We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of The Bakehouse

The Bakehouse
Ranked #118 of 255 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Popped into here today to get a snack after a walk with the little one! Great coffee! friendly & efficient team! Delicious freshly made panini was enjoyed as was the home baked Belgium bun the size of my sons head! Recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Delight”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Was treated to afternoon tea a this lovely bake house recently, super fresh sandwiches and home baked cakes, delicious. Excellent service, understand they do great breakfasts too, highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sandwichs around”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

sandwiches are packed full, the service is quick and friendly, great choice on the menu. Good outside seating if the weather permits

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice loaf of bread”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Having decided I needed a loaf of bread and also wanted to clear my head and get some exercise, I walked the scenic route to the Bakehouse. I have walked past it many times over many years, but this was my first visit (Previous potential visits had been stopped by a queue outside the door of lycra clad cyclist)

I had an open mind to whether I would just buy a loaf of bread or have something to eat, but the appearance of the food decided this for me. The problem was deciding what I would like to eat, to be honest it was a bit confusing with menu items displayed on blackboards on the wall and others on the counter.

That said I opted for a pastrami sandwich advertised on the specials with hot chocolate (loaf of bread as well) the quality of the food was good and the food was tasty

Inside seating area looked clean, tidy and nicely presented, but outside is less so. The outside area is directly in front of the bakery, fenced off. The problem is that cars park up to the edge of this fencing, where there are table and chairs. This brings in the question of both how close the vehicles park, do you really want to eat with the bumper or tail pipe of a car next to you? or the exhaust fumes as they manoeuvre?

The bread now is a secondary item, but they do have some loafs which they will slice, thick or thin for you (Tesco's only have one setting)

The staff mostly seemed friendly and welcoming

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track - make the diversion!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I visited the Bakehouse for lunch when in Old Basing, a most enjoyable cup of coffee and sandwich. i was joined by other members of the family who were equally impressed.
It was busy with local trade, passing cyclists and clearly popular with all.
My visit to Old Basing was to arrange for some catering after a service at the Church and the Bakehouse buffet was excellent quality and value.
The cakes and sandwiches went down a treat and the staff so helpful.
Looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakehouse also viewed

Old Basing, Basingstoke
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing