We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel Basingstoke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

A good £7 taxi ride from the centre of town means it is not well situated for visitors to Basingstoke. That said if you are unfortunate enough to visit Basingstoke then the location of the hotel will be the least of your problems.

The restaurant is vastly overpriced, as is the bar. The food quality is not great.

The staff are attentive and pleasant and I feel they deserve a better proposition than the Apollo.

If you want a swim try your bath - it is bigger than the pool. The fitness centre is small and overcrowded.

Room Tip: Well away from the lifts is a must - there are a lot of business travelers here and the noise will k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leesons2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
The town as we describe is accessible we do not state the cost and that is down to a third party pricing policy. I do believe the description of the bath being bigger than the swimming pool is totally incorrect and comments like this are not very helpful and serve no purpose. Whilst we accept the comments of the food as being sensible and helpful we at all times try to aspire to high standards. We obviously did not meet yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    227
    215
    107
    55
See reviews for
138
209
23
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Nice reception area with pleasant staff. Double room on third floor? Adequate for one person, very 1980's decor not particularly clean. Bathroom is tiny and grubby....not pleasant at all. Room service was quick and main course was quite good, not very warm for chicken with sauté potates but pleasant taste. Couldn't eat dessert as never got a spoon or spare fork. Phoned down for a pen and an iron. Came quickly which was good. Service is ok, pleasant safe but cold food, no cutlery and grubby pot dated rooms let this hotel down. If you are expecting a four star hotel don't stay at the Apollo, there are better value, much nicer 3 star hotels in this area.
I stay in ths area every week, will I come back here? Never!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thebyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
The Bedrooms were all refurbished in 2001 when the complete Hotel was upgraded to a 4* Hotel.

I am sorry that you have reason to complain and at the time we did not charge for the items you had mentioned. We believe that we put the issues right at the time. We pride ourselves on offering a fine hotel and good services and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not come up to your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

When I arrived at this hotel I expected the usual out of town hotel from a chain, but that wasn't what I got, I was pleasantly surprised. A lovely pool, and a gymn, pleasant staff, clean well decorated rooms, quality fittings. Whilst the location is on a round about near a large housing estate when you are in the hotel it still retains a lovely countryside feel all of the rooms to the rear of the hotel look out over a grassed area where rabbits were feeding. The high bracken hedge completely obscures any views of the surrounding houses.
I would recommend this hotel to tourists and business people alike, and would certainly return there myself

Room Tip: I would choose a room to the rear of the hotel which looks out over the nice grassy grounds.+
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enigma_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I was only staying for a night, as I was attending at wedding. The receptionist was abrupt and grumpy which I put down to me arriving at 2pm when there was a change over of staff. However all the other wedding guests had received the same treatment. The room was adequate for one person staying for a night. The best part was the power shower that was hot and powerful. This was lovely in the morning. I was told that breakfast did not open until 8am on Sunday, however when I went down at 8am it was packed with families and screaming children. There must have been a coach party who were having their breakfast before going onwards, but it meant I had the most unrelaxing breakfast with none of the staff being able to help to find a cup of tea. Typically once I had finished my breakfast an was leaving the restaurant had cleared. If the restaurant manager had been at his reception explaining that I should wait and return in 10 minutes, instead of running around with refills of food, then I would have been happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from families with small children and babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights when attending a conference at the Ark. The overall impression is that the staff don't care about the clients or the state of the hotel.
Checking in was fine, the room was on the 3rd floor - a very small double room with ok bathroom. The room and bathroom were not properly clean and colleagues had to ask for their rooms to be cleaned during the stay.
The room suffered from a lot of noise audible from both the corridor and adjacent rooms.
The evening food was the worst part. I ate their 3 nights as the food was included in the price. The first night was a buffett of chicken or a stir-fry. The food was cool (as in not warm) and tasteless. Since a lot of people stayed at the hotel the food ran out. This continued during the week with the food being not warm and poor quality. I complained to the restuarant manager who offered a bottle of wine but overall the impression I got was that the quality of food in the resturant was well known although only by the guests who generally ate somewhere else.

I used the gym which was quiet small (people were queueing to us the equipment) and had no air conditioning.
The staff were generally unaffected by any negative feedback, just nodding to comments but not offering any solutions.

This is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Percombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
I have noted your comments and my apologies if we did not get it right this time. We always listen to our customer feed back and take all comments very seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

comfortable beds, nice to be able to use the swimming pool, generally waited too long to get coffee at breakfast and needed to seek it out twice in four days, bar food better than evening 'help yourself' selection. Food lovely in al a carte restaurant but not especially welcoming or flexible on the evening we tried it so didn't go back. Very convenient hotel when using The (excellent) Ark Conference venue a short drive away.

Room Tip: rooms warm, switch towel rail off and open the window, on a busy roundabout so you will then hear ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family0fthree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

When I booked the Apollo for my mother (mother of the Bride) 14th & 15th September 2012, I asked for a family room and informed the hotel the number of adults and children staying. The very helpful reception lady told me this would not be a problem and that the hotel was able to cater for our needs.
On my return from my honeymoon - Thank fully at a very beatiful hotel elsewhere - My mother told me of her stay at the Apollo and I was horrified.
The room she stayed in should have catered for 2 children and 2 adults but to call what they stayed in a family room was laughable! Everyone staying in the room had to get into bed by climbing in at the bottom owing to the fact that they had wedged so many beds in that there was less than a 2 inch gap between them and the room itself was so small that the distance between the foot of the beds and the opposit wall couldnt have been more that 4 foot and there were desks there!!! The phone didnt work in the room and there were no extra pillows. Given the hotel knew my diabetic niece was staying I was just thank full that my parents had mobile phone so they could have called an ambulance for her if needed!!
Thr first morning of their stay, the hotel tried to charge for breakfast that was already included in the booking....this was the morning of the wedding when no more stress was needed, and on departure they were overcharged.
I contacted the hotel and after several emails I was told that they would refund the money they had over charged us by "as a gesture of good will". Anyone who thinks returning money that they had taken fraudulanty is a gesture of good will must have very low standards. Suffice to say, we were appalled at the overall standard of the hotel and the aftercare received when we raised these isses with the manager.
This hotel may be fine for the odd night for business travel but I certainly wouldnt recomend them for anything else - and given the experience we had I would steer clear of them for wedding related things too!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere other than the Apollo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for posting your comments. I refer to our exchange of E mails regarding this issue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
5.1 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Basingstoke

Property: Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Address: Aldermaston Road, Basingstoke RG24 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Basingstoke 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic Apollo Hotel is ideally positioned just 1 mile from Junction 6 off the M3. With many local attractions and the numerous Business Parks in the area the Apollo Hotel Basingstoke is the perfect location for business or leisure. The Hotel consists of 125 superb non smoking bedrooms which include luxury suites and executive rooms all equipped with Free WiFi high speed internet access, which combined with a large Conference Centre and Health Club makes the Apollo one of the best equipped hotels in Basingstoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Apollo Hotel Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basingstoke Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing