We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible food. Can't even get the basics right” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jolly Carter

The Jolly Carter
Ranked #65 of 513 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horrible food. Can't even get the basics right”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Visited the pub basically as there was new management in place. Food under previous landlord had gone seriously down hill. Unfortunately new land lord has done nothing to rectify this. I had what should have been simple to do. Hot beef baguette with chips. Well what i got was raw greasy chips. Brown water, supposedly gravy and the most disgusting beef I have ever tasted. I don't complain at the establishment because if you can't get it right first time you don't deserve a second chance, and would you trust food that came out after complaining.

Helpful?
Thank MarkJManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pr1 lancashire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“We were put off somewhat by the "To Let" sign outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

It was booked by my daughter-in-law as a central location for family members to meet up. Due to the numbers, we were requested to book our meals in advance but some were unable to do so and ordered on day. I was one of these and was advised that 2 of the items I would have chosen were unavailable. As a failsafe, I opted for the all day breakfast but was left disappointed by the very budget standard sausage. I doubt that I will be drawn to the establishment again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jthain58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good for pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

not expensive, nice menu. very nice staff. Table service.
Do use frequently.
Good sunday lunch, 3 courses.
We use with family and friends.
Never made a reservation, always found a table for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You will be pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

A terrific find! This is one of the best places to eat in the whole area. Meal quality is well above 'good pub grub' standard, the prices are more than reasonable, and the staff are warm, friendly ... and even accommodating to inquisitive two year olds. And if you've got a toddler, wearing them out with a trip around Moses Gate Country Park beforehand (just down the road) can only add to the enjoyment (!). Honestly, it's really worth checking this place out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pauseforbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Historically, this has always been a good place to eat, this, together with the Spice Cottage, are the best places to eat in Little Lever. There is an impending change of ownership so things might change. Drinks are on the expensive side when compared to Lever's other pubs.

Helpful?
Thank Calbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neinz, Manager at The Jolly Carter, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thanks for your review. We haven't gone yet!!!

Please come and see us soon.

Thanks Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Carter also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Jolly Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing