We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Basingstoke Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel the staff are very friendly and the food is very nice. the rooms are spacious and clean staff only too happy to help with extra pillows only fault i had was the bed was rock hard and creaky not to my liking. Location a little isolated but I would stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedgy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review on this website.

Thank you also for such positive feedback and I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed nice food. It is pleasing for me to learn that my housekeeping staff were also happy to help with your requests and your room met with your expectations.

Thank you once again for your very positive comments and I note that you will stop with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Basingstoke in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    259
    305
    198
    146
See reviews for
329
187
58
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

we stayed here last thursday and it was brilliant, staff were very nice and helpfull, rooms were lovely, and beds were very comfortable, kids absolutely loved it, and the breakfast was gorgeous, they had everything we could think of and the kids were in there element with there own pots of tea and as much toast and nuttella and full English they could eat, we didnt want to leave, so thankyou hilton for everything highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hodgson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the details of your experience during your recent stay on this website.

I am delighted to read such positive comments and I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It is very pleasing for me to learn that you found my staff nice and helpful, really loved the breakfast and just as importantly your children were happy!

We do value our guests feedback, whether positive or negative as we are then able to monitor and assess the sevice we provide our guests so that we may continue to improve our guests experience.

Thank you once again for rating us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distance future.

Yours sincerely,

Iain Pollock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel was 29 miles from Legoland which was not really an issue for travelling to/from, as only took 35-40 mins via the M3 motorway. Quiet out of town location and only took 5 mins to drive into Basingstoke town centre. Good facilities and clean tidy rooms and lovely breakfast conservatory. Plenty of free parking on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Hilton Basingstoke.

I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us whilst visiting Legoland and I am pleased to learn that you particularly liked breakfast in our Conservatory restaurant and our good facilities with plenty of free parking.

We do value our guests feedback as it is in this way that we can continue to improve our customer service standards and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in April 2014. For the price paid, I expected much more. You could stay in a premier inn, pay much less and receive a much better room. I took advantage of the upgraded room for £12.50 offer after booking and to be honest, i dread to think what the room would have been like if I hadnt. It was small, dingy and stank of cigarette smoke, despite being allocated as a non smoking room. The bed was very hard, springs could easily be felt, and although the breakfast was tasty, the buffet was no where near large enough for the amount of people who needed feeding. Most of the food trays were empty, not really acceptable when we came down at 8:45, especially as its open til 10am. The features of an upgraded room also included robes, slippers and free wifi. We received one distinctly musty robe and a pair of slippers, despite being a room for 2. Also, we received a card at reception for 1 hrs free wifi, which turned out to be inaccessible. Whilst the lounge bar and restaurant make the hotel look very nice, the rooms do not, and give the distinct impression of a refurbished travelodge from the 70's. Will not be staying again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed to learn that your room was below the standard expected and I am sorry if the previous guest had smoked in a clearly designated non-smoking room and I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused. My Head Housekeeper has noted your comments regarding set up for one of the robe and slippers which she will address and action with her team and wishes to be associated with my apologies.

Your comments concerning replenishing of food trays are noted and at busy periods there may be a crossover period when new trays are being set up in the kitchen for replacement, as food is available up until 10.00a.m. Please do not hesitate to ask any of our service staff at the time for assistance as they are there to help.

Free WiFi is available in the lounge/lobby area only and we are not aware of any problems with BT Openzone. The reception team are available in the lounge and will be pleased to advise if you are having difficulties with any wifi connections.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and I reiterate my apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion. I do hope you will give us another try so that we may welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Iain Pollock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

a wonderfully relaxing and comfortable hotel. food really good and staff very helpful and friendly. The childrens play area was very welcome. A good location near to many places of interest. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friendls.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank X-6sfw8 D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and found my staff helpful and friendly and that the childrens playroom was really appreciated.

I am so glad that the hotel location was good for you and to know that we will definitely come again. Thank you also for your personal recommendation,

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hilton Basingstoke, in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boncath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Front of house were very friendly and helpful but that was the only thing that stopped me from giving this a 'POOR' rating! The restaurant doesn't open til 6.30pm, which for young children is far too late, especially when they've been a LEGOLAND all day! So we had room service which wasn't very nice at all. My husband had a curry which was £16 and he's convinced it was one from Tescos it certainly looked like it! My food and our sons food was very poor too!
We stayed in a premier inn in bagshot the night before and wish that we had stayed there for a second night instead of staying in this hotel!
Would NOT recommend and shall not be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review on this website.

i am pleased to learn that my reception team were very friendly and helpful but disappointed to note your further comments wirh regard to the restaurant opening times and food quality.

Whilst the restaurant does not open until 6.30 we do have our lounge menu available all day up until 11.00 p.m. which includes childrens menus and would also include the Legoland discount if are booked on the inclusive package. All our food is freshly cooked to order however your comments are noted and have been forwarded to my Head Chef for his information and attention.

Please always let us know if there is any aspect of your stay that falls short of your expectations, which will then give us the opportunity to put matters right before checking out of the hotel and I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for your very valued feedback, as is in this way that we can continue to improve our customer service standards and I do hope that we can welcome you back at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Iain Pollock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel staff was excellent. The hotel is a bit old and you can tell once you leave the renovated lobby/lounge area. Overall I was satisfied with the stay for business travel. I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for modern amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Khary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on this website.

I am pleased to learn that you used the hotel for business travel and found my staff were excellent. Your positive feedback in this regard is appreciated.

I am so glad that the hotel suited your purposes on this occasion and I do hope that you will visit us once again when you are next in the Basingstoke area.

Yours sincerely,

Iain Pollock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
3.9 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Basingstoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Basingstoke Hotel

Property: The Basingstoke Hotel
Address: Black Dam Old Common Road, Basingstoke RG21 3PR, England (Formerly Hilton Basingstoke)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Basingstoke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located 2 miles from Basingstoke station & 35 from Heathrow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Basingstoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Basingstoke Hotel Basingstoke
Hilton International Basingstoke
Basingstoke Hilton International
The Basingstoke Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing