We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, but.......”

Thai Modern Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 538 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, but.......”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was the fourth time I have been to this restaurant and the food, as before was excellent. On past visits the service was also excellent, but sorry to say on this occasion it was all very impersonal. I know it was Saturday night and they were busy, but there was enough waiting staff to cover the tables. I was dissapointed in the atitude of the staff who appeared to be just 'going through the motions'. A smile every now and then and a friendly comment makes it just that bit special and costs nothing. I will go again because the food is so good but I do hope the next time I visit the staff up their game to their previous standards. The service has to be part of the dining out experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mpgshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    101
    40
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was my first visit to the Thai Modern and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The setting of the restaurant is un-inspiring, as its surrounded by office blocks, however, once inside it's a different story - thank goodness!

I was with a group of friends, so to make life easier, we ordered the banquet (hot n spicy) for £19.99 per head including dessert and coffee.

The food was really lovely, tasty and well-cooked and not actually too hot, so dont be put off by that. There was a mixture of meat and seefood plus vegetable dishes and a good selection of starters. I had the Chocolate crunch dessert which was very nice. Service was good and will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank herbiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good quality and warm welcome- menu makes choice easy”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Parking is great in the evening. Free after 6, and as offices are all around, there is always a space. The restaurant is quite big, therefore can take you often if you have no booking. The have an al la carte but make your life easy by offering essentially a choice of set menus, roughly along the lines of:
Fish (spicy)
Fish (not too spicy)
Veg (see above)
Meat (see above)
These choices should satisfy most tastes. Value for money is fair, and I rarely have room for the dessert. The authentic staff give you a warm welcome, and the food is at least good, and sometimes very good.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank upperdeckplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Food is always excellent and superbly presented. The ambience of the restaurant is great. Just a stones throw away from the Hub area of Milton Keynes it would be high on my list if i was staying at one of hte hotels there.

They also do a great Sunday buffet.

Prices I think are in the mid range but great value for money for the quality of food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knight5188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good food, lovely ambience and excellent service. Great sweet trolley for those who like a dessert with Thai food.

Helpful?
2 Thank ShoneyMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Modern Restaurant also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Thai Modern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing