We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strawbury Duck
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mercury(Westhoughton)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
69
39
16
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
39
16
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe sweet potato chipstwo bottles of winedog loversdogs are allowedreal alegreat food and servicebe visiting againbed was comfortableone night stayreservoirentwistlealesmanchester
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Strawbury Duck following our friends wedding. From booking to check out the staff were lovely and helpful, and we had a lovely stay. Everybody was helpful and friendly. I cannot believe what good value it was, with an amazing breakfast together the next day and breakfast drinks included. 5/5 would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Duck suite lovely but bathroom separated by corridor so lots of doors banging to go between the two.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed here for a night over the recent bank holiday weekend to celebrate a couple of birthdays within the group and also 'cos the SD is a great location to stay as we were doing the 'three reservoir walk' which takes in Wayoh, Jumbles and Entwistle reservoirs.

So after a good 10 mile or so walk, the SD was a great finishing spot and a good pub to sample the local ales and then check in for the night. All 4 rooms we had were similar and were pretty good and some had good views of the surrounding hills.

The only minor negative was the showers were not too great, but still did a job. The staff were all pretty young and keen to please and the breakfasts were excellent.

For just £65 a night, I'd gladly stay here again if we choose to do the walk again.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay out as we did past 11pm, pre arrange with a member of staff to get the main entrance key.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuddyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great pub and excellent b&b, perfectly located for walking in this beautiful area. We found the staff very attentive and friendly. Rooms and food very good and the prices are fair for the amenities - no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The food, staff and area are really nice but the room was a let down. It wasn't the cleanest place I have ever stayed and the room wasn't touched the day after our first night nor was the coffee replenished which considering the price you would expect it to be. The walls are paper thin and the doors slam really loud and the people in the two neighbouring rooms were in and out like a fiddlers elbow. I didn't feel rested at all by the time we left which is a shame because the area is lovely and the food in the restaurant was beautiful the chef(s) really took pride in their food and presentation in our view. Don't think I could stay again but I would definitely return for food and the walks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank urmantrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Me and my now husband stayed here on our wedding night after a very long day. After a slight miscommuniaction of the time we would be arriving and us looking like we were trying to break in we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who could not apologise enough. He helped us up to the room and told us that they were in no rush for us to leave the following day, so to sit back and relax which we certainly did. The rooms are beautiful, like home from home. Lovely furnishings, offering an excellent, comfortable stay. The bed is one of the most comfortable ive ever slept in, with plush pillows and a feather duvet. We had an en suite bathroom which again was beautifully modern and comfortable. In the morning my husband went down to ask if it was possible for us to have our breakfast in the room, so we could relax, which was not a problem. Hands down the best full english ive EVER had. Local farm produce, large portion sizes and amazingly tasty. We had bacon, sausage, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, toast, jam, tea and fresh orange needless to say we were stuffed. A very pleasant stay, and we will be returning for our 1 year anniversary xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlaz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews