We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair-ish price, decent enough place - nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
England
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location, fair-ish price, decent enough place - nothing special”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was a brief stopover to enable us to see family. Location was perfect, so we could eat out and meet up, then head back without having to drive. Bed was comfy enough - although we had to ask for extra pillows, shower was fine, usual drinks options with plastic milk but barman was able to offer a jug of fresh milk - so we were very happy. Room was clean enough. Only downside was that our room overlooked the entrance to the hotel, so smoke wafted up when the window was open whenever guests popped out for a ciggy! Shame, as it was so mild, we needed it open all the time - maybe a fan would have helped. Would definitely use again if we were in the area and needed a stopover. Our price didn't include breakfast, but as there are loads of nearby places to eat, we chose elsewhere.

Room Tip: Only downside was that our room overlooked the entrance to the hotel, so smoke wafted up when the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionafew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    130
    99
    52
    33
See reviews for
52
94
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My friend and I travelled to Basingstoke for close friend birthday. The hotel was recommended as it located near the venue.
Unfortunately we won't be going back.
*the room was sooo old and outdated with no air or light. (Few months before I was in castle hotel that was 10 out 10,so old styles can be tasteful).
*the shower only dripped water. We were told because were in the old building (if u know your old rooms are below standard why book people in them?)
*the follow mornings we woke with my friend face swollen from dust inside the room.
* We found a dead muffin, yes a muffin cake which was so hard it could mash a glass window.
No I will not be going back.
Ps the bar staff wasn't bad, good customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks on business and i have to say it was terrible.
The room was cramped with no bath and a dirty shower that wouldnt stay high enough for me to stand under. The tv was hanging off the wall with loose cables hanging down the wall, it was noisey and they stupidly chose to have 'comedy' nights on wednesday and thursday nights till 11. They had clearly forgot people have to work.
However, the worst thing about the hotel is the food. Breakfast doesn't start till 7 and is limited on choice. Evening meals are served between 6 and 8.30 if you eat in the bar and they are awful! You have a choice of steak and . . Erm . . Steak and its cooked terribly with my well done steak still mooing. Room service has a better choice of food but is also cooked with no clue. Every chip i tasted was over cooked and side orders were laughable, 1 slice of garlic bread classed as a side order?? Please. The staff had foul mouths in the bar and the manager was just as bad and upon ordering room service got asked to wait and id have a call back straight away, 30 mins later i was still waiting.
The one redeeming feature of this place is its location, nice and close to town with access to the cinema and weatherspoons in a 2 min walk, which is handy as your going to have to eat somewhere .
In short, do not stay here unless you just want just a room for the night and the occasional coffee in the bar, you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lstcause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenfell, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at The Red Lion Hotel for 4 nights last week. The room was very neat and our view from the room was very nice. The staff at reception made us feel at home from the moment we walked in. The barman Paul was always interested in what we have seen during the day. The people of Basingstoke were very friendly. Russell's brother lives in Basingstoke so we could visit him regulary. We spent the sat in London and could walk from the train station in 10 min. The bus stop for Heathrow Airport were seven min walk from the hotel. if we ever have the chance to go visit our family in Basingstoke we will definately stay in the Red Lion again.
Russell and Elsa Hewitt
Cape Town
South Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here this weekend and really enjoyed our stay!the hotel is really clean and all the staff are very helpful and friendly.Stayed in the Red Lion Suite and it was an amazing room which was a very reasonable price. Would highly reccommend this hotel and hopefully i will get the chance to stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellsbells23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest England UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were visiting for a 60th birthday party at St Mary's college so needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights. This hotel was 10 minutes walk straight up the road so was ideally located. It is true that this hotel is bang smack in the middle of the night life as it on the main drag with all the bars/restaurants. We were fortunate..we had a room at the back overlooking the car park and it was quiet. The room was clean and comfy. It seems that the management may have listened to previous guests as the bed was comfy.....not hard at all.
We ate in the bar on the first evening and the food was really good. Reasonably priced with quite an extensive menu. I was surprised at the choice of food they offered. My family came down and ate with us and they agreed that the food was really nice. The breakfast was also very good....buffet style, hot but not dried up. Service was OK but some young staff were clearly inexperienced and they forgot our request for butter, which was missing from our table.
Evening bar service was excellent...service with a smile and a friendly word, which is not something you see very often when you are a northerner in southern climes (:D)
We would certainly stay there again but I note what other guests have said and I would specifically request a rear facing room in future. I couldn't imagine trying to sleep around midnight with all that cacophony around. The hotel is opposite one of the loudest and busiest bars in the town! Perhaps the management need to invest in upgraded double glazing????

Room Tip: Make ABSOLUTELY SURE that you are guaranteed a room at the back if you want a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altnaharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had two nights here & have been going this particularly weekend for 12 years, it is very centrally located with good parking & surrounded by shopping/clubbing etcetc opportunity. The staff are excellent, nothing to much trouble e.g. go sit I will bring your drinks to your table. Food is good but do not be down late for breakfast & order your fried eggs before you do anything else (they take a while) my wife says the evening meals are good. @ weekends If you like the noisy life it is the place for you, if you don't then you must, must ask for a quite room, the rooms are ok, if you like a shower then you will be treated to a gentle trickle (there was no choice in our room, you may be lucky). the bed/mattress however was a small double & very hard, until you get near the edge when it collapses. This will be the last we go there unless the mattresses are replaced, my wife & I are both over 65 & used to medium conformable, we had very interrupted sleep trying to get comfortable & not fall out of bed, hence ourgrading

Room Tip: if you want a quite room you have to specify when you book. When you walk in for breakfast if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevalier9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
0.6 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#12 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,157 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.2 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke

Property: Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Address: Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke RG21 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel is a well established three star hotel in Basingstoke town centre close to Festival Place Shopping. Parking is free - guests need to register their vehicle at reception on arrival. The Red Lion is perfectly located for conferences, meetings, parties and weddings. The restaurant and bar areas front the London Street side which offers easy walking to the retail area. There is lift access to the bedrooms. Rooms are en-suite and have Freeview TV, wi-fi and tea/coffee making facilities. Travel cots and additional beds are available in certain rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Basingstoke
Basingstoke Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing