We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

The Different Drummer Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milton Keynes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Different Drummer Hotel
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for a family function so we were out until late so we weren't around the hotel much but we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very quaint & full of character but the room itself was warm and comfortable. We booked on laterooms.com and breakfast was not included so we paid extra for it but I thought it was good & overall the whole deal was good vallue for money.
The owner said it would have been cheaper if we booked direct - not sure if that's true but may be worth checking before you book

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I booked into the hotel as it was close to where a family celebration was taking place. From the moment we arrived, the owner looked after us and made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely, clean and pleasant with fresh fruit & chocolates.
We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and ask for the owner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoiltangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This could be a nice hotel if the owner bothered to repair the potholes (big puddles) that have to be negotiated between the car park and the hotel; heat the bedrooms (mine was cold in the evening); replace the mattresses (worst hotel mattress I've ever slept on); mend the jacuzzi; do something about the electrical buzzing sound in my room all night; not market a room as having a four poster double bed when it had two single beds with a double sheet stretched across them; not ask for payment in advance (don't agree to that); and when a guest leaves a night early not ask for full payment when the booking conditions were quite clear that late cancellation would incur a first night charge only. On the plus side I was given a free glass of wine to compensate for the jacuzzi and offered another room with a shower but having dragged a lot of luggage up three floors was too tired to bother with that. And the owner's PA contacted me later to offer a night at half price, which was a nice touch (but this should be the standard price for a hotel that's not getting the investment it should).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Wanting to stay in the local area to see friends I used Trip Advisor and saw that the Different drummer was No3 in MK. Oh how disappointing that turned out to be. Booked through the web and upon arrival the owner was on the reception desk. To say he was exasperating and confusing puts it mildy. He repeatedly said that I had two room bookings and advised me to cancel the internet brookers one. huum - is that because they pay a commision on that? A circular discussion ensued, and after several rotations, I called time on it and politely asked for the room. to say he didn't listen to us was an understatement. Deep breath and I thought we'd be OK. The room was accessed and what can I say. Tired sums it up. Cracked plaster on the walls & basin, the thinest towels, the hotest room in which the a/c free standing unit was as noisey as a JCB. It was clean-ish which was it's saving grace. Breakfast was another story. Fully processed (tinned mushrooms, pre-packed rolls) it looked like a Costco Picnic. Don't pay £10 for this. EVER.

The Different Drummer is stuck in a time warp. Hotel's at this price should make you feel special. It needs a make over, big style. Until it has that then the price should be halved or stay in the travel-lodge class ones near by - at least you know what you're getting there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OGandTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulkes, Guest Relations Manager at The Different Drummer Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel Different Drummer. We pride ourselves on our guest relations and customer service.
The hotel dates back to the 12th century and as such, is a historic hotel and an old building. The owners have invested in updating the property with modern ammenities for the comfort of our guests. Should any guests experience any issues with their room, we have a staff member on site at all times, who can attend to any problems.
Hotel DIfferent Drummer takes bookings both directly by phone and also through online booking sites. Once booked through an online site, we do not instruct guests to cancel and book directly, otherwise this would affect our relationship with our online booking sites. All booking sites state on the confirmation sheet that breakfast is 'not included' in the price. We recognize that our reception sent you a seprate confirmation that listed breakfast as 'included' in your rate. This was a clerical error for which we do apologize. We wish to note that breakfast was provided with your booking at no extra charge to compensate for any inconvenience caused. Our breakfast is made fresh daily on site. We offer both a continental and cooked breakfast option.
The Hotel Different Drummer would be happy to answer any further questions or concerns directly by phone or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Parking can be difficult here, as you really have to park on the road (opposite the hotel) but there is no restriction. However, if it's in the middle of the day, space is at a premium.
I stayed for one night; the room I was allocated had a bad drain smell, but management moved me straight away to a very nice room. If you arrive late, as I did, staff may be in the bistro next door, but they were very helpful once I found them.
I had already eaten, but if you book because of the good-looking Italian restaurant, then be warned that it is not open at the moment and won't be for some time. This is because the owners have put all their investment into the next door bistro; however, food looks good in there and I would be happy to eat there.
Room was comfortable and I slept very well indeed.
I will be travelling to this town again soon and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights to attend a concert at MK Bowl.

We had an executive room which was a decent size, very comfortable and well furnished (Sony Bravia TV for example.) The room had blinds on the windows, a large comfortable bed and was very quiet so we slept very well on both nights.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a beautiful meal. Excellent food and very attentive service, nothing was too much trouble.

I would certainly stay here again and, in my opinion, Stony Stratford is a nicer setting than Milton Keynes. My only complaint would be that, at the price I paid for 2 nights, I would expect breakfast to be included. I found it unusual that it was not and a little mean. That said, there is a lovely little cafe down the road that did a marvellous full English!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I didn't stay at the hotel but used it for a function where I entertained about 25 friends and family to a high tea. The food was all freshly made on the day and was delicious. The staff were thoughtful and courteous. When it quickly became apparent that the food would be better served at the tables rather than as a help yourself buffet, the staff quickly set about changing things without any fuss and continued to wait on everyone with a smile on their lips. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
0.1 mi away
The Cock Hotel
The Cock Hotel
#27 of 34 in Milton Keynes
479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
805 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Str...
#16 of 34 in Milton Keynes
84 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
195 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Different Drummer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Different Drummer Hotel

Property: The Different Drummer Hotel
Address: 92/94 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Different Drummer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 10th century, the establishment known today as the Hotel Different Drummer offers a delightful combination of old-world charm and modern day amenities, to make any guest feel at home. Whether you are travelling on business or leisure, or looking for the perfect venue to host a special event, the enchanting setting of the Hotel Different Drummer, situated in the heart of the village of Stony Stratford, is able to cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Different Drummer Hotel Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing