We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major turn around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #17 of 253 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Jamaican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fox is an attractive Fullers pub on the edge of the village of Oakley near Basingstoke. It has lovely views across the Hampshire countryside. There is a large car park and a HUGE family garden with childrens' climbing frame, swings and slides as well as a separate garden area. There are 4 areas in the pub - The Den, which is mainly used for dining, the main bar, the pool/games room and the function room. We have a skittle alley, a pool table and various board games/cards available. We also have a 130ft well inside the pub!! We serve a mixture of Caribbean and European food, which is very reasonably priced, Fullers real ales (London Pride, HSB and a seasonal ale) an extensive wine list and full bar. Our large function room, with direct access to the garden is used regularly for parties, wedding receptions, wakes, business meetings and skittles evenings. We have regular events including live music, a monthly Caribbean buffet, a monthly Thai buffet, a music quiz, Family Fun Days and Fox Cubs, our weekly Wednesday morning stay 'n play group for pre-schoolers. There's always something going on at The Fox and you can be sure of a warm welcome from Buddy, Kate and the team!
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Major turn around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lived in the village 45+ years and seen many comings and goings in this pub. Really good to see the current landlords are making a big effort to make this work. Good quality food at reasonable prices. Even if you've been there previously and been disappointed, give the new guys a try as you will be pleasantly surprised by the changes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PWD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    39
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“60th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

What an amazing evening. The food was beautiful, the service was second to none and we were made to feel really special. Nothing was too much for Buddy, Kate and their staff. A HUGE thank you for giving us a special evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amandatravers210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great outdoor space and views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The Fox is in a great location, with gardens that look down over the valley. Great for children with climbing frames and slides and plenty of space to run around. I couldn't score it any higher than average as the food is a bit disappointing. The menu is a fusion of Caribbean and British pub food classics and it was a bit hit and miss. The Caribbean food was disappointing as I expected something more authentic. Some of the classics were fine though. Overall a nice atmosphere, easily a 4 star with a bit more attention to the food.

Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UkBuddy, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear James, thank you for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed our well maintained garden and wonderful views not to mention some of our food. I am a bit surprised of your claim the Caribbean food wasn't authentic as having lived in Barbados for 30 years of my life, continue to run a successful Caribbean catering company I would have thought the food would have been as authentic as it comes. Perhaps you were expecting hot Jamaican Jerk chicken and mutton curry, teaming with scotch bonnet peppers which I am sure you can find in London in Caribbean takeaways. Unfortunately we are a Hampshire based business and most of customer base would find the spices too overwhelming. It is with this consideration that I have toned the heat level down so those of the older British generation can experience the Caribbean flavours. I would have liked you to have enjoyed my Caribbean offering but sadly this was not the case but I do hope you return and perhaps make use of the hot sauce we have available. Thank you one again and I hope you visit us again in Basingstoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super countryside pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This oldly country pub is a real gem out in the 'sticks' in Tangley, Hampshire. The Old beams, working fireplace, relics give this place a real welcoming in then you get to the best bit, the food, absolutely lovely and really pleasantly surprised how much it only cost.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caribbean Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great food that is pleasantly different from the usual English pub offerings. Combined with friendly staff and a new welcoming decor, the Barbadian Fox is a much needed change to the sometimes indifferent village drinking hole. Without a doubt, Buddy and Kate have turned things around and the Fox now has a new bushy tail!

I can recommend highly the Ackee and the Jerk Chicken.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 
Ellisfield, Basingstoke
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing