We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it used to be following re-fit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Basingstoke
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than it used to be following re-fit”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here about a year ago and the place was disgusting. I heard it had had a re-fit so decided to give it another chance. The re-fit is definitely an improvement, the staff are really friendly and polite. So for basic cost I dont think you can go wrong and I would certainly stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    74
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
57
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had to stay here as everywhere else was full in the area, I didn't have especially high hopes but it was clean and the staff very helpful. It fits the bill as a place to sleep but I probably wouldn't choose to stay if other options were available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Travel Lodge is what it is, a cheaper basic hotel to sleep in, however having stayed at Basingstoke I was very surprised, the newer refurbished rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. More than that though the receptionist, Ricky, was extremely helpful, I'd paid for WiFi but forgotten the code, he set it all up for me. He was also polite, friendly and very funny - excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here as a family after visiting Milestones museum. Room was ready on arrival. Room was a good size and clean. Main bed was extremely comfortable. The only complaint with the room was the lack of any air to cool it down after a hot day. No air conditioning and not being able to fully open the window. Two adults and two children in one room after a hot day is not pleasant.
Clean and good size bathroom.
The Harvester right next to the hotel was an added bonus.
Our stay was excellent value and would stay here again, but not in the Summer due to the heat in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Erth Praze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had to book a hotel at relatively short notice due to making the decision to go the evening before a funeral we were attending in the Woking area.
In the main due to our personal heavy work schedule for the overall week, therefore taking opportunity to only make one driven journey each day as opposed to a 300 mile round trip + funeral in one day!
We were going to arrive around midnight and after booking the Travelodge it was impressive that the day manager actually phoned to make sure all was well and even told us our room number!
After the journey up we actually arrived at 23.30hrs and found good parking and a well lit tidy forecourt.
On entering the reception we were greeted by a very cheerful night manager on the desk, who promptly said our names and handed our keys, a good description of how to get to our room, wishing us a pleasant stay and a good nights sleep!
He was very proud to mention that the whole place had just been refurbished and he was sure we'd love our room!
We walked to our room via a very clean staircase & corridor.
The room was excellent, nice décor, fresh in look.
Nice desk!, good Samsung TV, nice wash room and no complaints there!
Coffee & tea making facilities with extra coffee etc available at reception.
I have to say of all the places I have stayed this year only one bed for comfort and sleep beats this one (you'll need to look at my other reviews to see which one!!) A good nights sleep was had.

If I were to be very picky, the only fault (and a very very small one too!) was the tap on the washbasin water pressure was only half what it should be.
However, the shower was superb!..... Maybe the tap valves needed opening a bit!!

Anyway, great place! Nice room, friendly staff, and a decent location....

Oh and there's a 24hr service station across the road, with excellent food, coffee, etc etc. and of course fuel!

Room Tip: As this hotel has been recently refurbished it has to be said it really is on the mark. Room wise I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a very unusual stay for reasons beyond anyone's control, but the service received from Sharon and Steve was exceptional. They helped ensure that what was a bad situation was rescued so we could continue with and enjoy our family weekend away.

In short, our car's fuel tank was ruptured by debris on the motorway, which we didn't realise until arrival at the Travelodge Basingstoke. Having parked in their car park we realised that diesel was steadily trickling out. As well as the car being unsafe, it became clear this was a serious enough fuel spillage for the fire brigade to want to attend.

We got our young kids to the room and alerted staff.

Rather than - as some might have - begrudging the extra hassle for them, Sharon and Steve were helpfulness and professionalism personified. They rightly focussed at first on ensuring safety for their guests so fetched sand and covered the worst of the growing fuel spillage.

Once the fire brigade were on their way with the equipment needed to sort out the spillage in full, Sharon and Steve provided a great deal of very helpful information to us including a (hand-written) list of all local hire car companies with directions to the nearest one and also information on taxis and local fast food options.

Sharon was also able to take our car key to enable collection by the insurance company recovery truck, which eventually happened at 4am! (with us thankfully tucked up in bed).

We were all not merely grateful but highly impressed with the attitude shown, because we really needed help at that point as the situation was stressful and Sharon and Steve really delivered.

It seemed at one point as though we were not going to be able to enjoy our much needed family weekend of relaxation (and have kids let down with their promised trip to Longleat), but thanks in no small part to the efforts of these guys we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank DN494a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We used this hotel literally just for a bed during late night traveling. It did have a bed and not much else. It was cheap, but then so is a Premier Inn and they do it so much better. This hotel was advertised as recently refurbished and happened to be a convenient location, I'd hate to think what it was like before. It was clean and served its purpose but dont expect anything else

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank livart_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
359 reviews
6.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Basingstoke

Property: Travelodge Basingstoke
Address: Winchester Road, Basingstoke RG22 6HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Basingstoke 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Basingstoke Hotel Basingstoke
Basingstoke Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Basingstoke
Basingstoke Travelodge
Travelodge Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing