We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Booked family club room, arrived late and tired due to weather, member of reception staff who checked us in wasn't very welcoming and was more interested in informing us that we would need to check in the morning to see if we could take our children in the club room for breakfast. Bar area was busy and food was expensive. Room was very nice and very quiet. Staff at breakfast were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank user38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear your check in experience did not meet our usual high standards. It remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service here at Crowne Plaza London Gatwick. Please be assured that your comments will be followed up with the Management team. Thanks for your comments regarding our restaurant team; they will be delighted to receive this feedback. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    756
    389
    136
    79
See reviews for
267
969
127
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

First of all the room and general hotel quality was very good, no problems there.
Main problem was on checking in, where the receptionist demanded that I produce a passport because I wasn't British. I am Irish and have lived in the UK for the past 10 years. The receptionist claimed it was the law that because I was not British I had to show a passport to check in. I would like Crowne Plaza to please send or post a link to this law.
Do I now have to carry a passport with me on business trips within the UK? What if I had travelled from Ireland using my driving licence as ID? Discrimation against the many British residents who don't happen to have British passports. Rant over.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUKGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for your response.

We have a legal obligation to get passport and next destination details from any non UK passport holders. The legislation is from the Immigration Act of 1971 (ammended 1972). Failure to do so could result for us as hotels and employees of Fines and/or prison sentences.

I assure you that we would not ask for this information if it were not a legal requirement and hope this clarifies our situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in Club Class and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing break in this well run hotel. Club Lounge was a very welcome facility with drinks, snacks and evening cocktail session. Hotel room was very comfortable. quiet and well serviced. Secure car parking was also another positive. Overall a very enjoyable experience and will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLMAN333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to receive your feedback and it’s great to hear you had a relaxing and comfortable break with us. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with the Crowne Plaza team. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Can't fault the hotel, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms with windows that actually open for fresh air, stylish bathroom, nice swimming pool and painless parking for 8 days. Price was excellent too (£70 for 1 night and 8 days parking). Didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.

However, the bus transfer was a pain. On the way I caught the 4am bus which took 25mins to arrive at the South Terminal. The driver kept disappearing into each hotel on route for 5 mins even when there were no passengers to collect.

On the way back it took 30mins. At one point, the driver went past one hotel, dropped a couple of passengers off at another hotel and then doubled back to the first hotel to collect more people.

Waiting for the bus at South Terminal wasn't good either - had to wait 40mins in an unpleasant bus terminal with no seats, which is a fair walk from Arrivals and poorly signposted. Whilst I waited a couple of other hotel buses made multiple trips!

So, I definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza, but if you are in a hurry, are impatient, don't like buses or are travelling with 4 or more people (especially kids), just get a Taxi for the airport transfer, or try to find the local bus which runs past the hotel - wish I had!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us and the bus transfer. We were disappointed to hear how long the transfer took and will be taking up your comments with the bus company. Apologies for the inconvenience.

We were delighted to hear you found our hotel comfortable and also great value. The Crowne Plaza team work hard to ensure our guests feel well looked after and valued. We hope to welcome you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

we stayed at the crowne plaza in crawley for a romantic valentine weekend... and it lived up to our expectations... completely!! the hotel was spotless, lovely atmosphere and couldn't fault the staff. all staff were friendly and so polite. we stayed in the club room which was wonderful, large well spaced room, big bathroom with seperate shower.... even had a tv in the bathroom!!!!
we would definatly stay here again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
We were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your valentine’s weekend with us and that you found your Club Bedroom to be comfortable. We are delighted that you will be staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Stayed at the crowne plaza as part of the parking deal with APH parking which we do from London Gatwick every year. This was our first stay here (we normally stay in a different hotel nearer APH's car park) and had just returned from 2 weeks in Cuba. after collecting our car from APH we made our way to the hotel. We were so early that we knew we wouldnt be able to check in and had planned to sleep in the car for abit which we've done before as we are always so jet lagged. I popped into reception to find out what time check-in is and the staff could not be more helpful. We were informed that we could use the hotels facilities until our room was available.....GREAT!!!!! We had a lovely time in the pool, the steam room was so nice seeing as we were cold at being back in the 'great' british weather and the jacuzzi was the icing on the cake. after we'd relaxed and got back into reception we were still 2 hours away from our check in time but the staff had made the extra effort to get our room ready so that we could check in. Charlotte had also purposfully put us in the quietest part of the hotel!!! the customer service we recieved was second to none. myself and my partner were so impressed and were even more so when we saw the room. it was so clean and new with nice touches like posh smellies and tasty biscuits on the tea tray. even though we had spent 2 weeks in lovely cuba it was nice to arrive home and to be looked after so well by this hotel. many thanks and please dont change!!!!! (as we'l be staying with you next time)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
We were delighted to receive this wonderful review and would like to thank you for your feedback. We endeavor to provide a constant, high level of customer service and always try our best to ensure our guests are well looked after. Your comments are a source of inspiration to the team, which rewards them for their efforts. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed here in December and January, on our way to and from holiday, flying out of Gatwick. The hotel is in a great location, with a £3 10min bus trip from Gatwick Airport. I would say the hotel is pretty average. We stayed in a club room on the way out- which was excellent. The room was large and felt quite luxury. On the way back however, we stayed in a regular double room - which was very cramped. There was a camp bed at the bottom of our bed, which seemed strange and made the room even smaller. The air conditioning wasn't working properly and it was a hot uncomfortable night's sleep.
Overall I would still recommend the hotel, because it was fantastic value for money, but obviously there are some good rooms and some bad and you should probably keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with your bedroom on your return stay with us. In future please contact the Front Desk staff who will be happy to help with any issues as it’s very important to us that your stay is a comfortable one.

It’s great to hear that you will be recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing