We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is remarkable in many ways - but their breakfast surprised me the most: the scrambled egg tasted of egg. I wish every hotel could achieve that (or even every Hilton). Excellent all round but that was the outstanding surprise (however simple, it made a difference).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank PL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a mostly great stay and this clean, comfortable, contemporary hotel. Our room was fantastic - very big, the bed was really comfy and the view of the stadium impressive. We had dinner in the restaurant and the two people who dealt with us (Simon, I think, and a short man with a lovely accent!) were professional and attentive and the food was really good.

Sadly breakfast the next morning was not such a happy affair. We got back to our seat after my husband got his cereal to find someone else sitting in it! He said he had been seated there. My husband pointed out that our drinks were on the table and he refused to move at first, but reluctantly did. I tried to get some cornflakes but although the handle turned the device refused to let go of its contents. I asked a waiter for help and he said he'd be "back in a minute" but several minutes passed with no sight of him (and no other staff appeared to be available) so I abandoned that idea and we queued up for the cooked breakfast.

We waited in a long queue for about 10 minutes (I got hit by the kitchen door which was swung open with real force - so much so that the guy who did it was ticked off by his more senior colleague) but by the time we were down to about 3 people in front there was nothing left on display apart from bacon and hash browns. One of the kitchen staff came out and said it would be at a minimum of 10 minutes before they could replenish the items. Unfortunately we had a time specific place to be and so we left with no breakfast. Such a shame - the dinner was wonderful, the breakfast a shambles. They serve until 11am on a Sunday but I would suggest getting to breakfast by 9.30am if you don't want to leave the place hungry.

However, overall we had a good stay and the majority of the staff were great so we would probably return if we ever need a hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Room 3004 with a pitch-side view is lovely, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed on 29th this month, reception staff, welcoming, and helpful, the rooms are an excellent standard,spacious,. clean, modern, with all amenities that you require, beds large and comfortable.The food in the restaurant was excellent, as were the staff, and the quality and options for breakfast were also top class.....the scrambled and poached eggs which are fresh were the best we have had in many years of travelling...still when you see the MK Dons players and staff in eating breakfast you know its going to be top standard......Overall experience top class, and may i add great value....will be returning again this year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madaboutsportltd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel plenty of times and can vouch for the high standards of facilities, amminites and attention. Though what surprises me is the inconsistency in the level of service. i ordered the same meal for three continous nights ( limited by health issues) and found the meal to ve very different all three times.

still would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: you can ask for an extra cookie if you like them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went on a two day business trip with a colleague. The hotel is connected to football field (soccer), so it was setup to be crowd friendly. Would be great to stay at the hotel and watch a game. In summary the, hotel was friendly, convenient and has a good bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife & I have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel and would recommend it. The staff were excellent and service beyond reproach.For anyone who likes football I would suggest staying in one of the rooms that look over the pitch the view is fantastic

Well done Hilton another success.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelv501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were in Milton Keynes for a Concert and hotels were being booked up very quickly so although a little more expensive than we would usually pay we found this Fantastic hotel, staff were most helpful and the cookies were lovely, altogether a fantastic experience and when ever in Milton Keynes I would definitely be staying at Double Tree by Hilton again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.4 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
4.0 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
905 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes

Address: Stadium M K Stadium Way West, Milton Keynes MK1 1ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: £52 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel and conference venue is built into Stadium MK, home of MK Dons football Club and Arena MK. Modern,tasteful design has been applied throughout to create a relaxing, inspirational venue for work and pleasure.We currently offer 304 bedrooms, 17 conference and event spaces, two public bar areas plus, unique to Milton Keynes - pitchside restaurant which has views out to the stadium. We are also delighted to offer all of our guests complimentary car parking and WiFi. Our friendly yet professional team have been trained to anticipate your needs, it is our pleasure to ensure that your time with us is the best it possibly can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing