We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pub Food.... very busy pub”
Review of The Brewhouse

The Brewhouse
Ranked #125 of 526 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Offering guests everything you would want from a local inn – homemade, traditional pub classics a wide selection of hand pulled real ales, welcoming staff and comfortable accommodation.Plus the only pub in the area complete with its own onsite micro-brewery.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Food.... very busy pub”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent pub grub. Really good quality, HUGE portions, great value. The pub is very busy (as a pub!), so I would just bear that in mind on an evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch with a friend”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had arranged to drive from Huddersfield to Bolton where we had lived previously for 30 years. Our friend from North Wales was in Bolton just for the day prior to a family event in the evening. We had not met up for a year or so so just wanted to chat over lunch, and her sister who lives locally recommended The Brewhouse, which we had not visited before.
We all arrived about 1.30 and found just a few people eating or drinking. The lady at the bar made us welcome and was helpful in answering my wife's questions about the menu (she is lactose-intolerant).
Wife & friend ordered light-bites: small fish & chips and a cheese baguette with chips & salad. My choice was the pub's own steak & ale pie with chips & mushy peas. After the meal we ordered hot drinks as we wanted to stay for a while and talk.
We were all very happy with the food and drinks. We were able to talk in the quiet atmosphere, although the bar got a bit busier and noisier later when some football fans arrived.
We were all very happy and the bill of £29.55 was very reasonable indeed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real shame”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular and loyal customer to the brewhouse for 3 years now and loved it. Great food, lovely ales and a really welcoming, warm feel to the place. It's recently been decorated and it's suffered visually as a result. It has more of a cheap pub feel to it rather than the nice homely atmosphere that was previously there. The carpets clearly hadn't been hoovered for a few days which left me wondering what state the kitchens were in... We intended to eat but had a pint and left. None of the old staff were on the bar and the old brewery that was visible from the bar seems to have gone and been replaced with regular barrels. A real shame. A lovely pub and fantastic eatery seems to have died a death.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Went to the Brewhouse for food with friends and was pleasantly surprised! Good pub food that is filling and cooked really well! Two of us had the steak burger which was divine whilst one had a fish that did not disappoint and another a steak and ale pie! All mains went down a treat and the chips are gorgeous! Would definitely recommend - lovely atmosphere but as we went on a sat night (our choice) the bar got busy and we were not impressed having to go to the bar to pay after the meal - all in all very good

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mellyy201092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
286 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We came to the Brew House on a quiet Tuesday lunchtime and four of us had a lovely lunch to celebrate my father's birthday. There were 2 Dunscar Bridge beers on sale and 2 guest beers. We tried both the Dunscar Bridge beers and found them to be excellent. The food was excellent, especially the beer battered fish. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brewhouse also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bromley Cross, Bolton
 

Been to The Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing