We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY ROOMS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“LOVELY ROOMS”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Quick and efficient check in.
The room was modern and nicely furnished.
Very nice bathroom with white company products.
Good selection at breakfast.
Took a taxi from the airport to the hotel and it cost £16 but I think I was over charged,certainly not the fault of the hotel.
The bus back to the airport cost £3.
I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 5 February 2011
We were delighted to receive your review and would like to thank you for your positive feedback, which is most appreciated by both management and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and remember we have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    765
    392
    136
    79
See reviews for
269
975
127
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

The standard rooms are modern , clean but quite small.

The main problem is the size of the bathrooms. The standing space is mainly the arc the door takes, if you have the bath mat on the floor you have to remove it to close or open the door. The only soap provided consists of bottles fixed to the walls such that you can not relax in the bath and reach them.

If you did want a tablet of soap you need to ask housekeeping to provide it. Other items that would be nice are biscuits to go with the tea/coffee making facilities.

There is wireless internet available for a fee although reception in the bedrooms is a bit hit & miss but the hotel is working on this.

There are however some very nice rooms in this hotel and if you upgrade to a superior / club room you have all the normal trimmings.

The bar area / restaurant is also nice with good choice & quality food.

The swimming pool is very good and there is also a gym.

Crawley town centre is in walking distance as are many restaurants / bars.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 5 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your positive comments regarding our bedrooms. Tablet soap is provided in the bathroom along with White Company products and biscuits are also provided next to the tea and coffee in all rooms. Thank you for your comments regarding the Health Club and Cube Restaurant, the staff will be delighted when they read your review. Our Wi-Fi internet connection has now been upgraded to allow more users online at once with faster connection speeds. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Lovely, comfortable and clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. A luxurious, restful way to start a holiday without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnAshberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
We were really pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. The team will be delighted to receive your feedback as it rewards them for the hard work they put in ensuring our guests are happy with the service they receive. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed here prior to flight from Gatwick, it was a shame it was such a stay as it was only brief (late arrival early morning flight). The hotel offers high quality surroundings, the rooms are well appointed and modern, maybe a little small would be my only criticisim. Did not eat at the hotel but it was apparent that the the food was of good quality as well.

will defo use this hotel again when flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzerTauntonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your great comments, which are most appreciated. We were delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and hope you will be able to experience our Cube Restaurant on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

yes the rooms and bathrooms are miniscule, but they are clean and new and nice. the thing which stood out for us here was the attitude of all the staff we met - it was quite simply outstanding, from reception to dining and bar staff; everyone was friendly, helpful and professional. For us they made this average hotel very special indeed.
Also, although we didnt get to use it the pool looked lovely.
Good value too
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppalongkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
We were delighted to receive your review and would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. It remains our top priority to provide excellent service and it’s great to see that our hard work is recognised in your review. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We had an a surprisingly good night at the hotel before an early flight the next day. In fact the level of service was better than the hotel we were travelling to! The staff were efficient in the reception, fitness centre and the bar. We ate a delicious curry in the bar as the restaurant was a little quiet and lacked atmosphere, however we loved the food.

The bed was very comfortable, and the complimentary 'this works' pillow spray was a fantastic treat (and worked). We've stayed at plenty of hotels around Gatwick for work and leisure and this was much more comfortable and welcoming. We had a bargain price including parking which was a bonus. Many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and provides a source of motivation for the team.

We were really pleased to hear you found your bed comfortable and that you were able to make use of our Sleep Advantage amenities.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We did what you do at airport hotels - check in, go to bed, get up early and scram. We didn't eat, drink at the bar or have breakfast! There is a swimming pool and fitness centre but we didn't have the time to take advantage.

We had asked in advance for a quiet room but were put into a room which looked out onto the moderately busy road to the airport. The room also was really hot, the A/C was switched off for the winter so to keep cool you would have had to have the window open - and suffer the road noise or keep it shut and put up with the heat.

Duty manager brilliant. Put us into a quiet family room high up, at the back of the hotel and was concerned to be sure that all was OK. We had one window open, it was quiet, the room was extremely comfortable and we slept really well.

Nice towels, slippers, bathrobes and a power shower that was absolutely first class.

There is a pre-checkoutsystem so there is no need to queue to check out when leaving. However the hotel isn't as close to Gatwick Airport as it's name implies. It can take 30 - 40 minutes to get to the terminal. The airport bus costs £3 and stops at a number of places on the way to the airport.

So many airport hotels are totally devoid of humanity, drab and lacking in any sort of welcome to the traveller. This hotel was caring, comfortable and ticked the boxes. The advance purchase booking was also very good value for a hotel of this standard. We would go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david-the-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your great feedback, which has been shared with the team. I was disappointed to hear that your request for a quiet bedroom seemed to be missed; however I was very pleased to hear the Duty Manager corrected the issue with a bedroom on a higher floor. I do hope this met your expectations. When staying in the future, please request one of our ‘Quiet Zone’ bedrooms.

The hotel is located 3 miles from Gatwick Airport taking less than 10 minutes to drive by car. The airport shuttle bus can take up to 25 minutes as this makes a short stop at other hotels en route.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing