We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bolton Whites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here as we met for the first time at the stadium. I told the receptionist on booking, when we arrived and went to our room we found a card and bottle of wine from the management, thank you very much, our room had also been upgraded. All in all will book again and great value for money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always very pleasing to read reviews such as yours. I will pass your kind comments onto our Reservations Team who made your booking.

Once again, thank you for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with work and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were very polite and friendly, the room, although fairly standard for a business hotel was of a good size and was clean. The room faced the pitch which is a nice touch for a work trip! My room service burger was very nice and took no time to turn up (was particularly impressed with that) - all in all made a boring business trip that bit more bearable. I would happily stay here if ever I was called to our Bolton site again! (They got my name wrong on the reservation but I can hardly hold that against them- and it was dealt with with no fuss and lots of professionalism)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank B1lly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always pleasing to read reviews such as yours. I will forward your comments on to all staff.

Once again many thanks for your review. I do hope to welcome you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here on business for 3 nights in July while at a conference at the stadium (where this hotel is located).
Overall the stay was great, the breakfast was nice and really good service throughout the hotel.
The hotel bar that we used was good but expensive as you would expect.
My room was fairly tired, but clean and the bed was extremely comfortable!

Room Tip: Asking for a stadium view room would give you a better view than the car park, but I haven't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay at Bolton Whites Hotel. I do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night after the wedding which to be fair was decent. Good room.clean and good enough. Our only problem really was the bar staffs attitude on the night of our wedding. Really rude once or twice to our guest who asked for highchairs.. which we asked for the night before..lack of communication between staff.then they lost our chair covers and center pieces. Good but be carefully if booking for a wedding or party. . Make sure you get everything in writing after the cock up we had to which they did well and was lucky we could change day if good time..good but wont be rushing back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank tezeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased that you found your room clean, I will forward your comments onto our Housekeeping Team.

I must sincerely apologise for the issues you had with the bar staff, this is not acceptable. I will forward your comments onto the Bar Manager who will look into this issue further.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write a review, I do hope to welcome you back to Bolton Whites Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A group of us stayed at Whites before Christmas.We all walked to a great Chinese Restaurant around the corner in the retail park. This is a good business hotel with some great rooms that are now good value. The hotel needs a refurb and some modern TV's though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is always pleasing reading reviews such as yours. We recently purchased new flat screen televisions which are now in all rooms.

I do hope to welcome you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

nice hotel just 20 minutes from Manchester based at the old Reebok stadium now renamed Macron as they are sponsors for the next 4 years. Good business hotel as there are plenty of seating areas for meetings. Rooms are clean and tidy. Leisure facilities are also good and included in the room rate. Plenty of eating places on the doorstep if you don't want to eat in.

Room Tip: try and get one overlooking the stadium. the ones at the front are fine, however if you leave the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to receive feedback such as yours I will share your comments with the team.

I do hope to welcome you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Location
We stayed at Whites for two nights (Sunday/Monday) as we were attending a business conference at the Macron (formerly Reebok) Stadium. It was the perfect location for the conference and close to retail park, but don’t be expecting nice views or scenic surrounds.

After check in we discovered that we had been given an internal facing room. The only window faced inside – a view of the main staircase from reception. Zero natural light at all, think internal cabin on a cruise ship! We immediately asked to be changed, which to be fair they moved us.

Room and sleep quality
Room was of fairly bland decor, but the bed was comfortable. Slight traffic noise on the main road outside at night. All in all it was acceptable, however, this semi-tranquillity was soon shattered. We had a very early wake up from the retail park lorries (those reversing warning beeps!).

Food
Very poor, mass produced and poor value for money. To be avoided. We decided to eat out for breakfast and dinner the second day.

Staff
Cleaning staff were of a high standard. We called room service to ask for de-caffeinated tea, I even volunteered to go down and collect it. My call was passed through to the bar, where I was told someone would come up and give us some. No one came up. Not what you’d expect from a De Vere hotel on a fairly quiet Sunday night.

Conclusion
Left feeling very underwhelmed. We paid a bit extra to stay here (rather than the cheaper options nearby) so that we could walk to the conference we were attending. We thought that the De Vere brand was of a high standard, but discovered that this isn’t’ always the case. If we are returning to Bolton, I’d be tempted to look elsewhere. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great either.

Room Tip: I would not accept an internal facing room. If it was the last room available change hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stu-Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review Bolton Whites Hotel on Tripadvisor. Bolton Whites Hotel is now independently owed by Bolton Wanderers Football Club and is no longer part of the De Vere Group.

Firstly I must apologise that you did not like your allocated room but was pleased that our Reception Team re allocated you to a different room. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your meals I will certainly forward your comments onto our Restaurant Manager who I am sure will be as disappointed as I am.

It was pleasing however to read that you found our cleaning staff were of a high standard. Our Housekeeping staff work extremely hard to keep standards high.

At Bolton Whites Hotel we take guest comments seriously and will take all of your comments on board.

Once again, many thanks for taking take to write a review, I do hope to welcome you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
2.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#9 of 13 in Bolton
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing