We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for an away football match. We arrived late and on arrival when we tried to get in via the car park, a man said "who is it" in a rough unwelcoming manner.
The reception staff were pleasant enough though and the room was of a satisfactory standard.
The food was very good and I would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompey1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review and comments from which I was pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you would stay with us again. I have passed your kind comments on to the Reception Team who I know will be pleased to have made a difference.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next in the Bolton area.

Kind regards


Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    237
    178
    64
    37
See reviews for
103
159
43
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A great stay at the Holiday Inn Bolton. Thank you for making it so comfortable.

The team are first classed could not do enough to help. The hotel is conveniently placed and offers everything required in an HI.

The converted church at the back makes an amazing venue for weddings and functions.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulCallingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments from which I was delighted that you had a comfortable stay. It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to them as I know they will be pleased to have made a difference.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards


Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Quite a good city centre hotel. Everything you would expect - good rooms and nicely located for the Town Centre. Typical Holiday Inn features and restaurant, so quite a good standard.

On the negative side, the carpark is beneath the hotel and the spaces are not really large enough for modern cars. I found if I arrived after 6 pm then it could be difficult to find a space.
I wasnt charged for Wifi, but initially a very snooty member of staff told me the rate was £5 per hour. This meant that I basically avoided doing anything in the hotel for the first 3 days of my stay as I thought I was being ripped off.

Dont expect too much from Bolton Town Centre either - it's dire.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review from which I was pleased to hear that your stay met with your expectations. The Hotel has two car parks one as you rightly say is beneath the Hotel the other is above ground and is situated to the right of the Hotel entrance. We also offer an overflow car park should both car parks be full at no extra cost to our guests. With regards to WiFi we do currently offer complimentary WiFi to our IHG Reward Club Platinum and Gold members, which is free to join. Complimentary WiFi can also be obtained in the main lounge area with any purchase from the main bar. We also offer rooms rats which include 24 hour complimentary WiFi and if you would like further information regarding the package which best suites your requirements please contact our Reservation Team direct who will be happy to make any further reservations you may wish to make.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

When one thinks of Bolton what comes to mind? Most likely for those unfamiliar with the area, an industrial or post industrial landscape comprising of Victorian buildings.

This is the wrong image to have in mind when visiting this hotel. I found it to be a very convenient city centre hotel, complete with its own car park, that was easy to find in town.

The facilities are what one would expect from Holiday Inn, with comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and in this case even a gym in the basement.

What really makes this hotel stand out is the welcome you receive from the staff. Although it was late when I arrived, the welcome from Alicia was genuine, and she came across as really caring about whether or not I would have an enjoyable stay. The welcome was such that it was based on the caring disposition of the member of staff and this is not something that could have been achieved with training.

Credit to this hotel, with the warm welcome received it was worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments following your recent stay which are very much appreciated. I was delighted you found are rooms comfortable, that the location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed a hearty breakfast.

It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to them, especially to Alicia as I know that she will be pleased to have made a difference to your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future and once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards


Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Arrived Friday evening to a very friendly welcome by the reception staff. The room was very comfortable and warm. We went to a wedding reception and arrived back at 12-10am and had a drink in the bar, lovely staff again. Well done for customer service. Had breakfast the next morning, one of the best breakfasts we have had. Well Done Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Within Bolton centre, but never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments from which I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to all the Team.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future and once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

or the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain.
Date of stay 13th May 2014
My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows:

1) Arrival was NOT straight forward using the Sat Nav (TOM TOM) instructions as the city now has many bus only areas that the Sat Nav tried to take me down. After a couple of circles of the town the hotel was finally located
2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff (Natalie) was extremely pleasant and friendly. However it was noted as a Gold Priority club member I did not receive a free upgrade (which since Holiday Inn changed their membership programme this year has sadly becoming the norm). I did receive my free wifi voucher and choice of a 500 points voucher (most other Holiday Inn’s only offer 300 points ) or if you wish you may choose the option of a free drink at the bar instead.
3) All area’s including the bedrooms where always well kept, tidy and clean
4) As other travellers have commented this hotel is starting to show some area’s of wear and tear, but I understand a renovation programme is in the planning. My room (room 312) was clean and well maintained.
5) The rooms are what you would expect from a branded Holiday Inn. SEE the photos. As a Gold member normally I receive a free bottle of water and some biscuits or a chocolate bar, but neither was available here.
6) There are two on site free car parks, my advice is to use the outside car park (to the right of the hotel as you enter) as the underground car park to the left is quite tight.
7) Breakfast is an additional fee (£14.95 on the day or £10 booked in advance or voucher purchased at check in) The quality of the breakfast was better than your average Holiday In ; catering from the full English option to fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, sliced cold cuts and cheese, pastries and & fresh un-sliced artisan bread rather than the frozen sliced stuff served elsewhere in the chain
8) I did not use the evening meal service.
9) I used the gym facilities, which where clean, well maintained and air-conditioned but smaller than other Holiday Inn’s( I did not use the pool or the spa)
10) Location, The hotel is located just off the town centre, which was ideally located for my visit
11) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free. (Natalie once again)
In summary the hotel scores 7/10 for an average to good Holiday Inn that just needs some tender loving refurbishment and a few updates.

Room Tip: There are two on site free car parks, my advice is to use the outside car park (to the right of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaheadinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive and constructive review following your recent stay which is very much appreciated as it does help us to keep focused on what is important to you. I was pleased that your stay met with your expectation and that you had a good check in experienced but note that we have room for improvement.

It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to them, especially to Natalie in the Reception Team.

Whilst we do not have a full refurbishment programme in place at the present time as you rightly mentioned we do update and replace items on a regular basis.

I have noted all your comments and would like to take this opportunity to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

We do strive to deliver excellent customer service at all times and hope that you will continue to choose to stay with Holiday Inns in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hi All, Just wanted to say a massive thank you to the Holiday Inn in Bolton. I was booked in to stay the weekend of the UK Ironman on the 20th July. Unfortunately due to injury i wont be able to compete. Full refund on my booking. Could not be happier. Strictly speaking it was a pre pay but the management realized the value of great customer service. You have kept a customer and i will be telling everyone what a great decision you made and you are definately top of my list for future bookings. Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our Customer Service. You are quite right in that normally our prepaid rates are non refundable and non transferable hence they are our cheapest rates available and payment is taken in advance of your stay. In exceptional circumstances such as the Ironman Event and due to your injury we made a decision that on this occasion we would make a refund to you as the next Ironman event will not be held in Bolton for another 12 months. As you advised us well in advance of your stay we were able to resell the room, however had you advised us nearer to the date unfortunately we would not have been able to make a refund.

Hope you make a full recovery from your injury and that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel next year for the Ironman Event if not before.

Kind regards


Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
4.4 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bolton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Address: 1 Higher Bridge Street, Bolton BL1 2EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bolton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre is within easy reach of the M6, M61, M62 and M60 motorway networks making us ideally situated for both business and leisure. A large hotel boasting 132 bedrooms including 7 Executive bedrooms all with individually controlled air-conditioning. For conferences and events, Holiday Inn Bolton Centre can accommodate upto 340 delegates. We will ensure your conference, function or event runs like clockwork. Our superb facilities include wireless internet access. So for a successful conference in Bolton , look no further. We also boast the perfect venue for civil ceremonies and weddings in Bolton with our very beautiful Cloisters suite, a converted church and hidden jewel of the North West. And for a place to dine, the stylish Lounge Bar and Restaurant offers cuisine to suit all. Our leisure club, includes an indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. Local attractions include The Reebok Stadium, home to Bolton Wanderers, Old Trafford, home of Manchester United and City of Manchester Stadium, home of Manchester City FC the Trafford Centre, is close by aswell as other places of interest such as The Lowry Centre, Bury, Blackburn, Horwich, Chorley, Manchester, Oldham, Heywood, Rochdale and Darwen. In accordance with English law this hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bolton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre Hotel Bolton
Bolton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing