We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here this weekend and really enjoyed our stay!the hotel is really clean and all the staff are very helpful and friendly.Stayed in the Red Lion Suite and it was an amazing room which was a very reasonable price. Would highly reccommend this hotel and hopefully i will get the chance to stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellsbells23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    127
    97
    52
    33
See reviews for
52
90
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest England UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were visiting for a 60th birthday party at St Mary's college so needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights. This hotel was 10 minutes walk straight up the road so was ideally located. It is true that this hotel is bang smack in the middle of the night life as it on the main drag with all the bars/restaurants. We were fortunate..we had a room at the back overlooking the car park and it was quiet. The room was clean and comfy. It seems that the management may have listened to previous guests as the bed was comfy.....not hard at all.
We ate in the bar on the first evening and the food was really good. Reasonably priced with quite an extensive menu. I was surprised at the choice of food they offered. My family came down and ate with us and they agreed that the food was really nice. The breakfast was also very good....buffet style, hot but not dried up. Service was OK but some young staff were clearly inexperienced and they forgot our request for butter, which was missing from our table.
Evening bar service was excellent...service with a smile and a friendly word, which is not something you see very often when you are a northerner in southern climes (:D)
We would certainly stay there again but I note what other guests have said and I would specifically request a rear facing room in future. I couldn't imagine trying to sleep around midnight with all that cacophony around. The hotel is opposite one of the loudest and busiest bars in the town! Perhaps the management need to invest in upgraded double glazing????

Room Tip: Make ABSOLUTELY SURE that you are guaranteed a room at the back if you want a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altnaharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had two nights here & have been going this particularly weekend for 12 years, it is very centrally located with good parking & surrounded by shopping/clubbing etcetc opportunity. The staff are excellent, nothing to much trouble e.g. go sit I will bring your drinks to your table. Food is good but do not be down late for breakfast & order your fried eggs before you do anything else (they take a while) my wife says the evening meals are good. @ weekends If you like the noisy life it is the place for you, if you don't then you must, must ask for a quite room, the rooms are ok, if you like a shower then you will be treated to a gentle trickle (there was no choice in our room, you may be lucky). the bed/mattress however was a small double & very hard, until you get near the edge when it collapses. This will be the last we go there unless the mattresses are replaced, my wife & I are both over 65 & used to medium conformable, we had very interrupted sleep trying to get comfortable & not fall out of bed, hence ourgrading

Room Tip: if you want a quite room you have to specify when you book. When you walk in for breakfast if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevalier9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights (Friday and Saturday) to attend Carfest South. The room itself was OK and not too bad value for money, however, we had a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked a pedestrianized shopping street and from about 10pm through to the early hours - around 3.30am on both nights, the noise was incredible. I'm not just talking about a little bit of music etc. - it was belting out non stop from two or three places in the street as if we were in the venues with them! Revellers were also coming and going all night which added to the problems - shouting and screaming in the street as well. We booked the room months before the event and on the Tuesday before our stay we received an email stating that the hotel would not take any responsibility for any noise outside the hotel. By that time we had no chance of re-booking anywhere else but also had no idea how bad it would be. We were thoroughly exhausted after our weekend and also felt very let down by the way the situation was handled - we were told nothing of any problems when we booked and as we booked so early, why didn't we get a quieter room? Other reviewers seem to have had more luck so I would definitely advise to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to stay here. Also some double glazing that would actually close (it was nailed up so you couldn't close it!) would help (there were two windows in our room!!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the shopping street if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Red Lion saved my behind.

I got stranded in Basingstoke after getting the wrong train late on a sunday night. My only option to get back to Guildford was by paying £65 for a taxi, which I didn't have.

After freaking out / wandering around / blubbering / becoming devoid of all hope / considering sleeping in a bush I came across the Red Lion hotel at about half 1 in the morning.

I explained the situation to the young lad working nights there and he said I could stay in the bar to keep warm. He turned the tv on for me, got me a drink and made me a cracking BLT sandwich.

If it wasn't for the care and compassion shown by the Red Lion staff I'd could well have DIED, you never know... And it looked really nice while I was in there too! I look forward to spending a night there as a thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanguinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

very good service nice clean room .very good help yourself breakfast close to all the shops .Very helpful staff and pleasent .tea coffee making in room would stay again .close to railway station and bus station .we used taxi to get to otherside of town staff got us this

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherpilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks business trip, helpful staff, ideal location very close to the City Center, Malls, cinema, bus stand, Railway station... everything within walking distance, Prices a bit on the higher side based on the rooms & services but are justified when you need all other facilities within waling distance!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.2 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke

Property: Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Address: Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke RG21 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel is a well established three star hotel in Basingstoke town centre close to Festival Place Shopping. Parking is free - guests need to register their vehicle at reception on arrival. The Red Lion is perfectly located for conferences, meetings, parties and weddings. The restaurant and bar areas front the London Street side which offers easy walking to the retail area. There is lift access to the bedrooms. Rooms are en-suite and have Freeview TV, wi-fi and tea/coffee making facilities. Travel cots and additional beds are available in certain rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Basingstoke
Basingstoke Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing