We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“community pub and bed and breakfast”
Review of The Jolly Carter

The Jolly Carter
Ranked #62 of 527 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“community pub and bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Newly painted, new menu, enthusiasm and nothing too much trouble
This village pub is very user friendly. the owners care about their environment. There are even newly crochetted flowers attached to the garden fence.Good car park and spotless loos.
Extensive menu at a fair price- well presented and easy to read - and a vegetarian menu for diners wanting a change from eating meat. We tried the vegan option - stir fry and sweet potato - on a busy easter monday. Watch this pub - nothing will stop them from making the village alive and wecolming.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Menu gone downhill”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Used to have a nice pub food menu. It changed to a posh restaurant type of menu. It was disappointing

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pinkest_teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horrible food. Can't even get the basics right”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Visited the pub basically as there was new management in place. Food under previous landlord had gone seriously down hill. Unfortunately new land lord has done nothing to rectify this. I had what should have been simple to do. Hot beef baguette with chips. Well what i got was raw greasy chips. Brown water, supposedly gravy and the most disgusting beef I have ever tasted. I don't complain at the establishment because if you can't get it right first time you don't deserve a second chance, and would you trust food that came out after complaining.

Helpful?
Thank MarkJManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pr1 lancashire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“We were put off somewhat by the "To Let" sign outside”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It was booked by my daughter-in-law as a central location for family members to meet up. Due to the numbers, we were requested to book our meals in advance but some were unable to do so and ordered on day. I was one of these and was advised that 2 of the items I would have chosen were unavailable. As a failsafe, I opted for the all day breakfast but was left disappointed by the very budget standard sausage. I doubt that I will be drawn to the establishment again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jthain58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good for pub grub”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

not expensive, nice menu. very nice staff. Table service.
Do use frequently.
Good sunday lunch, 3 courses.
We use with family and friends.
Never made a reservation, always found a table for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Carter also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Jolly Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing