We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night in a superior room, & loved every single minute of our stay! The super king bed was incredible & gigantic - & we were happy that we could make more use of it with the late check out time of 12pm.

We were overjoyed to find that we had a jacuzzi bath, & even better was that the bathroom floor was heated! I've also never seen so many complementary toiletries! We loved that the room even had a sofa & included a fridge - but we wondered why there was a nespresso machine, yet no capsules were included? The only other criticism is that my bedside lamp didn't work - which wasn't a huge problem, but being a luxury hotel, I was surprised it hadn't been checked! I guess that my other suggestion would be that instead of so many toiletries, perhaps a small complementary box of chocolates would be an extra special treat, & something to enjoy in the jacuzzi bath?

The food was amazing, & I loved the novelty of having my dinner cooked on a boiling hot volcanic rock - it really was worth every penny! The staff were very friendly, & extremely helpful. The only thing that I thought was strange is that most of the other tables around us had jugs of water & ice. I asked for some tap water to go with dinner & a half filled pint glass with no ice, was given to me. I guess it just surprised me being such a luxury hotel, I at least expected some ice - although only a minor point & not a problem!

The breakfast buffet had everything that you could ever want on offer, including vegetarian sausages which I was so happy about! An amazing choice of fruit, croissants & jam on offer, as well as cereals & a full English. You can even order some extra special breakfast treats from the kitchen!

The only downside that I could find about the hotel, is that there was no lift! My health problems mean that I struggle to walk upstairs. This was sorted straight away, however, & the receptionist moved us to a downstairs room - & we were extremely happy to find that we had been moved to a room with a golf course view!

We were so sad that we couldn't stay longer, & really didn't want to leave! Hopefully we can stay again soon. This hotel may be more pricey than some, but I would stay that it is worth every penny, & it's definitely worth paying extra for the superior room & the amazing food! The best hotel that I've ever stayed at in the UK!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, Director of Sales at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your review.

I must agree with you about the beds, we pride that we do have the most comfortable beds in Milton Keynes.

I am so sorry that you didn't get your pods for your coffee machine, I will bring this up with the housekeeping team.

I am so glad you enjoyed our "hot rock" it is a relatively new concept to the hotel and guests are truly loving it.

I am truly sorry that you were allocated a room on the second floor, however the next time you book then please let us know you would like a room on the ground floor and we shall accommodate. I am glad you made our reception team aware and they managed to move you to a room on the ground floor.

It is always a pleasure to read such a great review and I will share with the team at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Carol Bates
Sales Manager on behalf of
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    262
    112
    49
    11
See reviews for
151
296
22
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Thank You to All the staff of the hotel especially Alice / Mayai / Tracey.
Great good at Moltens restaurant and the rooms were very clean & tidy & spacious.
really enjoy our stay and change our Golf tee times when running late due to traffic

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, Director of Sales at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for such a lovely review, it is always great to read such comments.

Our reception team were hand picked because of their amazing customer service and friendliness.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience in our Moltens restaurant.

I truly look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again the next time you are in the Milton Keynes area.

Kind regards

Carol Bates
Sales Manager on behalf of
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

As I travel with business, sometimes it is pot luck as to the hotels that I get allocated but I can say that this was a pleasant surprise! Have had a few stays here and I have now advised my company that I would like this as my preferred hotel (I was lucky enough to have a "privilage" room for one stay which even has a fridge and nice big bed and a sofa!)

Good beds - not too low - nice and firm (although a plethora of extra cushions on the bed - feel guilty stacking them on the floor) - excellent TV - lovely bathrooms - quiet air con - under floor heating in the bathrooms - room keys that do not get accidentally wiped by your mobile phone - decent lighting - room safe - everything that you need for a comfortable stay.

The restaurant is lovely - the new "Molten" experience is well worth a try and the food is relatively reasonably priced for a hotel - however I do find the bar on the expensive side.

The staff are fantastic, will always do their best to help you out and resolve anything that may happen.

Did have a few niggles on a couple of nights with a couple of things, but after speaking to the staff they were quickly resolved.

So - to summarise - a really nice hotel, different to the MK norm - let the stays here continue!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, Director of Sales at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to put such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for all the comments regarding our bedrooms. We have done an incredible amount of research and the higher the bed a better nights sleep one gets. The guest comfort and enjoyment is paramount.

The Moltens restaurant is a wonderful concept and yes you are right it is very reasonably priced for the standard of food and the service you receive.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Carol Bates
Sales Manager on behalf of
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been to a few hotels in MK and the surroundings, but this beats them all.
Set in the quiet area of Two Mile Ash overlooking the golf course, we enjoyed a short family break in this hotel. The city centre is a stone throw away, reachable by bus, cab or a 5 minute drive! The lovely market towns of Stony Stratford and Buckingham are also very close by.
No problems for parking at all times. Friendly staff and always more than willing to help. Adequate breakfast with the only setback being it is only available up till 0930 hrs during the week, but the staff and chef more than willing to have fresh food for last minute guests :-). Do not miss the chef's home made chocolate croissants, seriously amongst the best ever tasted.
The rooms are spacious and you cannot hear a sound which gives you a really good sleep.
Bathrooms clean and all amenities available.
We travel alot and can honestly that this was one of our best stays and will not only be certain to return, but will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milton Keynes.

Room Tip: Do not miss the MK centre for shopping and both Stony Stratford and Buckingham if you have times. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gruyeresuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, Director of Sales at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review.

It is great to get free parking directly outside the hotel especially in Milton Keynes.

Regarding the breakfast finishing at 09.30 in the week, this is the case but if you stay with us again Chef will be able to make you a bacon sandwich on request as we are very flexible.

Again, thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again soon at the Mercure Hotel, Milton Keynes, Abbey Hill.

Kind regards

Carol Bates
Sales Manager on behalf of
Mads Nielsen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is our second visit, again we cooked our meat on a Volcanic Rock.

We found the whole experience lovely and relaxing. Soft live music with nice friendly staff. The food was of a high quality. Lovely spacious surroundings with outside area, nice clean toilets.

Not ideal for all children..

Will be going again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant and you 5 star rating. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hot Rock experience and found the quality of your food to be excellent, we have just launched our Sunday Lunch which will be available every Sunday with live entertainment at Moltens Restaurant.

I have shared your comments with he restaurant staff and our chef brigade and we are all looking forward to welcome you and your family back again,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Good room's and bed's very comfortable . Bar is small and not friendly but check in staff very efficient and effective and helpful. Hotel is quite at night no rowdy parties of people passing by outside or inside.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay with us and found our bedrooms to meet your expectations, I must agree with you that our beds are very comfortable and we do pride ourselves of having the best beds in Milton Keynes.

I was happy to read that you found the staff members efficient and I have shared your comments with our team.

We are all looking forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in a junior suite a bit pricy as we booked late but close proximity to MK and situation on golf course,which our room overlooked, was very pleasant. Now for the good points - room was a good size, bed comfortable, nicely fitted bathroom with a jet massage bath, free wifi, tea and coffee making and reception staff were excellent. For the not so good you had to pay extra for a dressing gown, slippers and to use the nespresso machine in the room, the spoon on the tray was unwashed, the room was long and thin and rather dark because the window was small, the seal round the double glazing was broken so condensation ran down between the panes and there was a lot of mould round the window frames. But generally not a bad stay

Room Tip: Book early don't pay extra for suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woobsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, I was disappointed to read that you stay did not meet your expectations please accept my sincere apology for the issues you faced, I have shared your comments with my team and we have rectified the issues.

I was however pleased to read that you did find the rooms spacious, enjoyed the Jacuzzi bath and received excellent service from our team.

I do hope that you will give us another chance and visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
3.8 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.7 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#8 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,306 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#15 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill

Property: Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Address: Two Mile Ash The Approach, Monks Way, Milton Keynes MK8 8LY, England (Formerly Abbey Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at the Mercure Milton Keynes Hotel. Located close to Central Milton Keynes Train Station within easy access to the A5 and Luton airport via the M1. This stunning hotel provides a tranquil setting for wedding, meetings or events and has 92 newly refurbished bedrooms with a modern and contemporary design, each with free WIFI. The bar and restaurant offer fresh and varied meals, making us the ideal stop for guests enjoying Woburn Safari, the Shopping at Centre MK or Silverstone Racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing