We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bygone days”
Review of Milestones Museum

Milestones Museum
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside the story of our social, retail and industrial heritage and imagine what life would have been like during the Victorian era and the 1930s as you explore the life size streets, buildings, shops and vehicles, all under one roof. Be inspired by wonderful collections from vehicles, toys, domestic appliances and lots more! See how our homes developed through decades from 1930 - 1970s with our authentic room-sets. Experience our 1940s sweet shop when you purchase an old penny for £1 to buy your 2oz ration of sweets in the sweet shop. Have fun in our vintage penny arcade. Dress up in Victorian costumes. Under 5s can also enjoy our play post office. Experience our working Edwardian pub where you can enjoy a pint and a sandwich. Events such as LEGO and Father Christmas Grotto at selected times of the year.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Fareham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bygone days”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Although this attraction is small there is so much to see, no matter if you are over or under a certain age, if your older it brings back many happy memories, and if younger it shows just how our parents lived. In the period room sets there are plenty of objects to think about from hair dressing to washing machines. All in all a great day out for all the family, not too tiring and help staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    294
    83
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Basingstoke Beer Festival”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a great time visiting here whilst attending the beer festival which had live music all day and various other tents and attractions live traction engines. Did get a bit rowdy and busy by the evening though. Great selection of real ales in the beer tent/live music tent, you buy a glass then go up and choose which beers you want! The museum was an added bonus great for kids as its all set up as a period village - brilliant!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamerton10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“fabulous trip with all ages, loved by our Australian visitors”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well organised, full of authenticity, very informative in a gentle way,not tiring or pressured, good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a family day.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amazing place. Family loved it. Very educational and fact answering for the kids. Great for the adults with many a trip down memory lane. Recommend stopping for a pint in their original pub.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A stroll down memory lane”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I took my mother, who is in her 80's, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the museum. It is easily accessible from Basingstoke using the shuttle bus.
The museum itself was well laid out and very interesting. Although it was half term week it was not terribly busy and we were able to spend as long as we liked at each exhibit.

The displays take you from the days of the Industrial Revolution through to the 1930's and then there are displays of household equipment which take you right up to date. Nice to see some things which are still in use in my house!

The gift shop was excellent and interesting and the cafe was very inviting. I was particularly impressed with the complimentary jug of water on offer.

The admission charge seemed very reasonable for the amount of time we spent there, the staff made us feel very welcome throughout and it was a really enjoyable day

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milestones Museum also viewed

Sherborne St. John, Basingstoke
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Milestones Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing