We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough, but .....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Different Drummer Hotel

The Different Drummer Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milton Keynes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Different Drummer Hotel
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I must admit I had expectations of the Different Drummer, mainly due to the recent good reviews on Tripadvisor and the high price I had paid for an Executive Room.

On arrival it looked nice outside, but parking was a little hard to find, down a private road at the rear of the hotel.. The parking itself was, I felt, poorly sign posted and consisted of a small row of spaces on a deeply potholed surface. As it had been raining this meant that the potholes were full of water and the surface very muddy - not a great start.

We then checked in and, because we were extremely tired, omitted to ask about breakfast, check-out time, etc. I do feel such details should be covered at check in as a matter of course, but nothing was forthcoming. Every time we passed reception after checking in there was no-one there (although you could press a buzzer to get attention) so we never really found out these details throughout the course of our stay.

The room itself was disappointing – a nice enough room, but just that, and somewhat dated. The bathroom was similarly disappointing and a little cold, plus amongst the provided toiletries was a half-used bottle of lotion – not impressive! Also, when we came to use the bathroom, the water was never more than lukewarm – again disappointing.

On the plus side the room was warm and quiet, the bed comfortable and everything was relatively clean. Location in Stony Stratford was also good – right on the High Street close to various pubs and shops. Stony Stratford is a nice little market town, with some interesting shops and pubs, but maybe not enough to entertain everyone.

So, in conclusion, the hotel was nice enough – it had some charming features, but, for the amount we paid, we were disappointed with our room and overall stay. I didn’t hate it, but wouldn’t stay again and feel I could find much better value elsewhere.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PooksNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Brilliant hotel, nothing is to much trouble for the staff, I have stayed here 30 or 40 times and I enjoy every visit

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Below is from the Different Drummer website, and you know what? it's all true, so there is no point in me saying other than is is without doubt superb and at under £100 B&B for an upgraded room is well worth it

Known as 'The Swan with Two Necks' until 1982, this inn has a noble history dating back to 1476 in historical annals. Transformed by the Keswani family into a superbly furnished hotel, The Different Drummer blends refinements of the present with an aura of the past.

Maintaining the traditions of a town distinguished by its hospitality and beautifully preserved coaching hostelries, the Hotel Different Drummer is an 'inn of modern happiness'. Travelers of bygone eras would marvel at the luxury of en-suite bathrooms, fitted carpets, central heating, and colour television with satellite channels in their rooms. And while although guest rooms have been designed with the present-day visitor in mind, the proprietors have taken care to maintain the building's long and rich history. The elegant Georgian façade remains unchanged from 1743, when it was replaced after the great fire of Stony Stratford; the old stables still exist and fine antique furniture graces the rooms.

The hotel boasts 19 en-suite guest rooms and two fine dining restaurants. Enjoy a glass of wine and a delicious meal prepared in the modern and chic setting of Vine Wine Bar. Or indulge your palette in our silver-service Italian and Seafood restaurant, Al Tamborista.

Room Tip: Rooms are all of a high standard but i always ask for an executice suite,there are no avaerage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Different Drummer is such a welcome relief from the standard hotel chain! Each room is different, furnished tastefully and luxuriously, with some lovely pieces of art of furniture dotted throughout. Plus the breakfast is excellent: continental, English… all needs are catered for and it's always beautifully cooked. Staff are consistently friendly and welcoming, making you feel totally at home. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Have stayed in a number of rooms over the past few years and I can honestly say they're all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed here several years ago and again this week and found the hotel as lovely as we remembered. We just love this place.

The hotel is full of character, the bed was so comfortable and the lounge has the right atmosphere to enjoy a pre-dinner drink and a chat or just to sit and relax in.

We stayed in room 10 overlooking the road which could have been noisy but we didn't have any disturbances even though the secondary glazing wasn't closed. I didn't realise that until the following morning.

The extra little touches make all the difference; fresh flowers in the room (this time, yellow roses which just happen to be my favourite) and several delicious chocolates. Also the towels are large and fluffy.

The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them.

If you want a modern hotel with no character this is not the one for you, whereas if you want a hotel with character and olde worlde charm, then this one certainly is.

Room Tip: The two we've stayed in have both been really pleasant as I'm sure they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nantlais29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed in room 10, Excellent! Like staying in a old country manor. We have stayed in the worlds best hotels and while this was not a 5 star hotel, we absolutely loved it. We will definitely stay there again if the opportunity occurs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tukwenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

It really is full of character and always very comfortable; I sleep wonderfully as it is so quiet. But this time I ate in the annexed bistro/wine bar and when ordering food, the waitress thought I ordered 'veggies' when in fact I ordered 'wedges'. My stay was enhanced by the collapse of the ceiling during breakfast the following morning, due to a water leak which had built up over some time but eventually brought down the old plaster and lath ceiling. Fortunately no-one was hurt and the damage was confined to the hotel's small bar area. Had a bit of a laugh about it though with the owner as it made my stay eventful. The owners are generous and the place atmospheric. I would stay more often if I could. And nothing's too much trouble for the staff. Although I'm glad to be going home after my business trip, I am sad to leave here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
6.0 mi away
Swan Revived Hotel
Swan Revived Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cock Hotel
The Cock Hotel
#27 of 34 in Milton Keynes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#4 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Different Drummer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Different Drummer Hotel

Property: The Different Drummer Hotel
Address: 92/94 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Different Drummer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 10th century, the establishment known today as the Hotel Different Drummer offers a delightful combination of old-world charm and modern day amenities, to make any guest feel at home. Whether you are travelling on business or leisure, or looking for the perfect venue to host a special event, the enchanting setting of the Hotel Different Drummer, situated in the heart of the village of Stony Stratford, is able to cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Different Drummer Hotel Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing