We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for businesss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here several times on business. The hotel is quite comfortable although some of the rooms are being refurbished at the moment. The new ones are great - the old ones not so it is a bit of pot luck. There is no gym but you can run in the Festival Park. Rooms have air conditioning - a rarity in Basingstoke. Breakfast is good standard fare. I have not used the bar or had dinner but both looked good to me. It is an easy walk into the centre of Basingstoke which is good at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Book the executive room if you want to be sure that you get a refurbished room. Breakfast is £10 if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sam S
Thank you for the comments you left regarding your recent stay with us, we do appreciate your feedback. Maybe on your next visit to us you will get to try our restaurant and bar.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here last Saturday night for a Hen party for my niece. Ten of us met for lunch in the dining room, which is not normally open at that time (normally served in the bar) but as we had also booked a disco & buffet for the evening, they let us use the dining room. Lunch was very nice and the staff very pleasant, we felt very relaxed and were not rushed - the chef even came out to see how we were doing. Coffee after lunch was a bit expensive, but it was Starbucks! Shared a twin room on the ground floor, which was spacious, clean and well decorated, with nice beds and duvets. Thank goodness the room had air-con, as it had been 29C during the day.
The evening do was well organised and the buffet food was very good. All the staff were excellent and helpful, and a good time was had by all.
Breakfast was self-service, and again, of a very good quality with lots of choice.
We had a very good stay and would recommend, especially if you are having a small (50 people) party, which was very well organised by Michelle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blue1966-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Blue1966-17
Thank you for the most welcome feedback you left regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Basingstoke. We were happy to hear the you all enjoyed the hen party and that everything regarding your stay was to your satisfaction.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I travel a great deal, and try to keep up to date with emails and messages between meetings. One of the things I enjoy is stopping for a coffee in an hotel or coffee bar to do this There is only one major frustration, why do some large hotel chains insist on charging a ridiculous fee for use of WiFi. I needed access for 20 minutes the cheapest rate was £ 10 for four hours access in the Holiday Inn Basingstoke. Compare this to when I was in Germany a few months ago, my hotel charged 14 euros for the week for super fast access.
I will just not bother in futre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthonys41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the comments you left regarding your recent visit to Holiday Inn Basingstoke. Standard WiFi is offered as complimentary to our IHG Reward Members. It is free to join, just ask at any Holiday Inn Hotel or you can join on line.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here Thursday to Monday with a coach tour. Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful, food excellent and plentiful. I only have two complaints - the bar prices are way over priced, if you're staying here be aware there is a co-op shop at the garage right next door where you can buy your drinks much cheaper and drink them in your room! Also the hotel charges for WiFi £5 per hour!!! I have never been in a hotel where WiFi wasn't free for hotel guests, even Milestones Victorian Living Museum, just down the road, offered free WiFi and it hadn't even been invented in Victorian times! I doubt Holiday Inn charge their guests for WiFi in America why do you think it's OK to charge in England?? Shame on you!

Room Tip: We had room 226 which was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AKELAMALU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Akelamalu
Thank you very much for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Basingstoke. Our team really appreciate your positive comments. However, we were sorry to hear you were upset by the cost of WiFi. This is offered as complimentary to IHG Reward members - in the guestrooms and in the public areas, for superfast conection there is a charge. You are most welcome to join IHG Rewards then you will be able to enjoy our WiFi when you next stay at Holiday Inn.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Without question the nicest Holiday Inn we have ever stayed in. Dinner was also perfect.The steaks were very tender and cooked to perfection. Fair proximity to Winchester. But at $300.00 Canadian per night it was far too expensive for a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdtravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for leaving us your positive comments, we appreciate your feedback.
Our team members will be happy to read your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The accommodation was fine and everyone was polite, but the service in the restaurant was somewhat chaotic. There was no system so there were long waits for service and at one meal a couple was served their main course before their starters. The food was good when it arrived but it was sometimes a long time coming and more than once was the wrong order.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mike T

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Basingstoke for your stay. Your feedback is most welcome and your comments will be passed on to the relevant department. Thank you also for the positive comments regarding the food, accommodation and our polite staff.

Should you require accommodation in this area in the future you can be sure of a warm welcome at Holiday Inn Basingstoke

Regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was not to impressed when I pulled into the car park but once inside the hotel it was really nice, hotel staff were helpfull and friendly, I stayed in the area as I was working in Basingstoke on Saturday, the rooms were very well kitted out with everything you would expect, shower was good, hotel was quiet at night which i liked. I are in the restaurant and had a burger and chips, food was really good, also are breakfast in the restaurant on the Sat morning which was also goog, had no issues with the stay and would reccomend and would book there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRBL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin55, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SRBL17,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Basingstoke.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future should you be in the area
Regards
David Pickering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
2.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#10 of 13 in Basingstoke
883 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 13 in Basingstoke
405 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Basingstoke
Travelodge Basingstoke
#6 of 13 in Basingstoke
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basingstoke

Address: Grove Road, Basingstoke RG21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Basingstoke is a modern hotel boasting air-conditioned bedrooms of which 4 are accessible. Located within easy access of the M3, M4, Basingstoke Town and Festival Place Shopping Centre, the Holiday Inn is ideal for both Business travellers and Leisure visitors. Business travellers will find the Holiday Inn Basingstoke located close to the business parks of Viables, Daneshill, and Chineham. ( Motorola, Sony, Huawei). We offer free car parking. Leisure visitors can find easy access to attractions in all directions. To the East are Legoland, Windsor, Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse. To the South are Jane Austen House, Winchester and Marwell Zoo. To the West is Newbury Racecourse and Stonehenge. In Basingstoke are the Anvil and Haymarket theatres and the aquadrome leisure complex to which we have complimentary passes. The Bar has a relaxing atmosphere in the evening especially after dining in the Restaurant which offers dishes from around the world. Our lounge provides the ideal location for informal daytime meetings. The Academy Conference and Training Centre has 6 air-conditioned suites with Wireless internet access the rooms can accommodate from 2-140 delegates. The hotel also offers a specialist events organiser to plan your function with a personalised touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basingstoke Hotel Basingstoke
Basingstoke Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing