We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Milestones Museum

Milestones Museum
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside the story of our social, retail and industrial heritage and imagine what life would have been like during the Victorian era and the 1930s as you explore the life size streets, buildings, shops and vehicles, all under one roof. Be inspired by wonderful collections from vehicles, toys, domestic appliances and lots more! See how our homes developed through decades from 1930 - 1970s with our authentic room-sets. Experience our 1940s sweet shop when you purchase an old penny for £1 to buy your 2oz ration of sweets in the sweet shop. Have fun in our vintage penny arcade. Dress up in Victorian costumes. Under 5s can also enjoy our play post office. Experience our working Edwardian pub where you can enjoy a pint and a sandwich. Events such as LEGO and Father Christmas Grotto at selected times of the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The kids loved their trip to the museum, especially the WW1 exhibition. They loved following the trail and finding the clues. Of course most of all they loved the sweet shop! All of the museum costumed characters were brilliant at their roles and really helped to bring history to life. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank theveggieexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy N, General Manager at Milestones Museum, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed the exhibition and looking around the museum. Our interpreters have developed some really interesting costumed characters on the theme of the First World War, so we are glad that you appreciated meeting them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    288
    82
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were visiting our son and his family who live in Andover, last week-end.
On Saturday afternoon he took us all to Milestones. There had been no pre-announcement so I didn't know what to expect.
All I can say is that it was brilliant, we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Very interesting exhibits very imaginatively displayed.

We had a three year old with us and he certainly enjoyed it but the age group that would get most out of it, other than grandparents indulging their nostalgia, would be 8 to 14 year olds.

It certainly gets a 10 from Nick!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy N, General Manager at Milestones Museum, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great surprise day out with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“WW1 soldier's experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from Milestones with the grandchildren having taken them there especially for the WW1 exhibition and soldier's story. The museum was it's usual self with a few story boards around and a challenge booklet, this provided a challenge for the adults to find the next number and very little fun for the children and no reward or incentive to continue. It was a big disappointment to one and all and we left feeling very cheated and misled by the advertising on the road and on the we site. The museum itself is worth a visit but there are little or no changed to the exhibitions which were there at the beginning. There is so much about the WW1 everywhere at present that we were all looking forward to the day only to return having learnt very little.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesleymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy N, General Manager at Milestones Museum, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that your visit to Milestones’ Soldiers’ Journey did not meet your expectations.

Due to the sensitive and complex nature of emotions raised by the First World War, Soldiers’ Journey has been created and promoted as an immersive experience that is intended to help visitors to understand what life was like on Hampshire’s home front from a child’s perspective. The experience encompasses a variety of aspects of war including war work by women, and the idea of Empire, and has been aimed at children aged about 7 and over.

The trail is designed to move visitors around the museum to different areas where an aspect of the First World War is represented, to enable a broad understanding of the four years of war, rather than a series of challenges for an end reward. Small activities within the trail include collecting a cap badge, the suspicious stranger, locating the Major’s brother, making an Empire Day flag, and rationing. There is also a simple First World War poster-spotting trail in the back of the trail for younger children. Costumed Interpreters in the Milestones streets offer an Empire Day school lesson, a First World War Home Front presentation, a Recruitment Sergeant, VAD Nurse and tram conductress, among other characters.

For those visitors who do not wish to take part in the Soldiers’ Journey, the rest of Milestones has been kept in situ; so the experience is designed to add an extra layer to the regular offer rather than to fully replace it. The exhibition experience is offered at no extra charge.

The feedback satisfaction rate has been extremely high with over 85% of customers stating they loved and liked the exhibition, with visitors clearly enjoying exploring the trail together. Nevertheless, it is helpful to hear your feedback and I thank you for taking the trouble to explain that it did not meet your expectations. I would be interested to know the ages of your grand children, if you would be willing to share this, to help us gather a picture of how to pitch future experiences.

We hope to welcome you again in future to Milestones, as we have an exciting season coming up in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting display”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Every time I go I see some thing different. Lots of hands on things for the kids and never too busy. Lots of information on other places to visit and great area to run off some energy outside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heatherbee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and Learning for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great interactive museum illustrating transport and life in bygone days.
Many of the vehicles on display were built in Basingstoke and have been faithfully restored. Plenty of opportunities for children (of all ages!) to get a real hands-on experience.
Ample parking available and food and drink available on site or from section of familiar outlets nearby.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milestones Museum also viewed

Sherborne St. John, Basingstoke
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Milestones Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing