We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Dayer's Fine Foods

Dayer's Fine Foods
Ranked #87 of 254 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Restaurant details
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A great meal in a lovely setting where you would least expect it. A well presented menu and an eclectic "specials" board, that will satisfy any palate. The Italian options on the special board were different from run of the mill pasta options, curries available were also different from the norm. The actual table menu was itself an obvious departure from what has become the norm, from white bait to beef rib on the bone. The presentation of the meals was second only to the great service and all of this combined with great value and infectious ambience. If there were more than 5 stars I would happily give that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoep1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Lunchtime Venue”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have visited Dayer's on a number of occassions over many years. Always impressed with the quality of food and service.

The restaurant is situated in the middle of a business park and it caters mainly for local office workers. The lunchtime menu is similar to that you will find in a good pub. Service is quick and efficient.

We visited the restaurant on Friday lunchtime. The restaurant was packed with almost every table taken.

Avoid the Cajun Chicken Sizzler. The fries accompanying the dish were amazing but the rest failed at every level from concept to execution. Other dishes met our expectations and we would definitely return.

If the chef or owners are reading this review, please add more vegetarian options on the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p3386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal for customer lunches”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Nice to be able to sit outside in the summer, open and roomy inside, service is good, and food is of a high quality, staff are friendly and helpful, there is a take away bar as well. However sitting in is good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piotrowski1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant in Chineham”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This place only used to supply food for all the local businesses (sandwich bar and a restaurant) during business hours, but it recently (Oct 2013) opened its doors on a Thurs, Fri and Saturday evening. When my husband and I heard this we were keen to give it a try to support a local business and hopefully discover another nice place to eat in the area.
The decor is fresh and modern, the staff are very friendly and the chef is very talented. We enjoyed a really nice 3-course meal for a reasonable price. The menu allows for fish and meat lovers as they serve a great selection of seafood dishes as well as chicken, steak and burgers. Presentation was good too. I definitely recommend that people give this a try as it would be a shame for this place to shut its doors again in the evening. I'd like the opportunity to go back! :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dayer's Fine Foods also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Dayer's Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing