We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny rooms but outstanding service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
france
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“tiny rooms but outstanding service and value”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

yes the rooms and bathrooms are miniscule, but they are clean and new and nice. the thing which stood out for us here was the attitude of all the staff we met - it was quite simply outstanding, from reception to dining and bar staff; everyone was friendly, helpful and professional. For us they made this average hotel very special indeed.
Also, although we didnt get to use it the pool looked lovely.
Good value too
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppalongkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
We were delighted to receive your review and would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. It remains our top priority to provide excellent service and it’s great to see that our hard work is recognised in your review. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    784
    407
    138
    83
See reviews for
279
1,004
129
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We had an a surprisingly good night at the hotel before an early flight the next day. In fact the level of service was better than the hotel we were travelling to! The staff were efficient in the reception, fitness centre and the bar. We ate a delicious curry in the bar as the restaurant was a little quiet and lacked atmosphere, however we loved the food.

The bed was very comfortable, and the complimentary 'this works' pillow spray was a fantastic treat (and worked). We've stayed at plenty of hotels around Gatwick for work and leisure and this was much more comfortable and welcoming. We had a bargain price including parking which was a bonus. Many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and provides a source of motivation for the team.

We were really pleased to hear you found your bed comfortable and that you were able to make use of our Sleep Advantage amenities.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We did what you do at airport hotels - check in, go to bed, get up early and scram. We didn't eat, drink at the bar or have breakfast! There is a swimming pool and fitness centre but we didn't have the time to take advantage.

We had asked in advance for a quiet room but were put into a room which looked out onto the moderately busy road to the airport. The room also was really hot, the A/C was switched off for the winter so to keep cool you would have had to have the window open - and suffer the road noise or keep it shut and put up with the heat.

Duty manager brilliant. Put us into a quiet family room high up, at the back of the hotel and was concerned to be sure that all was OK. We had one window open, it was quiet, the room was extremely comfortable and we slept really well.

Nice towels, slippers, bathrobes and a power shower that was absolutely first class.

There is a pre-checkoutsystem so there is no need to queue to check out when leaving. However the hotel isn't as close to Gatwick Airport as it's name implies. It can take 30 - 40 minutes to get to the terminal. The airport bus costs £3 and stops at a number of places on the way to the airport.

So many airport hotels are totally devoid of humanity, drab and lacking in any sort of welcome to the traveller. This hotel was caring, comfortable and ticked the boxes. The advance purchase booking was also very good value for a hotel of this standard. We would go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your great feedback, which has been shared with the team. I was disappointed to hear that your request for a quiet bedroom seemed to be missed; however I was very pleased to hear the Duty Manager corrected the issue with a bedroom on a higher floor. I do hope this met your expectations. When staying in the future, please request one of our ‘Quiet Zone’ bedrooms.

The hotel is located 3 miles from Gatwick Airport taking less than 10 minutes to drive by car. The airport shuttle bus can take up to 25 minutes as this makes a short stop at other hotels en route.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We chose there as we needed a location nearby for parking near Gatwick Airport and wasn't disappointed at all. Very close to pub if you choose not to eat at the hotel. Staff were friendly, rooms very comfortable and would definatlely stay there again if I had to fly from Gatwick again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
We were really pleased to receive your review and would like to thank you for your positive comments. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights (from New Year's Eve thru January 5), using it as our base of operations during our entire stay in England--and could not have been more pleased.

We were a little concerned when the shuttle initially pulled up to the hotel on our first morning--as the property looks slightly shabby on the outside (it's much better at night--when bathed in purple lights). Our fears were instantly allayed once we stepped into the lobby--as the hotel is really very attractive throughout.

Tho' we arrived at about 7 a.m. (after our overnight flight from the States) and anticipated being able to do no more than drop off our luggage, we were delighted to find that they had our room ready and waiting and we were able to check in immediately.

When we needed to leave for a tour later that morning, the front desk (always friendly, helpful, and accommodating at ANY hour--day or night!) made all the arrangements to call us a cab--and had one there within 2 or 3 minutes!

Our room itself (a standard double) was tiny--but wouldn't have seemed so terribly cramped had we not had two enormous suitcases with us. I have to say that they have done the best possible job of maximizing the limited space! What it lacked in size, the room more than made up for in quality. It was beautifully appointed and decorated; had a very nice new flat TV; and an extremely comfortable bed (in which we only wished we'd had an opportunity to spend more time)! Wake-up calls were unfailingly delivered each morning exactly as requested--to the minute!

Some reviewers have expressed concerns about noise in the hotel--but I must say that we enjoyed total quiet the entire time--even on New Year's Eve. Tho' I gather (from having seen people in the restaurant, at the elevators, cars in the parking lot, etc.) that the hotel was reasonably full during our stay, we could have practically had the place to ourselves and never known the difference--as quiet and peaceful as it was. I never once heard noise from either the halls or any other room!

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant ("The Cube") two of the nights we were there--and found the food both excellent and reasonably priced; the atmosphere of the restaurant itself was also quite nice.

We took advantage of the shuttle between Gatwick and the hotel each day--and, while it's unfortunate that it wasn't free (as hotel shuttles in the U.S. typically are), the 3 pounds per person each way was more than worth it in terms of the convenience that it offered us.

Our only disappointment came on the one night that we had time to take a dip in the hotel pool and jacuzzi--something to which we had really looked forward. Unfortunately, both the pool AND jacuzzi (tho' heated) were quite cold--barely room temperature at best. Because there was no warning of that, my wife was quite startled upon entering and thus contracted and injured her back--which dampened the remainder of our stay just a bit.

All things considered, however, we could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Gatwick Crowne Plaza. Having booked the hotel thru Expedia in combination with our flights, we were able to stay there for about $60 a night--which was really a steal of a deal--one of the sweetest I've ever encountered in my travels!

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others--as we had a very nice experience indeed!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burchpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to hear you found the facilities and standard of service to your liking and that you would be happy to recommend the hotel to your friends.

We were very sorry to hear that you had experienced some issues with the temperature of the water in the Jacuzzi and I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remember we have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto Calende, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Not sure what it is about UK hotel rooms, but they generally seem tired and so so small. As for the location of this hotel, i am assuming it's convenient only if your going to the airport and your not in a rush to get there!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel and bedrooms have been refurbished over the past two years and usually receive positive feedback. If you are ever unhappy with your bedroom please feel free to contact the front desk staff who will always try to help with any issues you are experiencing.

There are many restaurants, cafes and bars located within walking distance of the hotel, including a cinema and bowling alley. Our Concierge will be happy to inform you of places to dine and things to see and do.

The hotel is located 3 miles from Gatwick Airport, taking less than 10 minutes to drive. Our staff will happy to order a taxi for you or help with information regarding buses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Had a great deal here with parking for 8 days included , check in was easy and we were on our way to our room which had great views towards the airport , The room was very nice with a big bathroom and a large shower , just as we were going to go to bed we could hear the airconditioning unit making noises even though it was switched off . A call to reception to try to change to a quieter room came back with the response that all other rooms were the same , so we did have a bad nights sleep before our flight .Otherwise we couldnt't fault the hotel . We just missed the airport bus so we caught the number 10 bus 2 mins away for £1.70 each wich took us to the airport in about 15mins , we also caught this bus at 22.20 when we came home as well which saved half on the cost of the hotel bus .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJPNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
We were disappointed to hear that you were disturbed during your sleep due to the air conditioning system. If there is a maintenance issue with your bedroom we will always offer a change of room if available and so I was sorry to hear this was not offered as our bedrooms are not currently experiencing any issues related to air conditioning noise. Moving forwards I was pleased to hear you found the bathroom to be large with a good shower.

I hope you had an enjoyable holiday and would like to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza London Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing