

We had a really comfortable stay, and we have booked again to stay here before our next holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Specky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay here with us. We were delighted to receive your feedback and it’s great to hear we will have the opportunity to welcome you back once again on your next holiday. We hope you had a fantastic honeymoon and would like to thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

During our stay we enjoyed a very high level of service, and a great 'club suite' which had an ample sized living room with a bar and a seperated desk with Bose sound system. The bath room was sizable, with an LCD TV at the end of the bath and nice toiletries, and the bedroom (although moderately sized) contained a very comfortable bed and comfortable pillows, large wardrobes and floor to ceiling windows. Overall we were very pleased with the room, and the staff responded extremely quickly to our request for extra glasses and mugs. In fact, I asked at reception, and arrived back at my room just seconds before the extra mug and glasses. The club rooms are all on their own floor (a very long walk from reception!), so they are quiet a peaceful, and this area is accessible only by room card. My only suggestion was some door stops in our suite, we rather liked having the living room door open from the hallway.

The club lounge was good, free but somewhat unpredictable internet, comfortable chairs and sofas, with large TVs. There was a range of premium soft drinks including Britvic juices, as well as alcoholic options including full sized bottles of Carlsberg and wine (available before 7 or 8 pm). There was also water, but the bottles were always empty when we were there... There could also have been a better choice of snacks (very limited, and sparsely replenished), but its not fair to complain about this minor point considering that the club lounge is a free perk.

We also had a nice lunch in the bar, and dinner in the restaurant. In both cases the food was of a suitable standard for a 4* hotel restaurant, and the service was polite and efficient. Overall a very good stay, which I would happily repeat. Well worth the club level upgrades.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 December 2010
We greatly appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to hear you found your Club bedroom comfortable and that you were able to enjoy our Club Lounge. Your constructive feedback regarding Internet and Beverages/snacks in the lounge has been taken on board and will be addressed. Again, we were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals in our Cube Restaurant & Bar together with a very high level of service, which is what is always expected of our staff.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed in Crawley to break a long journey and picked the Crowne Plaza because of the good price (including breakfast). Parking at £7.50 for the night also seemed to be one of the best in the area.

Check-in was easy and informative and our room (on the 3rd floor) was fine. Not large (those with lots of luggage may struggle for space), but enough for your average travelling couple. The bathroom was a decent size, although bath lovers will again be disappointed by the size of the tub. Always good to see shampoos and bath gels in refillable containers (easier to get out and better for the environment).

We went out for dinner, a two minte drive down the road is TGI Fridays, Frankie & Benny's, Nandos, McDs and a few others, plus a 15(?) screen cinema. So those who want to leave the hotel have a reason - it would probably only take 10 minutes to walk too. The bar and restaurant at the hotel looked good, sadly we didn't take the time to try it out, but it looked above average to me.

Noise pollution was a little bit of a problem, the usual corridoor noise and aeroplane noise, but nothing too bad, especially given I found the bed to be one of the most comfortable I have come across in recent years. I slept very well indeed!

Breakfast was top notch and set me up very well for the entire day! The swimming pool also looked great, so if we stay again we'll take our costumes!

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased to hear you found our new Sleep Advantage beds comfy, they often receive great comments! Thank you for also commenting on our breakfast, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Sorry to hear you found noise a bit of a problem. As you mentioned this is usual in a hotel, however I do hope you were not disturbed. When you stay with us again we do have dedicated ‘Quiet Zones’ in our hotel, please mention this when making a reservation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Hotel looks dated from the outside but the inside is clean and modern.
Room was excellent. The bathroom had lots of free toiletries and plenty of hot water. There was also tea & coffee making facilities and some pillow spray to help you sleep!
Breakfast was expensive at £16.95 each so we walked 1/4 mile up the road and had breakfast at a well known american fast food place for cheaper.
1 Pint of lager in the hotel was £4.60!
Swimming Pool facilities were excellent.
Bus runs from right outside hotel to airport for £3 per person and a taxi costs £15.50.
Think we paid £89 for 1 night with 15 days parking so excellent value. If we need a hotel near Gatwick again we would use this one again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_gashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you for writing a review. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make use of our leisure facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon and remember we have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing