We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST stay here!!!”
Review of South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“You MUST stay here!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booking was effortless, and the welcome/service during our stay was fantastic, with the hosts going the extra mile with some additional personal requests. The breakfast menu was extensive and the food cooked perfectly and delivered on time. The room was well equipped and flawlessly designed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and were only regretful that we weren't able to remain longer.

Tips for other travellers
The Wavendon Arms served a delicious menu, and were within a 10 minute walk from the Lodge.

Thank you for a truly amazing stay - without doubt the nicest B&B (although calling it a B&B is sort of an insult to the Lodge.. it is so much more!!)

Room Tip: Room 3 was breath-taking.... but having seen a few of the other rooms in passing all of them are sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
156
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for hubbies 40th. Had great room and very accommodating owners, by allowing us the pick up keys early and leave our bags. Would recommend instead of a chain when in the area. Dinned at Thai modern which was not far and had a great 24 hours. Really enjoyed breakfast, which you could tell had had effort and thought put into quality and presentation. We opted to have breakfast in our room, very spoilt! All in all a very good experience and not the usual b&b.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Really appreciate your review. Glad you enjoyed the Thai Modern too - an often forgotten restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Really good accommodation, with excellent mattress, pillows and linen which helps with a good night sleep. Decor and design great and contemporary. Next time we will have a room with doors to the gardens which are delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a birthday present. Julia and Brenda were lovely, nothing was to much trouble. The room was beautiful and relaxing as was the location. The quality of the finishes, amenities and food were incredible. I can not rate this hotel highly enough!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for going to the trouble of writing a review - and so glad you enjoyed the strawberries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

South Lodge really is the best B&B I've ever been to, and easily beats most hotels in the area as well. The location is great, and the property just magical inside and out. Beautiful grounds, and perfectly decorated rooms, with everything you could need, or want for your stay. Large bed, great sofa area with a smart tv, good size table with chairs, and even a little kitchen area with sink, microwave, fridge and coffee & tea making facilities. The shower you just don't want to get out of!
On top of all that, Julia delivers a really lovely breakfast, not only with so much choice, but also delicious local produce, even including home made jams.
If you're visiting the area always make this your first choice of somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneth2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Date of stay 4th April 2014
A hidden gem, we have driven past so many times and didn't even realise it was there, we almost don't wan't anyone else to know about it.
Excellent location for MK, Paris House, Woburn, The Stables, The Bowl or just chilling out.
Absolutely nothing like a B&B, rooms are contemporary and enormous.
Fabulous accommodation, a great deal of thought has obviously gone into the decor, design & facilities, plus it was spotless throughout. Extremely friendly hosts, Julia & Colin, with a fulfilling breakfast to end the stay, so nice to get decent coffee.
We would definitely recommend this property to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

South Lodge is a wonderful oasis just outside Milton Keynes. The location, so close to MK and Woburn Sands is, for me, just perfect. The rooms (and I've stayed in different rooms on different occasions) are lovely with beautiful views of the gardens. Julia really goes beyond anything you might expect of a B&B, whether it's an evening meal to order, a quiet tea and biscuits in the general sitting area or a snack in your room. The breakfasts are, in my opinion, the best I've ever eaten in a hotel. Truly a lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
863 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,304 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge

Property: South Lodge
Address: Cross End | Wavendon, Milton Keynes MK17 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever a house had the ‘Wow!’ factor, this is it. Stunning contemporary design and decor plus fanatical attention to every luxurious detail combine to promise an unforgettable experience. Comfort and practicality are not overlooked either; all the rooms are furnished with king size beds, walk-in showers and widescreen TVs. Each is light, airy and spacious. The biscuits or muffins in your room are home cooked as is the extensive and delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Milton Keynes
South Lodge Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing