We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue”

Old Forge at Bobs Smithy Inn
Ranked #21 of 526 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family run country Pub and Restaurant serving pub lunches and evening dining in our A La Carte Restaurant all our food is cooked with local produce. Our food is all cooked from fresh by trained chefs.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect venue”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Visited last week with a party of twenty. Absolutely superb ....we had steaks, chicken & fish of the day off the mid week menu 2 courses for £14.
Never have I eaten before with a group when everyone was 100% delighted !
Excellent comments still flying round.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Butterflytinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    65
    36
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smell around toilets permeates the pub”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Often drop by for a beer. Menu looks great and by all accounts food is good. Great location. Only thing is the on/off smell of the drains (assumed) from toilets puts me right off ordering food. Not sure what the problem is but the smell filters through the pub area. Afraid it puts me off ordering the food

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lozroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New favourite”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I ate here last night (saturday) bob smithy is a place that we have drove past many a time as my hubby's grandparents only live round the corner, but have never visited. So pleased we did. Beautiful inside and we had a drink in the bar before eating, merlot was lovely! Food wise was excellent, and as a veggie there was lots of choice. We had olives to start, I had the filo basket and hubby had steak and a bottle of wine. Bill came to £50 which is excellent! Food amazing, lovely staff and great atmosphere! Can't wait to come again :) my new favourite in bolton

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank julie3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time here the other day and we only went for lunchtime in the bar. The choice was quite wide and the food was not bad. Clearly was cooked fresh. I had the sausage and mash which was likely the worst of the four meals. The sausages were tasteless but that is quite common I have found these days. Must be something to do with EU regulations. Food is not slowed to taste nice anymore in case it harms you !!! Next time we will try the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AgedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal great service”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went on Saturday night my 3rd visit here , really nice food , we tried the new menu ,as I love desserts I decided not to have a starter ,we both had flat iron steak, the potatoes were delicious they were duchess potatoes and shallot purée with a burnaise sauce yummy , our desserts were a lovely lemon posset really fresh and light ,exactly the right dessert to follow a lovely meal . Please note this is not a cheap and cheerfully restaurant , it's somewhere different and just that bit special and reasonably priced

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Forge at Bobs Smithy Inn also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Old Forge at Bobs Smithy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing