We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mass catering at its worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mass catering at its worst!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a work do there and the food and table set up stood out for all the wrong reasons. Food tasted poor, over-cooked and probably sat under hot light far longer than it should have done, little flavour, deep fried roast potatoes and poor quality ingredients.
Furthermore it was like being in a work canteen. Poor music and lousy lighting.
Only good thing was the company.
I did complain to the manager and he said he would let the kitchen know.
Not impressed really.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Acer7458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Acer7458. Thank you for your review following your Christmas party over the weekend. I am very sorry to read that you were so disappointed with what we offered you. Virtually all of the feedback we have had about the Christmas parties has been very good and in particular the food. Clearly we didn't get it right for you though for which I apologize. Rest assured we will continue to try to get better at everything we do so that all of our guests go away happy and hopefully come back to visit us again. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    282
    95
    35
    19
See reviews for
125
273
16
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stay at the Hampshire Court on Friday night for a spa weekend with my friend, First time we had ever done any thing like this and already planning on coming back in Feb.! had such a great weekend every member of staff we talked to was very friendly and very helpful. the treatments we had in the spa were lovely and very relaxing. and the food was amazing! the room was also lovely very clear and big!

we used the swimming pool steam room and wet room and all were great!
Thank you to all the staff. we will be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear charlotte b. Thank you for your review following your spa break with us. I am delighted to hear that your friend and you had such a good time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in February. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I really want to say Thank You to all the staff at the hotel. My son stayed here with his girlfriend for a spa weekend to celebrate their 1st Anniversay. They absolutely loved their visit. They used the gym, swimming pool, sauna and wet room everyday.
They both had treatments by Sonia & Anthony over the weekend.
They loved the food at breakfast and lunch saying there was so much choice.
Dinner in the evening was great.
Their Q Star room was made special with champagne & chocolates....and the mini bar!
Thank you once again to all involved in making their weekend special...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thebiz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear thebiz68. Thank you for writing such a lovely review following your son and daughter in law's stay. I am delighted they had such a good time. The team here will be thrilled with the feedback so thank you for going to the trouble of providing it. I hope we can tempt them or indeed you to come and visit us again sooner rather than later. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed on an overnight spa break on Saturday 23rd November. I have been on the same deal at this hotel and at Norton Park (another Q Hotel) in the past and I believe it offers great value for money - £99pp for lunch, dinner, overnight stay with breakfast, access to the health club and a 50 min spa treatment! We made good use of the fitness club and were one of the fortunate one's to bag a sun-lounger by the pool. I felt sorry for others who arrived later to find they had nowhere to lounge around the pool or ended up perching on the end of a friends bed or worse still sitting on the tiles! Our room was a good standard, clean and comfortable. And all of the food we consumed (and it was a lot!) was enjoyable, but unfortunately during our evening meal and breakfast we were disappointed by the service.
On arrival it was recommended that we move our evening meal booking from 8pm to 8.30pm to avoid slow service, however, when we arrived in the restaurant at 8.30 we had to wait for a table to be laid up. We also had to flag waiters a couple of times to take our orders and then the wait for our food was at least half an hour. When it finally came our appetiser of breads was served up at the same time as our starters, which rather defeated the object of ordering an appetiser! During breakfast, lots of items ran out and were generally not replenished without being highlighted by diners to waiting staff.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, it was just a shame that the restaurant was not running more efficiently.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Debbie W. thank you for your review following your spa break with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but I am sorry you felt a bit underwhelmed with your experience in the restaurant. Usually this is something we are pretty good at getting right all the time. However, clearly we need to continue to work hard to achieve a really great level of service consistently. Please be assured we will use your feedback in achieving this. I hope we will be welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed overnight to break up a journey with our two young children. The staff were the friendliest I've ever encountered in a hotel and the facilities were excellent. One of the kids was ill in the night and staff couldn't do enough to help and change bedding etc. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear matt g. Thank you for writing a review following a brief stay with your family. I am really pleased that the team made such a good impression on you. I hope your youngest is well on the way to a full recovery. Hopefully we will see you all again in the not too distant future. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We have just done a surprise 35th wedding anniversary. For my wife at the Hampshire Court Hotel and we had three rooms for the family and grandchildren we had a pool to use and found the staff very helpful , the two young men on bar we're very attentive to our needs ,as were all the staff during our visit , the whole place is squeaky clean ,and well set out we will return ,
Apart from being a little pricey this hotel has it all ( you only get what you pay for) VFM
Thanks
Timblick family

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Thisadoo. Thank you very much for your posting your review. I am delighted to hear the celebrations were a success and that you were all so impressed by the hotel. I look forward to you returning soon I hope. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Having just returned from a spa break (9/10 Nov) at the hampshire court, I cannot praise it enough!
The hotel itself is lovely, spotlessly clean, beautiful courtyard, rooms spacious and spotless, facilities are excellent!
The lunch was buffet style with hot food (incl.vegetarian option), salad, fresh soup, deserts and always being replenished so nice and fresh. The dinner was incredible, with so much choice, very reasonably priced, presented beautifully with a service to match. Waiters attentive, polite and incredibly helpful.
Breakfast again buffet style with full continental and full cooked too with a choice of fried eggs..hard soft and turned. Available to order was smoked salmon or veggie sausages (there were other items available but cant remember) and once again everything was regularly changed so always fresh and hot.
Spa was lovely, facilities good, therapists excellent and very knowledgeable.
What really makes this hotel, apart from it being modern well presented and spotlessly clean..is the amazing staff that are so cheery, friendly and helpful! I've had worse stays and worse meals in top notch 5 star hotels..well done Hampshire court you got it spot on!!! cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear julia s. Thank you very much for your review following your spa break with us. I am thrilled that you had such a good time with us. I agree that the team here are really what stands out and they will be really chuffed to receive your feedback. I look forward to you visiting us again soon. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basingstoke
14.3 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
852 reviews
2.9 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
748 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel

Property: Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Hotel - A QHotel Centre Drive, Basingstoke RG24 8FY, England (Formerly Hampshire Centrecourt)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Basingstoke
#2 Family Hotel in Basingstoke
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern well presented full service hotel boasts a unique and broad range of facilities that make it ideal for guests travelling on business or for pleasure. Ideally located in the quiet Chineham area of Basingstoke, making it convenient to both the M3 (J6) and M4 (J10) with easy travel to Newbury, Reading, Andover, Winchester, Farnham and Farnborough. The Hampshire Court is nicely designed around a courtyard garden with an terrific feeling of space. There is Complimentary wifi throughout the hotel and the Coffee Lounge, Bar and Restaurant areas are well served by an established and excellent kitchen and service team. Perfect for business meetings or weddings and other social events, the Hampshire Court has function rooms to suit any size of event from 2 to 1500 people. The superb leisure facilities include 5 indoor tennis courts and both a kid's pool and an adult only pool. The well-equipped gymnasium is also supported by a comprehensive range of studio activities. The luxury Spa offers a full range of body & beauty treatments featuring Jessica nail and ESPA products. For families with younger guests, the separate kid's pool and a brilliant games room makes it easy to have a fun and relaxing break without typical concerns of disturbing other guests. The games room includes a new Ipad Station and a Wii stand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel Basingstoke
Hampshire Court Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing