We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideally located Hotel with nice comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“ideally located Hotel with nice comfy rooms”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks business trip, helpful staff, ideal location very close to the City Center, Malls, cinema, bus stand, Railway station... everything within walking distance, Prices a bit on the higher side based on the rooms & services but are justified when you need all other facilities within waling distance!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    128
    99
    52
    33
See reviews for
52
93
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

stayed for 2 nights as a base for car fest near by. the whole hotel could do with a good tidy up and a lick of paint . room ok . bed comfy. asked for towels and extra pillows which appered very quickly. we had room 58 above the smoking area and function room so alot of noise. people out side drinking all night on the saturday - breakfast was a joke on both days . had to keep asking for toast, bowls, juice, coffee and it was a 50/50 chance you got them ! the buffet was ok but cold plates with luke warm food isnt the best start of the day. but as long as you just need to be in a very central location to bars and night clubs i would look else where .

Room Tip: ask if they have a function on the night . Also ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_on_tour_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July and the location was central and so handy for walking where we needed to go, and the staff in the Retaurant & Bar was really, really friendly and helpful. Always service with a smile. The Breakfast lady was always so cheerful, bless her! I would definitely stay here again, it was clean and comfortable and had parking, and the meals were very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinevisitors2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel needs refurbishing as it's quite expensive so you do expect it be be better decorated. Bath room was ok and the bed was ok. It's just an average hotel that charges a bit too much. Staff are friendly and the location (for me anyway) is good oh and the bar is decent as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I stay 2 nights over the weekend while visiting family in the area. The welcome was good and the room was bigger and better than expected after reading some previous review. All the staff were very helpfull and accommodating and helped me find how to get to The Spice restaurant on the second night which was also good. The room was clean and I was over the car park and never would of thought I was in the middle of a town ! The breakfast on the Saturday was great served plated but looked and tasted great just wish I had taken a pic ! Overall a very good staff and I will certainly be back when visiting again !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carroll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion over the weekend, the staff were welcoming, friendly and polite it seemed like nothing was too much trouble for them.
We checked in quite late into the evening and the young lady on the desk offered to book us a table in the bar/restaurant, even had our drinks waiting for us when we came back down from dropping off the bags. Food was very tasty and well presented, filled us up so we shared a dessert.
After dinner we stepped out into town to meet with friends, the Red Lion is the only Hotel in the town centre so ideal for us.
The room was clean and the bed very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep.
We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilworthManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a weekend, as soon as we arrived the Reception staff were very helpful and informative. There were a few people checking in when we got there, but we waited no longer than two minutes and were given our room key and settled in within a few minutes. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a few minutes walk from Festival place and all the restaurants, bars and shops. The bar staff were friendly and really made you felt as if you were a regular. We decided to eat in the Hotel restaurant "Squires" on our first night, the menu was really big and they really do cater to all your needs, My husband wanted a basic Ham Egg & Chips which wasnt on the menu, we asked the waiter if it was possible and to our suprise it was. Backing up my point on how they make you feel as if your a regular!
I dont know what all the other people are saying about Breakfast, I completely disagree the waitresses were extremely friendly and very efficient, we asked for toast, brown and white, which arrived at the table nice and hot before we had even finished helping ourselves to hot breakfast buffet. Which tasted fantastic.
The room decor was clean and tidy, more than enough room for a small double, and the cleaning staff were brilliant, as we came back to fresh and clean room every day.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Red Lion, and I can assure you we will be back in the near and distant future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.2 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke

Property: Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Address: Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke RG21 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel is a well established three star hotel in Basingstoke town centre close to Festival Place Shopping. Parking is free - guests need to register their vehicle at reception on arrival. The Red Lion is perfectly located for conferences, meetings, parties and weddings. The restaurant and bar areas front the London Street side which offers easy walking to the retail area. There is lift access to the bedrooms. Rooms are en-suite and have Freeview TV, wi-fi and tea/coffee making facilities. Travel cots and additional beds are available in certain rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Basingstoke
Basingstoke Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing