We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
LANCASHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great base for sightseeing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here Thursday to Monday with a coach tour. Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful, food excellent and plentiful. I only have two complaints - the bar prices are way over priced, if you're staying here be aware there is a co-op shop at the garage right next door where you can buy your drinks much cheaper and drink them in your room! Also the hotel charges for WiFi £5 per hour!!! I have never been in a hotel where WiFi wasn't free for hotel guests, even Milestones Victorian Living Museum, just down the road, offered free WiFi and it hadn't even been invented in Victorian times! I doubt Holiday Inn charge their guests for WiFi in America why do you think it's OK to charge in England?? Shame on you!

Room Tip: We had room 226 which was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKELAMALU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Akelamalu
Thank you very much for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Basingstoke. Our team really appreciate your positive comments. However, we were sorry to hear you were upset by the cost of WiFi. This is offered as complimentary to IHG Reward members - in the guestrooms and in the public areas, for superfast conection there is a charge. You are most welcome to join IHG Rewards then you will be able to enjoy our WiFi when you next stay at Holiday Inn.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    160
    86
    25
    13
See reviews for
52
101
19
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Without question the nicest Holiday Inn we have ever stayed in. Dinner was also perfect.The steaks were very tender and cooked to perfection. Fair proximity to Winchester. But at $300.00 Canadian per night it was far too expensive for a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdtravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us your positive comments, we appreciate your feedback.
Our team members will be happy to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The accommodation was fine and everyone was polite, but the service in the restaurant was somewhat chaotic. There was no system so there were long waits for service and at one meal a couple was served their main course before their starters. The food was good when it arrived but it was sometimes a long time coming and more than once was the wrong order.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mike T

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Basingstoke for your stay. Your feedback is most welcome and your comments will be passed on to the relevant department. Thank you also for the positive comments regarding the food, accommodation and our polite staff.

Should you require accommodation in this area in the future you can be sure of a warm welcome at Holiday Inn Basingstoke

Regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was not to impressed when I pulled into the car park but once inside the hotel it was really nice, hotel staff were helpfull and friendly, I stayed in the area as I was working in Basingstoke on Saturday, the rooms were very well kitted out with everything you would expect, shower was good, hotel was quiet at night which i liked. I are in the restaurant and had a burger and chips, food was really good, also are breakfast in the restaurant on the Sat morning which was also goog, had no issues with the stay and would reccomend and would book there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRBL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear SRBL17,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Basingstoke.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future should you be in the area
Regards
David Pickering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

the staff are rude! not very helpful! no phone signal in any room! which makes me think they have some sort of signal block so that you have to buy there services and at £16 for a day of wifi they can sling it!!! i ask the poorly spoken woman behind the front desk if i could connect my ps3 to the tv and she rudely said no you can not as if i asked her to cut her arm off DO NOT STAY HERE!!! there is a travelodge round the corner which is half the price and free wifi and you can make a phone call from your room and not have to walk outside just to sat goodnight to your loved ones!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcdavies7870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear marcdavies7870,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Basingstoke.
I regret that we fell below your expectations with regard to Wi-fi provision and mobile telephone signal. I apologise sincerely for your overall disappointment in your stay, particularly in relation to you leaving the hotel feeling that the hotel team were unhelpful.
Please be assured that your feedback has been reviewed and discussed the appropriate departments for their information and action. .
Regards
David Pickering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed the weekend of 31 May 2014 and may have got a better rate than some of the other guests, based on their comments, so we were fairly satisfied that we got value for money. Not the most attractive of hotels from the outside but the inside (other than the down-market looking hallway) was perfectly acceptable. The rooms were comfortable and the staff attentive, though check in was incredibly slow even though there was no queue (system problem apparently).

I would have given 4 stars but for the long wait at check in and the excessive internet connection charges (should be free at upwards of £60/room plus £9.50/head for breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKOK1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear PKOK1888,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed there over the weekend 31st May and 1st June Room was quite a nice size although not sure about the executive tag. Bed was comfortable with nice bedding. Bathroom was a nice size but the tap dripped. Air conditioning did not work
Breakfast was very good with a nice selection form fresh fruit to pastries or full english and plenty of nice tea and coffee.
Very surprised they charged extra for WiFi which you can get for nothing in most local pubs or cafes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rturner2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear rturner2102,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our comfortable beds and our breakfast selection. However, it is a regret that we have fallen short to some of your expectations regarding the bathroom amenities and air conditioning. I have noted your comments and all of them are taken into serious account towards improving our facility.

As for the cost of our WiFi service, it is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I have also noted this point for future reference.

I hope you give us another chance to host you again and give you the best hotel experience that we could offer.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
0.7 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#12 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
852 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Basingstoke
Travelodge Basingstoke
#6 of 13 in Basingstoke
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 13 in Basingstoke
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basingstoke

Property: Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Address: Grove Road, Basingstoke RG21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Basingstoke is a modern hotel boasting air-conditioned bedrooms of which 4 are accessible. Located within easy access of the M3, M4, Basingstoke Town and Festival Place Shopping Centre, the Holiday Inn is ideal for both Business travellers and Leisure visitors. Business travellers will find the Holiday Inn Basingstoke located close to the business parks of Viables, Daneshill, and Chineham. ( Motorola, Sony, Huawei). We offer free car parking. Leisure visitors can find easy access to attractions in all directions. To the East are Legoland, Windsor, Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse. To the South are Jane Austen House, Winchester and Marwell Zoo. To the West is Newbury Racecourse and Stonehenge. In Basingstoke are the Anvil and Haymarket theatres and the aquadrome leisure complex to which we have complimentary passes. The Bar has a relaxing atmosphere in the evening especially after dining in the Restaurant which offers dishes from around the world. Our lounge provides the ideal location for informal daytime meetings. The Academy Conference and Training Centre has 6 air-conditioned suites with Wireless internet access the rooms can accommodate from 2-140 delegates. The hotel also offers a specialist events organiser to plan your function with a personalised touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basingstoke Hotel Basingstoke
Basingstoke Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing