We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Takeaways”

The Red Rose Tandoori
Ranked #61 of 270 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Price range: £0 - £24
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We mainly get our take outs from here and have never been disappointed, they have always been delivered within the time given more importantly hot! We have also eaten here a few times and never had a bad experience, the staff have always been friendly and accommodating.
Oh, and we appreciate the Christmas card every year!

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank CharlesH573
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Decent food (6-7/10),,, good atmosphere (6/10),,, nice staff (although I didn't like the way the staff lounged about on their phones on the chairs as it made the place feel less professional which is a shame as this place looked quite nice),,,, quite expensive overall but a place that i would recommend to try... I had the chilli chicken masala and was nice medium spice and tasty

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garrylee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have been going to the Red Rose for many years now and never had a bad meal. Food always fresh and very tasty, and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. This is the best indian restaurant in basingstoke.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Red Rose is our local Indian Restaurant.
We have had a takeaway probably once a month for the the last 5-10 years and eaten out in the restaurant there a fair few times as well. Have never had a bad meal and staff always very friendly.(I've eaten curries all over the UK as I travel a lot for work so am in a good position to judge!)
Googled out of curiosity as we take the place for granted, felt compelled to add my view as there were one or two negative reviews (3 x 1 star reviews because it was very noisy on a Friday night, seriously??, get real guys) The reason it's very busy on a Friday night is because it's a very good place to eat, people travel there just for that as there is no 'passing / tourist trade' at a local parade of shops in a suburb of Basingstoke...

Anyway, take it from a local, this is a great Indian with excellent food and is good value for money. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AntonyM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I've used The Red Rose for deliveries for years. It has been excellent for a long time but has gone downhill over the past year or so. The problem is they tell you how long it'll take and then let you down. Tonight is the final straw - they did say they were busy so it would take between 1 hour to 1 hour 20 minutes but I went with it. After 2 hours I rang them with the intention of cancelling it if it wasn't ready and was told it was just going out the door so would be with me in 7-8 minutes. 20 minutes later it finally turned up and was tepid at best. Busy or not, I'm not impressed and won't be ordering from there ever again. The Spice is much more reliable and the food is great too.

Date of visit: February 2014
1  Thank tinajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Red Rose Tandoori also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Red Rose Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.