We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unfortunate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wendover Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unfortunate”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I booked two of my friends in for b and b on 19. 8. 14. This was to round off a successful day in which we gained training and encouragement in professional radio presentation. Upon arrival all was well until the owners decided to interrogate us and then without any justifiable reason refused to let my friends stay. I then discovered that they told the agent that I cancelled the booking and that my friends were homeless. Outrageous! I warn potential guests that if your face doesn't fit then watch out........

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
30
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very friendly owners, couldn't do enough for you. Rooms very clean & comfortable. Excellent breakfast set us up for the day. Will definitely use again when staying over in the area. 5 star service Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieDowd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Thanks for taking such good care of myself and the other crazy triathletes preparing for the IronMan last weekend! It was so comforting having a friendly place to relax, both before and after the race. The rooms and facilities are wonderfully clean & comfortable and you assisted with our every need. It felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A last minute dash to Bolton. And not knowing the area - I picked this B &B based on price and great reviews. I was only there a night - but it did not disappoint - living up to it's glowing reviews! The room was clean and comfortable with all that I needed. The couple Julie and Bulent were helpful, welcoming and you just knew that here was a decent, hard-working couple who were customer focused. The breakfast was just what I needed for a 200 mile drive back.

I would recommend this guest house most highly to anybody in the area and seeking a warm welcome, helpful hosts and clean,comfortable accommodation. Book it! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinabf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've been working in Bolton 3 days a week for a month. I spent a few weeks at a terrible hotel near Junction 5 and desperately needed to find something better at a reasonable rate. All i need is a comfortable bed, clean room and good breakfast to kick me off for the days work.. I am doing some consultancy work near the Reebok stadium and prefer to work through the day without a lunch, so breakfast is important.

This place is a GEM. The hosts are wonderful, genuine people. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the breakfast is superb. Breakfast is as fresh as you can imagine and just the right amount. Not overkill, and you can choose what you like as need be (yogurt cereal, toast, cooked or all of them), . In the rooms every little aspect has been thought through carefully with high quality tea/coffee/etc and a bottle of water (this may sound silly but after a busy day you really appreciate little things like this). The bed is very comfortable. Much better than most hotels.

If you are working anywhere near the stadium you can also WALK there in 10 minutes. So park near the B&B and walk every day.

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarnieRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a period of 6 weeks straight through,I've travelled this country for 30 years and this is by far the best,friendliest,cleanest and welcoming place I've stayed in, in many years, bulent and Julie are fantastic and couldn't be more helpful and welcoming, I would very highly recommend the wendover guest house whether your working or having a leisurely break, fantastic rooms, excellent breakfast and perfect hosts, many thanks for my stay. Alan room 5

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my daughter stayed at the Wendover recently when we were in the area for a wedding. I can't recommend it highly enough. Julie and Bulent are excellent hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was very clean, the bed lovely and comfy and the breakfast fantastic. We really enjoyed our short break and I would definitely choose to stay here if ever I am up in the area again in the future. Thank you very much Julie and Bulent. x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BluenoseMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
0.6 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.1 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendover Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendover Guest House

Property: Wendover Guest House
Address: 603 Chorley New Road | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wendover Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Bed and Breakfast in Bolton. Established over 50 years ago and fully renovated in 2008 in a contemporary style. The Wendover Guest House provides a warm friendly welcome and highest standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wendover Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing