We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday”
Review of The Strawbury Duck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strawbury Duck
Ranked #9 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked the Strawbury Duck for my mothers 70th birthday and right from the very start the staff were fantastic. We reserved 4 of the 5 rooms and asked for a reservation for Easter Saturday night for 10. We arrived mid afternoon and checked into the rooms. They were a brilliant standard, all en-suite with either baths or showers and fantastic views. The staff were more than helpful offering us glasses from the bar so we could enjoy a glass of champagne in our rooms, and when there was a small mix up with the room keys as a previous guest had left with them, this was soon rectified and my mum was offered her room free of charge! Superb customer service. Our table was reserved and we had the rear dining room to ourselves. The staff were happy for us to decorate it with balloons and banners and were fantastic throughout the service. There was a great range of beers, the food was amazing and the staff again were brilliant bringing in a cake for my mum that we had brought with us, whilst singing happy birthday! We all had a great nights sleeps and then enjoyed a lovely walk around the reservoirs the following day before returning to the Duck for a hot drink and to finish off the birthday cake. All in all, a perfect birthday - Thanks to everyone at the Strawbury Duck & see you again soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited many times always had excellent food and service, staff couldn't have been more helpful and always made to feel welcome. One of my favourite places to eat also very good value!
Rooms are finished to high standard and a good quality breakfast is included to set u up for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here on December 27th with my husband after having a meal with our family.
Food was very good, plentiful, hot and received within a good time. My burger was undercooked
Slightly, however when I brought thus to the attention if the waitress I received another fresh meal (I'd already eaten the chips off the first meal)
The rooms are nice too, clean and modern. Breakfast was plentiful. This us the 2nd that we have stated here and will do again.
Hourly train service to manchester or Clitheroe from here is an added bonus. Mobile phone reception and internet is very poor, but that's not the restaurants fault.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Eider and Mallard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABWStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A group of walking friends booked a meal for when we finished our walk. Bar service was slow I ordered honey roast ham only received one slice + poor quality veg other people ordered beef it seemed that they were running out off meat over all quality was poor for what we paid sorry we won't be returning It DIDENT meet our usual standard . Pete from wacky walkers

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeteJRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a nice rustic pub in beautiful lancashire countryside.
I, along with one of my fellow diners ordered the locally produced sausages and mash. For some reason my friend received almost double the portion of mash that I did. Chef needs to give equal portions !
The sausages were very good and the mash ok, a couple of lumps here and there.
Another friend had what he said was the best burger of his life.
Prices were ok and due to the olde worlde charm of this pub, I will return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ClintBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great pub, trad beers and food
Rooms clean compact but well appointed
Ordered "home made" pork pie, doubt it was, looked and tasted like shop bought, shame
Yes I would stay again, lovely atmosphere
A bit out in the sticks but that made it for me

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davegirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here the other day and I must say it will be the last time, the room itself was fine and the views where great but the service is very slow. We checked in and came back into the bar for a drink but we had to wait ten minutes for somebody to come into the bar and serve us. Our friends came over in the evening for dinner but after a one hour wait in a quite restaurant we cancelled the food. We arranged to have our breakfast at 9am the following morning.

We came down for breakfast at 9am and found the pub to be locked up so yet again no food or service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
2.2 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,723 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ingleside House
Ingleside House
#2 of 17 in Bolton
144 reviews
8 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,315 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#1 of 1 in Westhoughton
162 reviews
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawbury Duck

Address: Entwistle,Turton Overshores Road, Bolton BL7 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range: £67 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strawbury Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing