We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we went to the British Grand Prix. We travelled with our 5 month old son, so we needed a venue close to the circuit. The room was basic and asking for extra towels was no problem. The staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful which is rare to find these days. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjmogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
9
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Having Stayed at many 4 star Hotels through the UK, I would say the Kingfisher is one of the best I have stay at.

The welcome I received from the staff was very professional and very welcoming,
My Room was large well equip, and heating was put on prior to my arrival which was great very much attention to detail which you never get in a other Hotels.
There is a Gym on-site, one of the reasons for booking the Kingfisher, It was well equipped , would highly recommend the facilities.

The Food was superb, The Menu had plenty of choices, very well priced and the quality of the food was brilliant.

Breakfast menu was as good as my evening meal, again BRILLIANT.

I Would highly recommend the Kingfisher to anyone,Looking for friendly,professional Hotel.

Congratulations to the owners and Staff for a wonderful Stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After reading the reviews I was a little bit apprehensive of staying! After a long journey on a damp Autumn day I was very pleasantly surprised at the warmth of the welcome from the staff. My room did look a little 'Hi-de-Hi' from the outside, but certainly not from the inside. Large well equipped room, in excellent condition and the heating system very efficient. Back in the clubhouse I enjoyed a beautifully cooked meal of Toad in the Hole......proper sausages and proper batter....very tasty. I was in my element sitting eating dinner and watching Strictly on the bar TV!! A very comfortable night at the hotel (so peaceful there) and then a meeting in the excellent conference room the next day. Breakfast was so good I didn't have room for lunch, but my colleagues did and were extremely well fed. I can only recommend this venue for a peaceful weekend and fabulous working surroundings (we did get a lot of work done). Congratulations to the owners and the staff. And by the way.......the driveway is not full of potholes now.....all repaired!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolwaySunSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The Kingfisher is outside of Milton Keynes, located next to a golf course. The accommodation block is getting a bit dated, however it's kept in good condition. Heating was of when I arrived in my room which was not very welcoming during the autumn months. Food is average, i've only eaten breakfast there so I couldn't comment on the evening meals. Because the accommodation block is separate from the bar and restaurant area means you have to go outside to get from one to the other. All in all the Kingfisher offers good value, straightforward accommodation, 15 minutes drive from Milton Keynes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulH575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I booked the Kingfisher as it was a reasonable distance from Silverstone and the photo's and description looked OK. The hotel is accessed down a long muddy and potholed dirt road leading to a large tarmac car park.

The wooden clad accommodation "block" which is separate to the golf club/restaurant/bar looked like something from a holiday camp. The rooms are small and of average standard.

The staff were very friendly - couldn't fault them, but if you want a beer or sandwich they charge you there and then, rather than put it on your room. One other curious thing - they took the full amount from my credit card the day I made the booking - which I've never experienced before. I honestly believe this is because they know once a new guest has seen the place they won't stay more than one night and so they take the money for the entire stay all upfront!

If you are looking for an economy hotel then I would recommend somewhere like Premier Inn rather than the Kingfisher which has seen better days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milton Keynes hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked this room after being so disapointed with The Milton Keynes Hotel down the road. We phoned them at 8.30 p.m to book a room for the evening and to see if they could fit us in the Restaurant and they could. They saved us from having a terrible birthday stay at the other hotel. Food was perfect and waiter/bar man made us very welcome.I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Mixed views:

Super clean but basic rooms
Interesting reception on arrival due to lateness (but time specified)
Driveway that should be repaired - pot holes are an understatement and disgusting
Breakfast finishes early on a Sunday and choice is lacking even with some picky requests which we were not popular about

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda78LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
3.2 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
828 reviews
4.9 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,136 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,266 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.2 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Near Stony Stratford Buckingham Road | Nr Deanshanger, Milton Keynes MK19 6JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Due to circumstances beyond our control, we have been experiencing intermittent issues with the Broadband connection in the hotel rooms. Please rest assured we are working hard to resolve this situation and are currently seeking an alternative Broadband provider. Should you wish to use the Internet, we have made available the Sandpiper Conference Room (situated in the Clubhouse) for all hotel guests. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. Anthony Pearson - General Manager. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Hotel Golf And Country Club
Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing