We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 very happy guests”
Review of The Strawbury Duck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strawbury Duck
Ranked #11 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“6 very happy guests”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great pub and excellent b&b, perfectly located for walking in this beautiful area. We found the staff very attentive and friendly. Rooms and food very good and the prices are fair for the amenities - no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    36
    15
    14
    16
See reviews for
34
53
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The food, staff and area are really nice but the room was a let down. It wasn't the cleanest place I have ever stayed and the room wasn't touched the day after our first night nor was the coffee replenished which considering the price you would expect it to be. The walls are paper thin and the doors slam really loud and the people in the two neighbouring rooms were in and out like a fiddlers elbow. I didn't feel rested at all by the time we left which is a shame because the area is lovely and the food in the restaurant was beautiful the chef(s) really took pride in their food and presentation in our view. Don't think I could stay again but I would definitely return for food and the walks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank urmantrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Me and my now husband stayed here on our wedding night after a very long day. After a slight miscommuniaction of the time we would be arriving and us looking like we were trying to break in we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who could not apologise enough. He helped us up to the room and told us that they were in no rush for us to leave the following day, so to sit back and relax which we certainly did. The rooms are beautiful, like home from home. Lovely furnishings, offering an excellent, comfortable stay. The bed is one of the most comfortable ive ever slept in, with plush pillows and a feather duvet. We had an en suite bathroom which again was beautifully modern and comfortable. In the morning my husband went down to ask if it was possible for us to have our breakfast in the room, so we could relax, which was not a problem. Hands down the best full english ive EVER had. Local farm produce, large portion sizes and amazingly tasty. We had bacon, sausage, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, toast, jam, tea and fresh orange needless to say we were stuffed. A very pleasant stay, and we will be returning for our 1 year anniversary xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlaz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked the Strawbury Duck for my mothers 70th birthday and right from the very start the staff were fantastic. We reserved 4 of the 5 rooms and asked for a reservation for Easter Saturday night for 10. We arrived mid afternoon and checked into the rooms. They were a brilliant standard, all en-suite with either baths or showers and fantastic views. The staff were more than helpful offering us glasses from the bar so we could enjoy a glass of champagne in our rooms, and when there was a small mix up with the room keys as a previous guest had left with them, this was soon rectified and my mum was offered her room free of charge! Superb customer service. Our table was reserved and we had the rear dining room to ourselves. The staff were happy for us to decorate it with balloons and banners and were fantastic throughout the service. There was a great range of beers, the food was amazing and the staff again were brilliant bringing in a cake for my mum that we had brought with us, whilst singing happy birthday! We all had a great nights sleeps and then enjoyed a lovely walk around the reservoirs the following day before returning to the Duck for a hot drink and to finish off the birthday cake. All in all, a perfect birthday - Thanks to everyone at the Strawbury Duck & see you again soon!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited many times always had excellent food and service, staff couldn't have been more helpful and always made to feel welcome. One of my favourite places to eat also very good value!
Rooms are finished to high standard and a good quality breakfast is included to set u up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here on December 27th with my husband after having a meal with our family.
Food was very good, plentiful, hot and received within a good time. My burger was undercooked
Slightly, however when I brought thus to the attention if the waitress I received another fresh meal (I'd already eaten the chips off the first meal)
The rooms are nice too, clean and modern. Breakfast was plentiful. This us the 2nd that we have stated here and will do again.
Hourly train service to manchester or Clitheroe from here is an added bonus. Mobile phone reception and internet is very poor, but that's not the restaurants fault.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Eider and Mallard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABWStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A group of walking friends booked a meal for when we finished our walk. Bar service was slow I ordered honey roast ham only received one slice + poor quality veg other people ordered beef it seemed that they were running out off meat over all quality was poor for what we paid sorry we won't be returning It DIDENT meet our usual standard . Pete from wacky walkers

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteJRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton
2.2 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,583 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,244 reviews
5.6 mi away
Highgrove Guest House
Highgrove Guest House
#6 of 17 in Bolton
80 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Red Lion hotel
The Red Lion hotel
#4 of 9 in Bury
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawbury Duck

Property: The Strawbury Duck
Address: Entwistle,Turton Overshores Road, Bolton BL7 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strawbury Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing