We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$241
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audleys Wood Hotel(Basingstoke)
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Basingstoke(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$78
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
202
259
265
145
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
259
265
145
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsambassador roomvespers restaurantbuffet stylecourse mealtea coffeeplenty of parkingleisure facilitiesboth nightsfood was lovelystayed here for one nightsandwichesfull englishtown centrebrasserieweddingvenuedisco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recently stayed hear for 2 nights with my partner and our 2 children, when we got to see our room, we were all pleasantly surprised, it was clean and tidy, we had an iron, hairdryer and the TV was clear and bright. We had a good internet connection from the free WiFi were given access to. We had access to the pool, Jacquie and spa facilitates which were just what you need after a long day of travelling. My only complaint would be that the toilet was difficult to flush, but staff were helpful with this and the room was cold, again the staff were very friendly and accommodating and gave us a extra heater and then put the central heating on for us which made our stay even more enjoyable. The food was very nice and the staff were very friendly, all and all it was a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debs572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night, leisure reasons. Had a chance to use the spa facilities which were nice (steam room wasn't great but the pool and sauna were nice). Had a comfortable nights sleep, found the bathroom facilities were great (shower lovely and hot, both in evening and morning). Found extra pillows in the wardrobe. We enjoyed a nice breakfast: the croissants were disappointing, but there was fruit, cereals, continental and cooked to choose from.

We paid at a discounted price and felt it was reasonable. Not sure I would want to pay any more than £50 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellesbelles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First of all I would like to say, the Hotel itself is fine, the service by all staff was second to none; however the rooms require immediate attention.

The Room I stayed in had a delightful welcoming smell of damp, a hole in the bathroom door, hairs in the sink, paint peeling from the window seals and a penny under the pillows (wonder how that got there?). The bed itself was uncomfortable.

All in all;

Staff - Good
Hotel - Fine
Breakfast - Good
Facilities - Good
Rooms - Poor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordon_munro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Soooo we turned up for mine and my best friends 21st birthday presents to each other and we were full paying guests. We went and had a coffee in the bar area and my friend looked at the menu and asked for the iced coffee. So when he brought it over he brought a black Americano... HOT Americano may I add. So we said that doesn't look like an iced coffee and he said 'we don't do them' we kindly told him it was on the menu and he said 'I'll try and find out how to make one' when he brought it back, with my cold toast may I also add, he had put the coffee in a glass and added some ice cubes. She couldn't drink it.

Then we move onto the spa. No one was at reception. So we wait. And we waited. And we waited. Until we were fed up and we decided to explore ourselves - turns out the spa was pretty much a children's paddling pool (as good as) and there was a tiny sauna. So we decided to take our relaxation else where. Very disappointed and do not recommend. AT ALL.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the day. As far as the service issues are concerned,rest assured I am looking at that, and this will be rectified by further training. Thank you for bring these issues to our attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just a spent a weekend at the Apollo Hotel. Hotel a bit dated, rooms small but adequate, small double bed but comfy enough, pillows a bit hard, free safe and tea coffee was top up daily.Room was clean enough and wardrobe had enough hangers but the bathroom did have issues.Nice shower head but all the plumbing is in need of a huge revamp, nothing worse then a sink that take all night to drain.No aircom is an issue here because the room was far to stuffy so it was window open all night and being a stones thro from an extremley busy roadabout it wa shard to gte the night sleep you had paid for, the road was noisy enough with the window close.Breakfast was a bit of an issue, ok 1st day pretty poor the 2nd and it wasn't that they were busy. Hot breakfast station ok so long as the food wa sthere when you wanted it. Day 2, no orange juice for ages, no eggs, no bacon at times , then after a long delay of customers requesting the eggs they would bring out 6 so they went in flash and the no eggs. tables not always set , staff were all pleasant enogh and there seemed quite a few but what was needed was a staff member keeping an eye on what was running short rather the waiting to be told by a guest.But a £65 a night no real compliants and would visit again.Bar staff all very pleasent, never had to ever wait that long and they were happy enough to bring to your table to save you waiting. Did dine in the restuarant 1st night, pretty empty but the meal was ok, not a bad menu with quite a few choices and a couple of interesting starters, service here pretty good as well. Saturday night was a function in the hotel, service here was very good, table plan and setting places showing your present menu choices, this did work very well saving thr staff the hassle of asking what you had ordered at each course and the whole meal plan over seen by a very efficent head waiter.A pleasent stay well worth the cost, I would have scored it higher had it not been for the room issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews