We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Re-visiting my hometown, and family members” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highgrove Guest House

Highgrove Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highgrove Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Re-visiting my hometown, and family members”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently stayed at HIGHGROVE on a visit ter Bolton, , It was a good position fer Town, an the staff there where real friendly, a warm welcome, comfortable room, an a good breakfast...all that was needed ...thankyou HIGHGROVE...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilybelle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
21
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

have just stayed two nights at the highgrove the room was a good size and very clean we had room no9 which is at the back so was very quiet the breakfasts were freshly cooked and very nice the owner and his staff were very friendly and helpfull would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Lovely helpful people from start to finish. Room was spacious for 3 adults and oh so cosy. Beds dead comfy. Brill location, close to train, shops and nightlife.we were able to leave our bags before and after our stay, which was great. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at the Highgrove Guest House in Bolton recently. It is approx 15 minutes from town centre, railway station and Grosvenor Casino, with Supermarkets less than 10 minutes away. The breakfast was high quality and I had a very pleasent stay. I would recommend the Highgrove to anyone having a trip to Bolton.

Room Tip: THe guest house is in a BT openzone area if there are any issues with the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed there last night and found the room clean, smart and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in and for £30 per night for the single room it was more than worth it. I will recommend the guesthouse to anyone wishing to visit Bolton.
I suggest you book direct with the owners as I booked through Laterooms.com and the guest house weren't aware of my booking. Luckily enough a room was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Good points - neat room, close to railway station and town centre, around 30 pounds per night..

Would have given it 4 stars but for 1) one of those hard to control showers 2) linen past its expiry date 3) bathroom could be cleaner and 4) noisy in the morning as I was under the breakfast room (not a problem if you are an early riser)

I had the small basement room but the bigger rooms look better

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Clean, Good Bed, Warm, Excellent Breakfast cooked by "Flower" never new her real name, what more could you ask. Paid a great deal more and got nowhere near the quality that you recieve here. If ever in Bolton well worth the money, only a few minutes walk from all the amenities of the City centre. Will definately stay again when in the area. Room was excellent even though it was
next to the main road, plenty goodies tea/coffee etc., shower very good, shampoo etc., supplied. If it was next to a Park or the like it would be a definate four star which it should be anyway." All Hail Flowers Breakfast."

Room Tip: Any room really they are all OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.7 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove Guest House

Property: Highgrove Guest House
Address: 63 Manchester Road, Bolton BL2 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highgrove Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highgrove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing