We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely stay , great food staff so friendly staff can't do enough for you breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Pool lovely shame no treatments as fully booked
Will come back :-)
Went with my mum and 2 older girls for a girlie break

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinaingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    232
    218
    111
    57
See reviews for
142
210
23
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The beds in this hotel were tired and beaten down and felt like sleeping in a hammock since they were so soft. Combined with the lack of air conditioning on a hot summer day made for a miserable night. Breakfast was picked over with no eggs for at least 10 minutes and several of the other key breakfast items not replenished in time. Service was indifferent at breakfast as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleetwood_brougham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stay here every 3 months due to work commitments, the company pays. It seems pricey to me for what you get but I'm not paying so not bothered! It's convenient for where I need to get to and is well connected by road.
The rooms aren't bad, pretty basic, but the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is lovely - eat as much as you like!
Have used the spa facilities, and pool, once, prob won't bother again as was not great - it's pretty small.
Check in (and out) is usually ok but the staff really do need to cheer up - they are so miserable!
There was a wedding on last time I stayed and there was quite a bit of noise during the night but this is the first time this had happened to me here so I could forgive it on this occasion.
I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitemybottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have nothing but great things to speak of when it comes to this hotel. The following consists of my personal experience with Apollo.

We arrived and booked for a standard twin room but all were taken up so they upgraded our room to the ambassodor suite for no added costs with twin beds. The room was very spacious, clean, lovely layout, great decor. The room was large enough to have a desk, sofa/living room area with coffee table, a vanity area and a Tv set.The Bed was extremely comfortable, needless to say I slept like a baby on both nights. Bathroom was immaculate, everything looked like it sparkled

The bed is made for you daily and you recieve a fresh set of towels daily too. Bath robes and slippers are provided.

Jacuzzi is extremely relaxing. Pool is rather small though. However spa looks beautiful at later hours when its dark due to the lighting.

The staff are extremely friendly, polite and efficient - they treated us like royalty. Always willing to help, and greet you regulary.

The meals are well prepared and presented too. Portions are generous and very filling.I highly recomend 'the Apollo Burger' and the 'Sticky toffee pudding'. The only thing is their starters are limited, we didnt like ours, the manager kindly offered to have the chef cook us something we fancied at no added fees which I thought was extremely nice.

The bar is beautifully decorated, very chilled, low lighting. Filled with a selection of books too.

The town itself is limited in what you can do. The shopping mall however is very decent. Has all the main stores, exceeds the standard of an average small town mall.

Overall yes book at Apollo, very enjoyable stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Awandja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uster, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Unfortunately the hotel does not meet the international criteria (selfdeclared four-stars?). Although most employees try to make an effort, the management does not really seems to be interested in quality improvements. As a business group staying for a couple of days, we experienced several issues e.g. unfriendly check-in and check-out, confusing with the bookings, poor WIFI, no bottle water and dingy carpets in the room, defect room safe etc.
One male staff member even entered into the room despite of the "do not disturb" sign at the door and scared my sleeping colleague (female.)
It's really a pitty, however I wish good luck to the team.

Room Tip: Just be aware about the big price differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

very comfortable room and a nice spa although its more like a mini Spa thing BUT you get everything within there be a pool gym etc etc.
a bit of a distance from the Town Center and with no closeness to any kind of Public transport although staying here you dont actually need to go out for any necessities , however if you stay for long you obviously would want to roam around the city markets a bit which is not possible if you do not have a vehicle with you.
Servixe staff is very courteous well mannered and eager to make your stay as pleasant as it can get, didnt try their restaurant or bar as i read some not so good reviews, but the breakfast is really nice and as fresh as it can be!
Have stayed here twice in last 2 Years.

Room Tip: I liked the one with the garden view instead of the parking facing ones, and preferred the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I booked a spa day for my mum and me on the 25th July via spavoucherbreaks.com and this sounded like a good one and wasn't too far from home.

Considering I didn't pay very much each (about £50pp), you get what you pay for. Pool was small and could do with a scrub. Children jumping in and splashing ... Next to the no jumping sign. Reception didn't batter an eye lid. No robes or towels, and it was only when a member told us to ask for them that you got them. Had a light lunch and waitress was rude. Especially as we were the only paying customers. Treatments included back massage, which was nice but mini manicure was disappointing. Poor finish. Afternoon was hilarious. Luckily I am gluten free so asked for this when booking and we had a few bits of nice (shop brought cake). We even had a shot glass filled with squirty cream! And a pastry case with more aerosol cream. Chocolate aerosol cream! They looked great but did not taste good.
By this time, we'd had enough and headed home.

Very very average, definitely not 4 stars and there are many other places which are a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
5.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.7 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Basingstoke

Property: Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Address: Aldermaston Road, Basingstoke RG24 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Basingstoke 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic Apollo Hotel is ideally positioned just 1 mile from Junction 6 off the M3. With many local attractions and the numerous Business Parks in the area the Apollo Hotel Basingstoke is the perfect location for business or leisure. The Hotel consists of 125 superb non smoking bedrooms which include luxury suites and executive rooms all equipped with Free WiFi high speed internet access, which combined with a large Conference Centre and Health Club makes the Apollo one of the best equipped hotels in Basingstoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basingstoke Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing