We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Nothing Special”
Review of The CuriosiTea Room - CLOSED

The CuriosiTea Room
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I decided to come here after hearing some good things about the place, but I left feeling thoroughly disappointed.

The food was expensive for what it was and the quality was distinctly average. You can get more for your money in a supermarket and have food that is just as good, if not better.

I found the staff to be unfriendly. I clearly was not their regular type of customer and they looked down their noses at me.

I will never go here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank St John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuriosiTeaRoom, Owner at The CuriosiTea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

I'm very sorry that you felt that you were being looked down upon. I feel this simply was not the case, as I kindly made you a sandwich that was not on the menu & was nothing but polite. It was fairly busy that day so I apologise for not being more attentive.

As for the food being over priced, I think you are mistaken. Sandwiches are £3.95 they are made from freshly cut bread, & served with salad & crisps. A pot of tea is £1.50, cafetieres are £2.

Our cakes are all handmade and locally sourced which I can assure you are of a far superior quality than the supermarket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely little tearoom set inside a larger, quirky vintage shop. There are about 30 different types of tea on offer and really good quality coffee. I've been a few times and had various yummy cakes but the salted caramel is my favourite so far. The sandwiches are lovely and come with salad and crisps. Lovely friendly atmosphere x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoWelfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I enjoy being here because the staff are very smiley and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. I'm not really a huge fan of cakes, but the selection of traybakes change each week, which is great! I particularly enjoy the brie & cranberry sandwiches which are excellent value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff and a shop full of exciting antiques and a lovely Tea room attached with all sorts of coffees & teas...I've never seen so many types...and cakes of all types..also freshly made delicious sandwiches and cheese toasties .... if you're ever passing ..worth a visit.

Thank Steve-vicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just spent a lovely two hours drinking tea from a beautiful bone china tea cup and eating the most delicious moist salted caramel cake. There is so much to look at and be tempted by in the vintage gifts room. Well with a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kittykat1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The CuriosiTea Room also viewed

Upton Grey, Basingstoke
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Old Basing, Basingstoke
Ellisfield, Basingstoke
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing