We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dartmouth House Self Catering
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife had recently been ill so we went to Dartmouth House with some good friends to get away from it all have a nice relaxing time reflecting on the important things in life.

Dartmouth House proved to be an excellent property. It was spotlessly clean and tidy and all the bedrooms are a good size. In fact there was no room I wouldn't have been happy sleeping in. The lounge is great and the log fire provided a real cosy feel. The kitchen was modern with the benefit of a large table that everyone could sit round and chat whilst food was being prepared.

The weather wasn't great during our visit as it rained most of the time, but as the house was so nice it wasn't a problem. We just shut the doors and had good quality family time indoors playing games and chilling out, which is something we miss when we're back in the hustle and bustle of normal life.

The only disappointing thing was that due to the rain we couldn't really sit on the covered verandah and admire the well maintained garden. I imagine it is great on a nice warm sunny evening to sit there with a glass of wine!

The only thing I would add if it were my house would be a shower over the existing baths upstairs, just for convenience, but there is a shower room on the ground floor so it wasn't too much of an issue.

The owners were very friendly and I'm sure if we had any problems during our stay they would have been happy to help. I'd be happy to book the house again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My friends and I have been going on holiday to Dartmouth House for three years now. We are a group of crafters / scrapbookers and the cottage is perfect for our annual Retreat.

Yes, it's an old house, so the rooms sprawl all over the place, the bathrooms are all down some stairs, then up some stairs, the kitchen has a door with stairs right behind it (open the right one or you'll end up in the crockery cupboard!), the first year we didn't even find the downstairs loo…

My room (Fern, the green one) has an uneven floor and low ceiling, but I love it and its quirkiness. In fact, the whole house is quirky.

There are two bathrooms, one of which is large with a double sink. Neither have showers, but there is a downstairs shower off the pantry / utility room. The first year we stayed there were 8 of us and we realised that the shower is temperamental when a bath is being run, so you do have to organise a bit in the mornings.

The kitchen is fully stocked with pots and pans, crockery and utensils. We do Sunday lunch each year with no problem. The fridge (in the kitchen) and freezer (in the utility) are small, so a larger group might have problems fitting everything in for a long stay. There's a washing machine, washing line, iron etc, so all that side of things is taken care of.

Six cars is a bit optimistic. First year we parked four, but two were Minis and able to negotiate the gap between the bush and the house. It's a busy road outside, but it is possible to park on the street. The people over the road seem to park outside D House for most of the day.

We've had no problems whatsoever with the owners who have always been lovely, fresh flowers and chocolates on arrival for these past two years, so no complaints there!

We're all booked up for next year and looking forward to our fourth week at Dartmouth House.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CelestialWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here with 5 friends in March 2012. The house is amazing with so much character and the garden is gorgeous (gardener comes in a couple of times a week) with snowdrops and crocuses a-plenty.
The beds are very comfy and all the rooms are spacious and clean however, some of the stairs are quite steep and narrow. There are 2 spacious bathrooms (no showers) on the first floor with good sized baths and a separate shower room on the ground floor.
The kitchen is a good size with a large table, a huge range-style cooker and a door to the garden. It is more than adequately stocked with crockery, glasses and cutlery albeit a little mis-matched!
The living room is a very good size with one 3 seater sofa, 2 two-seaters and 2 armchairs.There is a very efficient log burning stove.
The house was very warm, the bedrooms a little too warm and opening the windows did make it very noisy due to the very busy road. Some slightly unfortunately worded notices in the bedrooms about tampering with the heating were a bit over the top.
There is supposed to be parking for 6 cars but I have a Vauxhall Zafira (not huge) which would not go past the overgrown bush!
This year has seen the addition of wi-fi.
Overall the house and garden are lovely. Olney is a very pretty town with lots of gift shops and a market twice a week. It is very accessible being just a few miles off the M1.
A few minor niggles have not put us off booking again for next year :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KarenT123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at Dartmouth House arriving 11 February. As we drove towards Olney the car was registering -10C and we were thinking "what are we doing staying in a 200 year old house in these temperatures?"'. We needn't have worried, the heating was on and there were logs for the fire in the lounge.
The family soon explored the house and the children were fascinated by all the stairs and "secret" passages. The house suited us well as a family and there was plenty of room to eat in the large kitchen. We didn't use the dining room, the refectory table is very narrow anyway.
Lots of seating in the lounge. If there was any downside it was that the bedrooms were too hot, we were told not to unbalance the system by altering radiators. Old sash windows have Everest secondary glazing but to have this open was a bit noisy when traffic started in he morning. But we knew when we booked it was on a busy road.
Two bathrooms upstairs without showers, and a shower room off the utility room. Water was piping hot and plenty of it. The kitchen is well equiped, everything you need with a range for cooking. Small freezer in the utility room.
Lovely garden but it should have been pointed out that ball games are not allowed, we did think when we booked that we could play in the garden. As it turned out there was snow on the lawn so we made a snowman!
Not sure what the other reviewer expected of a 250 year old property, his main complaint seems to be a conflict with the landlord.
Parking was not a real problem, we had 3 cars, but the description does say parking for 6 cars. This isn't correct because a large prickly bush prevents cars going through what is a very narrow gap anyway to park at the side of the house. So there is only parking for 2 cars any more have to park on the road.
Olney is a lovely place, small enough to have specialist shops but there is a Tesco Express and Coop for food, we had a Tesco delivery. There's a One Stop 100 yards from the property. Logs available in Olney but cheaper if you turn right for about 1/2 mile.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Doug9559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I booked a weekend at Dartmouth House for my wife’s birthday as we wanted to spend a weekend visiting Woburn Abbey and Safari Park with some friends. Unfortunately, although Olney and Woburn are lovely, we were disappointed by the accomodation.

- In my opinion the photos on the website give a misleading impression of the quality of the overall house (which excluding the kitchen, dining room and garden is poor);
- The deposit process is based on the opinion of the landlady, rather than being evidence-based on an inventory (when I asked for an inventory the landlady threatened to throw my guests out and call the police);
- Comments like ‘this isn’t London you know’ (our group was from all over the UK) and being disparagingly referred to as ‘same age group applicants’ (despite their being a 20 year age gap in our guests!) certainly made us feel prejudiced against; and
- We felt the hospitality we received was apalling –instances such as receiving 7 phone calls whilst we were out to be shouted at by the owner that one of our guest’s cars was parked in what she considered to be the ‘wrong place’ (albeit legally parked on the street at the end of a row of cars) meant we felt very bullied and abused by the owner who lives only 2 doors down from the house.

In conclusion, there are many more instances and points I could put in this review but the overall experience was one I hope no one else has to go through. The owner’s response when I complained to the booking agency was a threat of legal action for stalking (?!), and I note that the hotel the owner runs states on their website that you cannot write a review if you stay – both of which sum up everything that is wrong about this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annie E, Owner at Dartmouth House Self Catering, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
This house guest exceeded the agreed booked number in the house. He would not pay and left us with no choice but to deduct the £25 per person per night charge from his deposit ( as stated in the terms and conditions) and he was not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
4.6 mi away
French Partridge
French Partridge
#1 of 1 in Horton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
8.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
12.1 mi away
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfast
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 34 in Milton Keynes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#4 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmouth House Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth House Self Catering

Property: Dartmouth House Self Catering
Address: 32 Dartmouth Road, Milton Keynes MK46 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Dartmouth House Self Catering Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing