We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Entrance & Dirty Menu's-That's What We Do See”

The Stag and Hounds Harvester
Ranked #183 of 256 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At The Stag and Hounds Harvester in Basingstoke food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Houston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty Entrance & Dirty Menu's-That's What We Do See”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited 23rd and 24th April 2014. Dinner on 1st evening and breakfast following morning. Entrance unpleasant, with boarded windows, weeds in patio and an overflowing bin, with water, beer cans and at least a hundred cigarette tips. Busy and brisk, but table menus filthy and kitchen door way and surround filthy.

Our food was fine but several of the salad bowls remained empty longer that i would have wished. Our morning breakfast was spoiled by yhe chef's inability to toast bread properly. Attached photos will probably tell the story better. Why bring toast that is burnt black. Is it to infer the customer is either stupid, won't bother to complain, or wouldn't know any better.

Wrong, wrong, wrong. The second batch of toast came back like white bread that hadn't been toasted. I had to prompt an apology from the manageress. But the unkempt and unclean surroundings does beggar the question, this is what the public can see, what the blazes is the parts like that we can't see.

It's an insult to the customer's intelligence, to have this restaurant run like this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eilselsebrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Stag and Hounds Harvester, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    72
    94
    92
    144
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful. Staff were ok.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Where do I start.
Had to waive 10 mins for a table got a Diet coke and no straws.
The salad cart was a mess there was around 10 salad bowls every single one was dirty. No Blue Cheese dressing and most tubs were nearly empty.
I had Mushrooms that were really greasy. Spitroast chicken was dry and cold and everyones chips were cold. My Husband had a chilli burger which came with like a chilli jam. My Daughter fish was all batter and oil and no fish. She was given for Crayons to draw with all were broken.
The toilets had no toilet roll in any of the cubicles. The worst dinner I have had in ages. The staff as friendly enough that is the reason I gave it 2 stars not onw.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eattravelandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Stag and Hounds Harvester, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff let it down”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Staff here just aren't in the mood and it seems like they never are. We'd previously tried to eat here - we arrived at 11.45 and duly waited by the 'wait here to be seated' sign. We were ignored by 2 staff at the bar opposite. It wasn't until we called over that we were acknowledged with a 'we don't start serving til 12'. Well, that's fine, but please do us the courtesy of telling us that rather than let us stand there like idiots. Or show us to a table but tell us that we won't be served til 12. It was blatantly rude. Today, service was little better. This time we knew not to arrive until 12. Others, however, did not and a group we'd seen leave the carpark early were duly standing in line 20 minutes later, presumably having had the same experience as us. Why not put a note on the sign or door to let people know? There were at least 20 people waiting to be seated (so there isn't a problem with its popularity despite the poor service) and yet even with the clock gone 12 we were all still waiting. This caused a backlog of people to be seated and served. Our American waitress was lovely and I couldn't fault her but the other staff were, as previously, disinterested and unhelpful. The loos too, had not been cleaned and were out of loo roll, inexcusable at the start of the day. A poor experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garfunkel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Stag and Hounds Harvester, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, nice staff.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stopped in for a mid-week breakfast, harvester had sent us a money off voucher so we decided to visit.
Good food and nice staff, we would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rev029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Stag and Hounds Harvester, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unprofessional and slow. Lukewarm food - poorly reheated. Unable to even make toast!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Visited for breakfast - wished I hadn't for the following reasons:-
Only one waitress
Unprofessional greeting
Unable to provide poached egg as "don't have the equipment"!
Wait time for food 40 minutes - from arrival at establishment but told when complained food order only been in the kitchen for 20 minutes!!
Unable to provide brown bread
Oblivious staff with lack of social skills shouting across the main eating area
3 "chefs" in the kitchen who obviously didn't have a clue in terms of customer service - shouting, chatting and totally unprofessional
Outcome: Complained and Duty Manager apologised for the fact the chef had not turned up so do hope that others enjoy a better experience

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Stag and Hounds Harvester, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stag and Hounds Harvester also viewed

 
North Waltham, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Stag and Hounds Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing