We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great nights stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a great nights stay, great positioning for the MK Bowl for a gig we were attending. Nice big room, very clean, friendly staff etc... Only gripe i have is that we arrived at 3:30pm to be told that we couldnt check in and had a 30-45min wait until our rooms were ready even though check in was from 2pm That aside, great stay and would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 1KerryB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    569
    236
    101
    65
See reviews for
226
651
84
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at doubletree MK recently! Found the hotel & room clean to be fair. Hotel is In a great location. And the view from the restaurant over the pitch is impressive.
We decided after much deliberation to eat at the hotel restaurant on our first night (Friday). What a massive disappointment that was! The service was terrible, unprofessional young inexperienced staff who where more interested in setting up the breakfast tables than giving you a dining experience!.. They had little or no knowledge of the dishes on the menu, and when I asked a question on one dish the answer from the waiter was "I don't know" The noise of them clearing & setting up the breakfast tables was unacceptable! The staff were not attentive in any way. They offered bread, but no water, the bottle of wine was plonked in the middle of the table with no ice bucket, offer to taste or pour!! The last straw for me was a waitress skipping through the restaurant with 5 breakfast cups on each finger of her hands, who turned to my partner and I and said " I'm just trying to make it fun"!!.. That's all well and good my love but when your bill is over £100 for two, I'd prefer you take your fun elsewhere!!! I feel sorry for the obviously talented chef because the food was lovely to fair!! But if he's wondering why covers are down I suggest he looks front of house from time to time! I was so disappointed I can't tell you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWH-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I simply love the Double Tree hotels! I've been to a couple of these for business reasons and I have always felt welcomed there, the rooms are super spacious, and the staff is always really helpful. And the idea of being greeted by a warm cookie when you check in is just great! 10/10!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Clean and fresh, kind and helpful staff. A little out the way of the M/K itself. However as such it was also quite. Room was clean and fresh, however wasn't special as some.. all in all a good hotel for a nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMiltonKeynes, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Craig B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milton Keynes. You may be interested to know that soon there will be additional leisure facilities available to hotel residents with the opening of an IMAX 11 screen cinema and several restaurants.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we appreciate it.

Yours sincerely

Jacqui Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It bills itself as the Double Tree by Hilton, the Hilton bit implies a level of quality and service and I guess that’s why they do it and it’s misleading.
An integral part of the MK Dons soccer stadium with rooms that look out over the pitch I knew it was a soccer oriented place but assumed, wrong;y, that out of season at least the Hilton bit would count for something.
The reception area is bleak, only 2 seats in the whole place it is like a statin concourse. They interrupt the booking-in process to get and give you, with a flourish, your complimentary hot chocolate cookie in its own paper bag. Not a likely indicator of a serious hotel and so it proved.
I had booked a disabled room for my 93 year old companion. The room turned out to be 70 metres (I paced it out) from the lift. When I raised this with the reception staff they were not very interested. Polite, but made no attempt to address the issue of how my companion would reach their room. The receptionist’s routine response to my complaints was ‘I’ll pass that on’. Not a lot of help even in the unlikely event it were true.
The place is large and soulless. Long corridors, poor internal signage. It seems to specialise in providing overnight accommodation for people, mainly men, mainly tattooed and football shirted on work related courses nearly. A VW logo figured on a lot of clothing. Predictably the bar was set up for that demographic. Four huge TV screens all showing the football with the commentary turned up loud. No proper beer only Eurofizz. Noise levels uncomfortably high. I was dreading the restaurant but in fact it was surprisingly pleasant. A few interesting items on the menu, I had homemade scotch egg with soldiers, I am sure it is a recipe I saw recently on The Great British Menu. They got it right. It was excellent. My companion’s mushrooms in cheesy sauce was less adventurous, but a perfectly sound dish. For main course we chose the ‘surf and turf’ which was slices or pork and beef and seafood brought to your table with a ‘hot volcanic rock’ on which to cook it yourself. Innovative and an engaging idea, that’s why we picked it. Trouble is the rock didn’t work . On our first try they quickly took the rock away, saying someone had turned the oven down to 150 degrees from the 350 it should have been at. Second time round it was better but just didn’t hold enough heat to cook more than a couple of bits to even my rare taste. Pity. Nice idea but needs a bit more development. But the staff were excellent, kept coming back to see if all was well, removed the first rock without prompting and when they asked how we were doing with the second one and we told them they volunteered that we would not be charged. And we weren’t. Restaurant staff very helpful and friendly, tried to deal with the issue not merely ‘pass it on’. Full marks for trying, keep at it, don’t be tempted to slip back to the easy, boring basics.
Breakfast what one might expect given the hotels obvious target audience, indeed the hot buffet possibly a little more limited than normal. OK, plenty of it.
At £150 per person per night B&B it’s overpriced for what it is. It was clear that most quests, unlike us, were not paying with their own money.
Unless you want to watch the football in season, or are learning how to service your VW, stay away.

Room Tip: You have to be fit to reach a disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMiltonKeynes, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Stephen T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milton Keynes and for taking the time to write this review we appreciate it.

I'm sorry to read that there were parts of your stay that you were unhappy with. Our accessible rooms have purposefully been placed away from lifts and nearer to evacuation points so that in the unlikely event of an emergency they can be best assisted.

The world cup brings with it many issues....to show or not to show. We took the decision to show England games in Red Dot Bar on the ground floor and other countries games in pitchside bar, I am sorry that you felt the volume was to too loud, that must have been very annoying. We have a new bar opening soon that will be 100% football free, should you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurant team.

If you would like to call me to discuss any of the above please do so on 01908 364184

Yours sincerely

Jacqui Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well we felt like we were in the way..... the Hotel felt like it was empty but we were put in a lovely room but sadly next to the noisiest family in the history of the world! Breakfast was not the usual buffet we ordered what we wanted... the staff spent all their time moving tables and chairs getting ready for the match which I thought was rude... there was only a hand full of people of people eating could they not wait till we had gone.. I love this Hotel and we will always go but this was a very disappointing visit....

Room Tip: Make sure get a pitch side view.... the car park just aint pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myhappyplace85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMiltonKeynes, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear myhappyplace85,

Thank you for staying with us. I'm disappointed to read that breakfast wasn't the relaxing start to the day it should have been, how annoying, I will have a chat with the team.

Thank you for your continued loyalty we appreciate it.

Yours sincerely

Jacqui Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wanted to stay somewhere which was close to various places but did not want to stay in the centre of Milton Keynes. This is an absolutely great location with an Asda next door and a few clothes shops near by to have a little browse around is great. Very clean room and staff were very helpful. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathAndDan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMiltonKeynes, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear NathAndDan2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milton Keynes and for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it.

Yours sincerely

Jacqui Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
3.3 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,128 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Address: Stadium M K Stadium Way West, Milton Keynes MK1 1ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel and conference venue is built into Stadium MK, home of MK Dons football Club and Arena MK. Modern,tasteful design has been applied throughout to create a relaxing, inspirational venue for work and pleasure.We currently offer 304 bedrooms, 17 conference and event spaces, two public bar areas plus, unique to Milton Keynes - pitchside restaurant which has views out to the stadium. We are also delighted to offer all of our guests complimentary car parking and WiFi. Our friendly yet professional team have been trained to anticipate your needs, it is our pleasure to ensure that your time with us is the best it possibly can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing