We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Outdated, Unreasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Basingstoke Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Crawshaw Booth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Outdated, Unreasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stopped here on a "special corporate rate" of over £160 per night during the Airshow.

On arrival, the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful.

I was disappointed with my hot, dated no ac, fusty smelly room with a flashing light which wasn't repaired until two days later (for which staff apologised).

To the hilarity of my colleagues, my white wine and soda was served in a pint glass - not really what you'd expect in a Hilton.

Breakfast was lovely, really enjoyable with lots of choice - perfect.

The gym is a joke and should not be advertised a facility for a hotel this size, I've seen larger ones in people's garages.

I couldn't sleep at all in my hot, uncomfortable bed as it was noisy beyond belief. After night one, I re-arranged all my meetings for days 3 and four and checked out after a second sleepless night explaining that I really couldn't countenance a further night. No refund was available due to the "special rate". Luckily my expenses picked up the tab but I was disgusted with this response.

Be assured I will never stay here, ever again and I will be asking our Travel people to take this off the list.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to learn my reception staff were very helpful.

Your booking was on a non-refundable pre-paid special corporate rate, which was discounted and subject to availability when higher rates operate during Farnborough Air Show Week. The terms and conditions are confirmed on the booking.

Hilton Basingstoke is a provincial hotel and we do not have air conditioning. We can only provide electric fans to assist with cooling bedrooms, however with the continuous very high termpatures currently being experienced it is very difficult to achieve an optimum ambient temperature.

My Food & Beverage Manager will address the training issues with regard to the bar service and wishes to be associated with my apologies for this lapse in our service standards.

Due to space restrictions our gymnasium is a LivingWell unmanned gym.

I am delighted that you specifically enjoyed the Hilton Breakfast with lots of choice and found
it "perfect".

We do appreciate your feedback as it is in this way that we can continue to improve our customer service standards and I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again, so that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    255
    303
    196
    144
See reviews for
328
181
57
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Very shocked, the hotel needs a complete refurbishment. Arrived for a two night stay for my daughters birthday and to attrnd Bsb at Thruxton. The welcome was good we were greeted well and given one our rooms early to put our luggage in. When returning to the hotel early that evening to book into our second room things changed. Kept waiting a long time at reception, the lounge and bar looked terrible full of dirty glasses and dishes no clear tables. Walking to our room was the same old food and glasses left everywhere and we were met by a vicious and unruly dog of whom the owner had no control, very frightening. Our room was boiling hot, it smelt of fish all weekend, bathroom needed replacing dirty grout cracked dirty floors and extremely uncomfortable beds. One fan and a window that didnt open , no towels on second day three requests and two hours later we got some. So so dissapointing. We would never stay again i feel sorry for the staff they obviously are out of their depth. Really poor

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfffddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on the Trip Advisor website.

I am concerned to learn of your disappointment regarding your stay at Hilton Basingstoke which was satisfactory up until your return in the evening and I am very sorry for the issues that were encountered from then on.

Firstly I must apologise for the uncontrollable dog owned by a guest which clearly was unacceptable. Whilst Hilton Basingstoke is a dog friendly hotel, all guests have to sign the Pet Policy when making payment for their pets stay which states explicitly that all dogs must be kept under control and it is the owners responsibility to ensure their pet does not cause a nuisance whilst in the hotel.

The hotel does not have air conditioning and we can only provide electric fans to assist with cooling bedrooms, however with the continuous very high temperatures currently experienced it is very difficult to achieve an optimum ambient temperature and I am sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Due to Health and Safety Regulations, all bedroom sliding windows have to be fitted with restrictors to prevent windows opening more than six inches. This is for the esafety and security of all our guests.

The service issues and training will be addressed and actioned with immediate effect by my Food & Beverage Manager who wishes to be associated with my apologies.

As the new Hotel Manager, I am committed to ensuring all the team are customer focused going forward and if you would like provide your details, I will follow up this matter personally.

Thank you once again for your very valued feedback, as it is in this way that we can assess and monitor the standard of service we are providing our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the hottest days of the year and no air conditioning in bedrooms. A large fan kept me awake all night. A leaking sink in the bathroom a shower that lacked power. Hair dryer was old and kept turning off.

The corridors of the hotel resembled those on the Shining - endless!

The food in the bar was expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have aircon so in summer, I'm not sure there is a good room. Very disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on this website.

The hotel does not have air conditioning and we can only provide electric fans to assist with cooling the bedrooms however due to the continuous unusually high temperatures recently experienced, it is difficult to achieve an optimum ambient temperature and I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

I do apologise for the maintenance issues and my Maintenance Manager has addressed and actioned this matter and wishes to be associated with my apologies.

Thank you once again for your very valued feedback, as it is in this way that we can continue to improve our customer service standards and I do hope that we can welcome you back at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

a little way out of town but a short taxi drive. no real options for food around so ate in the restaurant which was a little pricey so we went for 3 course for £21 which was worth it. room had no air con so we had fans. I struggled to sleep and that may have been partially down to the noise but at least we had something. everything was clean and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank tink28685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Subject: Your stay at Hilton Basingstoke, United Kingdom

Dear Samantha Thomson:

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Hilton Basingstoke on our on-line guest questionnaire to which I have already responded and also on Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for such positive feedback and I am delighted to learn that you were very pleased with your 3 course meal and that your waiter was helpful and friendly.

The hotel does not have air conditioning and we can only provide electric fans to assist with cooling bedrooms, however with the continuous very high temperatures we are currently experiencing, it is difficult to achieve an optimum ambient temperature.

I am pleased to learn that you found everything was clean and my staff were very friendly, it is pleasing for me to know that customer service standards are being maintained and thank you for your comments.

Ms.Thomson, I do hope that we can welcome you back to Hilton Basingstoke in the not too distant future

Yours Sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Hilton Basingstoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatetiger66
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a twin room 127 for me and my cousin while attending a family funeral. I usually stay in Travelodge but thought the Hilton would be a treat and got a reasonable price from laterooms.com for the one night stay.
Easy to find and plenty of room in the carpark. Checking in was easy and staff were friendly. Entering the room I was slightly disappointed. No wow factor and no different from a cheaper Travelodge. The room was clean and tidy complete with bathroom miniatures and tea & coffee.
We didn't use the bar restaurant lounge area all we wanted was a good nights sleep. The curtains were great dark and blocked out the light. The beds were uncomfortable and the fan was left on all night as we were too hot. We both did not sleep very well. The bathroom was nicely tiled and shower hot and powerful. We did not have breakfast and checking out was easy. Wish I'd saved £20 and gone to Travelodge. Will not use a gain

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chocolatetiger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on th Trip Advisor website.

Thank you also for such positive comments which are appreciated. I am pleased to learn that your room facilities were good however your comments are noted regarding hardness of beds and room temperature.

The hotel does not have air conditioning and can only provide electric cooling fans to assist with cooling the bedroom, however with the continuous and very high temperatures we are currently experiencing it is dificult to achieve an optimum ambient temperature and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

I am glad that you found my staff were friendly and check in and check out was satisfactory.

We value our guests feedback, as it is in this way that we can continue to improve our customer service standards and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel came as a package deal with our LEGOLAND trip. I have to say, we expected a little bit more to come with the Hilton name.
There was nothing wrong with the hotel itself. It just seemed a little dated in places.

We were greeted and checked in promptly and kids were given colouring packs - a nice touch.
Our room had quite a funny smell upon arrival & throughout our stay. We figured the staff were likely aware of this as a fan and air freshener were present. It wasn't a major issue though so we didn't feel the need to complain.

The bar area was nice. Open area with good seating. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night. A large glass conservatory area at the rear of the hotel, with doors opening to the garden. It was lovely. The menu was varied and reasonably priced. Our waiter, Jadeep, was truly excellent. He couldn't of done enough for us. His professionalism was admirable. Looked after the kids well, with colouring etc. Our meal was very nice. No complaints from anyone. Compliments to the chef.

Breakfast each morning was excellent also. Great spread of hot & cold foods, juices, pastries etc. Lots of staff on taking care of the tables and guests. Couldn't of asked for any better to be honest. A great start to each morning.

All in, a great stay. The hotel is around 30 mins drive to LEGOLAND. There isn't much nearby, mostly motorway. I was unsuccessful in finding a local convenience store. There is a service station up the motorway around 5/10 mins away though. We drove car to the Basingstoke train station and spent a day in London also. Train goes direct to Waterloo station which is handy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank average_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you also for your very positive feedback regarding your Legoland stay which is very much appreciated.

The hotel does not have air conditioning and we can only provide electric cooling fans to assist with cooling bedrooms, however during the continuous and unusually very high temperatures currently experienced, it is difficult to obtain an optimum ambient temperature.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel restaurant and thank you for your very kind comments concerning your waiter Jaideep and I am delighted that he looked after your children well. We do like our younger guests to enjoy their experience of Hilton as they may well be Hilton customers of the cuture. Thank you also for your compliments tot he Chef. Comments such as yours provide great motivation for the team and please be assured, they will be passed on to them.

The Hilton Breakfast is always a firm favourite and a good start to the day and I am pleased to learn that you found this to be the case.

It is a pleasure for myself and the team to know that you had a great stay and I do hope that we can welcome you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

OK, firstly this hotel was in a good location. Close to motorways and shops. Traffic noise was very minimal. My room was on the top floor and had large opening windows, which is very useful as there is NO air con. Out stay was during the hot weekend of the 26th July and arrived to find the window open,curtain closed and a fan blowing in the room, but this made little difference to the heat in the room.
The mattress was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs.
The bathroom was very clean, lovely toiletries and clean towels and flannels.
The room area was a decent size,we had a double, and clean.
The flooring along the hallways was very squeaky and no matter how quiet you tried to be, you failed.
I found the restaurant a little overpriced , £16:00 for a burger and chips!
However , breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and replenished often.
Staff we saw , only 2, were friendly and helpful.
Would I stay here again , probably not, I'd go for the Holiday inn.
In summary, outdated and in need of a massive refurb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management16, General Manager at The Basingstoke Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you also for your positive feedback with regard to location of the hotel, size and cleanliness of room and I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Hilton Breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.

However we note your negative comments regarding, mattress, corridor floors and meal pricing
and your review is helpful in this regard, when feedback is reviewed by Hilton.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future and do hope that you will re-consider using the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Stergos Karasavvas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
3.9 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Basingstoke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Basingstoke Hotel

Property: The Basingstoke Hotel
Address: Black Dam Old Common Road, Basingstoke RG21 3PR, England (Formerly Hilton Basingstoke)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Basingstoke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located 2 miles from Basingstoke station & 35 from Heathrow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Basingstoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Basingstoke Hotel Basingstoke
Hilton International Basingstoke
Basingstoke Hilton International
The Basingstoke Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing