We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Audleys Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Audleys Wood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed at Audleys Wood last week and truly enjoyed it. Andrew Colley and his dedicated team provided a very warm welcome. The accommodation was very nice and comfortable (especially liked: free wifi throughout the hotel; trouser press and in room safe; good bath amenities; flat screen TV). We had dinner in the Simonds Room which is their new upscale restaurant and the food was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest, How nice to be able to welcome you back to Audleys Wood this year. Thank you for your wonderful comments, particularly concerning The Simonds Rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    240
    89
    38
    23
See reviews for
111
318
14
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had booked 1-night for the Saturday and had a wonderful meal in the Conservatory Restaurant which is a wonderful setting. Weather was awful but it didn't matter as the ambiance was very good inside. The bedrooms are very spacious and overlooked the grounds. Fancy, no, clean yes and more than met our needs.We booked a second night as a spur of the moment decision.
We strongly echo many of the reviews in regard to the staff. We had great service at the bar, restaurant and reception. Well done to the team.
One slight gripe was the poor selection of DVD's on offer. Okay a bit picky but it wouldn't take much to replenish. Thanks to the staff for making our stay a very enjoyable one. Relaxed indeed.

Room Tip: We had room 123 which had great views of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking to time to feedback on your recent stay at Audleys Wood. I shall certainly pass your great comments onto the team, as such news is always welcomed. The weather recently has been a real challenge, but I was glad to read that you decided to stay for a second night on the spur of the moment. I was encouraged to learn that you had a super meal in The Conservatory restaurant and that you enjoyed the ambience in the room. We have recently completed a refurbishment of the room and have had some encouraging feedback so far. I will certainly look into the dvd selection and improve the selection moving forward.
We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Good value for money hotel set in beautiful grounds. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest, I am pleased that we were able to satisfy your needs and offer value for money. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon. The grounds will soon look even nicer, assuming the sun does appear in the coming weeks. Early summer is one of the best times to enjoy Audleys Wood. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is the fourth hotel I've stayed at in the Handpicked Hotel chain and, like the others, it was excellent. My pre-booking requests were arranged, our rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean (as indeed was the rest of the hotel), and the room service dinner was lovely. The hotel is beautiful inside and out, with some lovely character public rooms, and is in a very quiet country location and yet ideally situated to reach the main road arteries nearby quickly and easily. I've rarely stayed at a hotel where the staff were so friendly, helpful and polite - everyone we came into contact with (doorman, receptionists, waiting staff) was exceptional and really nothing was too much trouble. The whole hotel gave the impression of being extremely well run, well organised with a good and happy team of staff. And the bill on checkout was correct! Would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone else whatever their age or reason for stay. Well done again Handpicked!

Room Tip: Clearly a popular wedding location so may be advisable to ask for a room facing away from the marque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest, what a fan of Hand Picked Hotels. I am really glad that Audleys Wood was able to meet your expectations in so many areas. I am sure the team will enjoy reading your review and such glowing feedback.
Please do not worry about any disturbance from our new Pavilion as the small number of rooms that face that area will be having double glazed windows fitted in the next couple of months. This is to ensure that none of our guests are inconvenienvced by noise during their stay.
We really look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Basingstoke. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts,england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is part of a small chain of select 4 star properties.
Sadly our visit coincided with one of the wettest weekends in a long time.
The grounds look stunning but sadly could only be viewed from afar due to the inclement weather!
The only real grumble was that the carpark was full of builders mess which made walking through an unpleasent and dirty experience. On the plus side, they are obviously having some additional work which if they are canny would be the inclusion of a gym or spar!
Would be very happy to revisit and see the finished article and if it is a spar, i'm sure the wife will come ready to burn a hole through her black card!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g.man-in-the-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest, "almost a 5" is a great start. I am glad that you were able to make the most of your stay despite the disappointing weather we are currently experiencing.
Many apologies for the inconvenience caused by the contractor's equipment remaining in the car park, but they too have been affected by the rain and have over run with a project we trying to complete. These works are to improve the quality of car parking for our guests and to install a new set of energy efficient street lights in the area which should provide a much better lighting level at night. I am afraid the Spa will have to wait for another year, but we would like the chance to make it 5 out of 5 on your next trip. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was looking for a hotel in Basingstoke that wasn't your typical 'cookie cutter' hotel and after reading the reviews about Audleys Wood; I took a punt and booked a night.

My boyfriend and I loved this place. We got there late and called to find out what time dinner finished and although it ended at 9pm, they were able to accommodate us at 9.30pm in the lovely high -ceilinged dining room.

The bed was big, rooms warm, bathroom clean, staff attentive and grounds beautiful...just right.

My boyfriend and I stay in hotels for work and this was a welcome departure from the usual and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deneshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest, I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and that we will be able to welcome you back to Audleys Wood again in the future. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know that you had a lovely stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed here for a business trip in February 2012. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room included a complementary breakfast every morning which was a nice combination of buffet style and also a list of made-to-order items. The only negative was that the walls were a little thin and I could hear someone snoring in the room next to me one night. The rooms were clean and very nice - large for the area. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the trouble to provide us with positive feedback following your stay with us in February. Such positive comments are always well received by the team.
I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by another guest's snoring but was glad to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope you visit us again on your next visit to the UK.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basingstoke
5.1 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,105 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
4.8 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Audleys Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audleys Wood Hotel

Property: Audleys Wood Hotel
Address: Alton Road, Basingstoke RG25 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
#4 Family Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Audleys Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880s as a private home for Thomas Pain, it subsequently enjoyed a rich and colourful history, with owners and visitors including the rich and famous. Today it is a 72 bedroom, 4 star hotel surrounded by woodlands and seven acres of private grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Audleys Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audleys Wood Basingstoke
Audleys Wood Hotel Basingstoke, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing