We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the Belfry Birmingham!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than the Belfry Birmingham!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We've lived our chilled out stay here. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It is great value and they can't do enough for you. Whilst the Birmingham Belfry was beautifully decorated I didn't like that I had to pay for all the extras like wifi, ice boxes and robes. At the hampshire Court everything was included in the price. Fab break!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_London75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, Operations Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jo_London75,

Thak you for posting your review following your stay with us. I am pleased the staff made such a good impression and you took advantage of all the extras that are inlcuded for our hotel guests. I hope we can welcome you back for another stay soon.

Kind Regards
Luke Comerford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    265
    86
    30
    17
See reviews for
119
250
15
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Hampshire Court Hotel for one night to attend our friends 50th Birthday party.
What a wonderful stay we had. The party was in a private room. The bar service was very good.
The buffet was very good too, hot and plenty of food. The staff continued to full up the platters once empty.
It was a very hot night but fans were provided in bedroom. As we were upstairs we opened our patio doors and put the fan in front of them on the table to keep the room cool.
Breakfast was good too plenty of choice both on the hot buffet and the continental breakfast.
Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
All in all a very good stay with very good friends for company.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJH667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MrsJH667. Thank you for your review following the 50th Birthday celebrations. I am delighted that everyone had such a good time and that you enjoyed the hotel so much. The team will be thrilled with the feedback, so thank you for mentioning them in your feedback. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps next time you have a celebration, or even before if you can be persuaded. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Dear Q Hotels,

I am writing this email to you to complain about an evening meal I had at the Hampshire Court Hotel, Basingstoke. I have just returned from the meal and thought it would be most appropriate to inform you of the evening.

We had booked a table for 8 for a family members 80th Birthday, small celebration in the hotel as we knew it had been taken over and looked very good.

On arrival, we were seated and the waiter went off for around 15 minutes while we looked at the menu. He came back to take our orders, but we had to ask to order some drinks, something you'd expect to order right from the off. We knew at this point that the evenings service would be interesting. We were never asked again if we would like another drink.

The 8 simple drinks ordered took another 15 minutes to come, seemingly long for 2 diet cokes, 1 lager, 1 cider, 1 wine, 1 orange and 2 ginger ales. Tap water was ordered to the table twice, another 10 minutes passed and it finally came.

The starters were very good, the party was pleased with the quality of the food. We were looking forward to our mains. After we had finished, our plates lay in front of us for a further 20 minutes before the waiter decided to come back and clear the table. It did not seem a busy night with maybe 12 other people in the restaurant so we thought it was strange why the service was taking so long.

The mains then arrived, mostly very good. The lamb and duck were very good, the steak too. However the fish did not come out right. it was undercooked, very watery and did not taste right. Not at any point did any of the waiters come over to ask us how our meal was, something which is expected at every restaurant, wherever you go.

Another waiter came back at the end of the meal and asked if things were ok, we told him about the fish, to which he said, "oh okay, can I get you anything else?" We had all finished our mains and so thought it would be inappropriate to wait a very long time for another main. He did in no way apologise for the fish, did not offer an alternative to take it off the bill or give a complimentary dessert of coffee. The waiter cleared half the plates, and never returned.

Another 10 minutes passed before the first waiter came back to clear the rest of the plates, somewhat disappointing. Finally a dessert menu came back to us and we had ordered 7 desserts. These came back within reasonable time and were all very nice.

Yet again, afterwards only half the plates were cleared and this led onto the end of the meal. We asked for the bill and it was brought over, but 20 minutes passed and still no one had come to us to take payment. We ended up having to walk to the bar and ask to pay, something which should not be done in a restaurant.

3 hours later, we left the hotel, severely disappoint in the service we had received tonight at the Hampshire Court Hotel. The staff were clearly inexperienced, had a clear lack of training and to add a lack of enthusiasm. The restaurant was not in any way busy, there were 5/6 staff working a similar amount of tables, it would be hard to get wrong in any other environment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Conanmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Conanmcb. Thank you for your review and subsequent letter. I am very sorry that you were so disappointed with the speed of service in our restaurant. The restaurant team are very proud of the feedback they usually receive and we will be using yours as a tool to keep improving. Consistently great service is what we aspire to. Please be assured we will continue to work hard to try to achieve this. Should you decide to visit us again we would relish the opportunity to show you a great time. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am a big fan of Q hotels. They offer decent accommodations, at realistic prices.
the Hampshire Court is a modern Hotel with good leisure facilities. Large car park - no problems parking at all. Reasonable lobby area, if a little bland, with a bar leading off. Very pleasant central courtyard area- nice if the sun is shining!
The location is good - there is a 24 hour Tesco on the small shopping complex adjacent to the hotel, and you are only a couple miles away from the centre of Basingstoke itself.
As for the rooms at the hotel, they are quite well appointed. Spotlessly clean throughout. Plenty of storage space if you need it, and, always a plus point for me, lots of electrical plug sockets, for charging phones etc.
One huge omission though is the fact that there is no air conditioning in the rooms. I find this a little odd for a 4 star hotel. There was a fan provided in the room. However, coupled with the fact that the windows only open barely 2" for ventilation ( oh, how I hate that with hotels - it is so commonplace nowadays), and that we were there on the hottest weekend of the year, it was extremely hot in the room - even with the fan full on! I would urge Q hotel group to seriously consider investing in air conditioning here, for all areas and rooms.
I did notice that the rooms overlooking the inner courtyard, had balconies, and "patio" style doors. On querying this at reception, I was advised that these were 'upgraded rooms'. I was a little surprised that the hotel did not offer these as an option to us - either when booking initially, or subsequently on arrival - particularly as we are members of their loyalty breakaway scheme? I would have happily paid - just for the fresh air ventilation! I have to say on a general note - I really can't see the benefit of their "breakaway" loyalty scheme, other than for marketing purposes.
Breakfast was in the large, on site ( and air conditioned!!) restaurant. No issues here at all - good food, well cooked, nice selection. Staff always helpful and attentive.
Free wi - fi throughout the hotel. Excellent. Other hotel chains take note!
Overall - would happily recommend Hampshire Court. Its well appointed, and nicely presented. A good base for visiting the area. Perhaps would be perfect, when its not quite so hot!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel.w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear mel.w. Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you had such a good time with us and were suitably impressed by the hotel. Your particular praise about the food and cleanliness will be very well received by the chef and housekeeper, so thank you for mentioning it. I am sorry to hear that the bedroom was too warm for you. Last weekend was indeed the warmest we have had so far this year. Although these weather conditions are unfortunately rare, it does bring to mind that installing AC into the bedrooms would be something to consider. Please be assured that we are in that process right now and hopefully will be able to report some positive update on this shortly. I hope we will see you again soon. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I went for a 1 night spa trip with my sister in law for a birthday treat for both of us. The weekend was very pleasant and relaxing throughout. The room was well appointed and very clean. We arrived early as we wanted to make the most of the span and we were given access to our room straight away as it was ready early. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast, all of which were of excellent quality and the service we received was always polite and friends. The pools and changing facilities were clean and we enjoyed our time in them, especially when we had the family pool to ourselves and spent time messing about on the floats (meant for children - but why not?). The spa treatments were really replacing and all the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely professional. We spent a long time sat on the balcony in our room chatting with a bottle of wine. It was so nice to have nothing to do for a change!

If I had any comment at all about the room - it was just to say that the door to the balcony was very stiff and we had to ask a member of staff to show us how to open it. Once we knew we had to give it a hard tug it was all good, but we saw one older guest who was unable to do this.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and I am very likely to come back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony over the central courtyard - definitely worth making sure this is the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jo C. Thank you for your review following your spa break with us. I am really pleased to hear that you and your sister had such a relaxing and enjoyable time with us. The team here will also be thrilled with the feedback so thank you for going to the trouble. I hope we will welcome you both back soon. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked a large family catch-up mini break, which included 4 children all under 7. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and spent most of the time in the pool.
The childrens pool seemed deeper than the adult pool which seemed bizarre so any one visiting with children who are not very confident swimmers pack some extra arm bands! There were plenty of floats around to make it more fun in the water for supervising adults and the children, of course!!!!!
Breakfast was outstanding, everything you could wish for with the pastries being very fresh and full of flavour. The vegetarian option was superb.
The experience has been so good, that we have made this our repeat destination having returned now 3 times and introducing it to many more families.

Room Tip: Pack slippers if you're not using the spa facilities. Ask for the family room if you require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sunita L. Thank you for writing such a glowing review following your break with your family. I am delighted to hear that you all had such a good time and that the children especially enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th time in the not too distant future I hope. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely comfortable hotel ,very good pools and lesiure facilities,good location ,and good buffet breakfast.Good service.Clean and very comfortable rooms .have stayed a number of times and will return .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Agmsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Agmsoton. Thank you for your excellent review following your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you were suitably impressed by everything and the team will also be chuffed with your feedback. We look forward to you coming back again in the not too distant future. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basingstoke
14.3 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
3.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel

Property: Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Hotel - A QHotel Centre Drive, Basingstoke RG24 8FY, England (Formerly Hampshire Centrecourt)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Basingstoke
#2 Family Hotel in Basingstoke
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern well presented full service hotel boasts a unique and broad range of facilities that make it ideal for guests travelling on business or for pleasure. Ideally located in the quiet Chineham area of Basingstoke, making it convenient to both the M3 (J6) and M4 (J10) with easy travel to Newbury, Reading, Andover, Winchester, Farnham and Farnborough. The Hampshire Court is nicely designed around a courtyard garden with an terrific feeling of space. There is Complimentary wifi throughout the hotel and the Coffee Lounge, Bar and Restaurant areas are well served by an established and excellent kitchen and service team. Perfect for business meetings or weddings and other social events, the Hampshire Court has function rooms to suit any size of event from 2 to 1500 people. The superb leisure facilities include 5 indoor tennis courts and both a kid's pool and an adult only pool. The well-equipped gymnasium is also supported by a comprehensive range of studio activities. The luxury Spa offers a full range of body & beauty treatments featuring Jessica nail and ESPA products. For families with younger guests, the separate kid's pool and a brilliant games room makes it easy to have a fun and relaxing break without typical concerns of disturbing other guests. The games room includes a new Ipad Station and a Wii stand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel Basingstoke
Hampshire Court Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing