We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grange Hotel(Crawley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,198)
Filter reviews
2,198 results
Traveller rating
657
851
440
157
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
851
440
157
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomcube restaurantgatwick airportsteam roomaph parkingpurple parkingcar parkan upgradestandard roomnext morningstayed here for one nightbooked this hotelholiday extrasan early flightparking packagepre flight stayan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,005 - 2,010 of 2,198 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Booked family club room, arrived late and tired due to weather, member of reception staff who checked us in wasn't very welcoming and was more interested in informing us that we would need to check in the morning to see if we could take our children in the club room for breakfast. Bar area was busy and food was expensive. Room was very nice and very quiet. Staff at breakfast were fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank user38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear your check in experience did not meet our usual high standards. It remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service here at Crowne Plaza London Gatwick. Please be assured that your comments will be followed up with the Management team. Thanks for your comments regarding our restaurant team; they will be delighted to receive this feedback. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

First of all the room and general hotel quality was very good, no problems there.
Main problem was on checking in, where the receptionist demanded that I produce a passport because I wasn't British. I am Irish and have lived in the UK for the past 10 years. The receptionist claimed it was the law that because I was not British I had to show a passport to check in. I would like Crowne Plaza to please send or post a link to this law.
Do I now have to carry a passport with me on business trips within the UK? What if I had travelled from Ireland using my driving licence as ID? Discrimation against the many British residents who don't happen to have British passports. Rant over.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUKGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Thank you for your response.

We have a legal obligation to get passport and next destination details from any non UK passport holders. The legislation is from the Immigration Act of 1971 (ammended 1972). Failure to do so could result for us as hotels and employees of Fines and/or prison sentences.

I assure you that we would not ask for this information if it were not a legal requirement and hope this clarifies our situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in Club Class and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing break in this well run hotel. Club Lounge was a very welcome facility with drinks, snacks and evening cocktail session. Hotel room was very comfortable. quiet and well serviced. Secure car parking was also another positive. Overall a very enjoyable experience and will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLMAN333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to receive your feedback and it’s great to hear you had a relaxing and comfortable break with us. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with the Crowne Plaza team. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Can't fault the hotel, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms with windows that actually open for fresh air, stylish bathroom, nice swimming pool and painless parking for 8 days. Price was excellent too (£70 for 1 night and 8 days parking). Didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.

However, the bus transfer was a pain. On the way I caught the 4am bus which took 25mins to arrive at the South Terminal. The driver kept disappearing into each hotel on route for 5 mins even when there were no passengers to collect.

On the way back it took 30mins. At one point, the driver went past one hotel, dropped a couple of passengers off at another hotel and then doubled back to the first hotel to collect more people.

Waiting for the bus at South Terminal wasn't good either - had to wait 40mins in an unpleasant bus terminal with no seats, which is a fair walk from Arrivals and poorly signposted. Whilst I waited a couple of other hotel buses made multiple trips!

So, I definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza, but if you are in a hurry, are impatient, don't like buses or are travelling with 4 or more people (especially kids), just get a Taxi for the airport transfer, or try to find the local bus which runs past the hotel - wish I had!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us and the bus transfer. We were disappointed to hear how long the transfer took and will be taking up your comments with the bus company. Apologies for the inconvenience.

We were delighted to hear you found our hotel comfortable and also great value. The Crowne Plaza team work hard to ensure our guests feel well looked after and valued. We hope to welcome you once again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

we stayed at the crowne plaza in crawley for a romantic valentine weekend... and it lived up to our expectations... completely!! the hotel was spotless, lovely atmosphere and couldn't fault the staff. all staff were friendly and so polite. we stayed in the club room which was wonderful, large well spaced room, big bathroom with seperate shower.... even had a tv in the bathroom!!!!
we would definatly stay here again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanyagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

We were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your valentine’s weekend with us and that you found your Club Bedroom to be comfortable. We are delighted that you will be staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews