We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor reception and check in service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bolton Whites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor reception and check in service”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After a 5 hour drive to be told by reception staff that we could check in at 11.30 was a relief. We were told to wait in the bar and reception would call the bar to inform us our room was ready. While buying drinks I mentioned this to the barperson, who looked at me as if I was mad. The bar was large, dimly lit and shabby with furniture past its best. The bar staff while pleasant seemed in a dream when serving anyone. Starving - I ordered a match day special of a hot dog with pulled pork and pickled cabbage. It was awful and matched the surroundings. By 14.00 and after a number of trips down to reception to check on our room progress we had had enough. We were offered no apology or explanation just given a cancellation number as if this was an everyday occurrence. Never again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    414
    170
    61
    29
See reviews for
236
395
70
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice hotel, rooms are a little dated but comfortable, my room on the 2nd floor was a bit noisy as I had the window open because it was a warm night. Rooms don't have air conditioning. Breakfast was good with a good selection of hot and cold food. I would stay again but request a room away from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for football trip though not for Bolton.Found it very comfortable.clean and value for money. Our room was not at all dated as recent reviewer stated.We had a room at the front of he hotel and it was very quiet.The only thing I would update was the pool.sauna,steam room.Perhaps a little small for such a large hotel,but this was not a problem.Check in/out vey good.Will most definitely be staying again,but hopefully the prices won't be going up once it has been taken over.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel on the first floor where there is a bar and also breakfast is serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runcorngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well located with plentiful onsite parking available. Easy access to various major highways and within an easy commute to Bolton town centre. Check in and check out was quick and efficiently managed by reception staff. Room was spacious and comfortable with clean and modern facilities. Breakfast comprised a broad range of self-serve options and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takichum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Firstly great check in done in no time, hotel expressive with views over pitch, however rooms very dated, need updating, very noisy at night outside and inside hotel would have a different room if I stayed here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I had high expectations after seeing the quality of the hotel general areas but was very disappointed when we entered our standard room. It had a very tired feel and looked like something you would expect from a cheap Travelodge rather then a 4 star hotel. It had an old CRT TV (I haven't seen one of those in a hotel for ages) and the remote had been used so much that you couldn't tell what the buttons did anymore. The room was very hot despite the window being open and it didn't have air conditioning. I raised my concerns with reception who informed me that they had just been taken over and that all the rooms were due to be renovated. After a bit of discussion they did offer to upgrade us to a pitch view room. The new room was a bit better, it had air-con, but it was still fairly tired.

We had planned to eat breakfast at the hotel since we were told it was £7.50 each when we checked but when we turned up and I checked it was £10.50. Apparently it was only £7.50 if you pre-booked, it was a shame they didn't tell us this when we checked in.

The Spa was fairly good. It looked a bit dated but everything worked well and the pool was big enough to swim a few lengths in.

The service provided by the staff was variable. Some were excellent and very helpful whereas others were fairly dismissive.

Room Tip: Pitch view rooms were better then standard ones but not by a great deal. Once the rooms are renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here over a football weekend. The hotel is attached to the Reebook Stadium and I was very lucky to have had a pitchview room though watched the match from the stadium itself. My stay couldn't have been better. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble.Room was very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was superb and drinks very reasonably priced. The retail park is a very short walk from the hotel and has plenty of food and drink outlets too.
Took advantage of the leisure facilities on Sunday morning and the pool was very quiet and the spa area and changing room very clean. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,628 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
464 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Property: Bolton Whites Hotel
Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing