We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You would not think you were in the middle of Milton Keynes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Second time staying down in Milton Keynes in as many weeks for work and chose this hotel as my second choice as my first choice hotel from my previous visit was not available. I have to admit my colleague and I were pleasantly surprised on our arrival. You seem to go from roundabout to roundabout as is the norm in this area to a hotel that gives you the feeling you are in the middle of the countryside even though you aren't. Checking in was smooth and quick and we were dealt with by a friendly and informative member of staff. I was allocated room 33 a double room with a side garden view. The room had a small seating area, a desk/writing area and small flat screen TV. There was a complimentary tea/coffee making facilities which included a delicious flapjack and sachet of hot chocolate. There was a small fridge/mini bar (although empty) and also an iron and ironing board located inside a large wardrobe. The bathroom was a good size in tasteful decoration and I had ample hot water/pressure throughout my stay. My colleague stayed in room 28 which was a mirror image of mine but had twin beds instead. We didn't eat our evening meal at the hotel (see separate review) as we just liked the look of the pub situated around the corner. We did have a couple of drinks in the comfortable bar area before we went out and again the staff were genuinely friendly. Outside the bar are some lovely benches/umbrellas which would be nice to have a drink outside but it was far too cold during our visit. We both had a very comfortable nights sleep, I guess due to the quiet location despite it being around the corner from a housing estate (a nice one but you wouldn't know it was there). We both had cooked breakfast in the morning which was very good although its cooked to order which means you can't keep going back like you would in a buffet style for more. That said there was an abundance of toast brought to us and a good continental selection of cold meats, cereal,yoghurt,fresh fruit and pastries if you want more.
All in all a very good hotel if you want a nice quiet night whilst staying in Milton Keynes and you want to switch off from work. We paid £65 for bed and breakfast and this included free wi-fi. The only thing that would make this better is some sort of fitness centre or swimming pool. I went for a run and there are some good open green spaces for you to go should you wish.

Room Tip: Room 33 was right at the end in the corner so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LardyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Strangely but quaintly situated in the "countryside bit" of a housing estate,surrounded by lovely landscape & close to a popular pub. An efficient and delightful young Spanish receptionist ,fortunate to be allocated a "prestige room" which was cozy but perfect for one ,might have been a little tight for 2.
Fabulous to have a nespresso coffee machine ,a touch of class and very appreciated as a fussy caffeine junky.Small minibar which they will stock on request.Room clean and fresh.Wi Fi available in the lounge area.
Parts of the hotel do look a little worn but still charming ,I am told by colleagues that some rooms are nicer and quieter than others. I had no problems with water pressure but colleagues did , there is plenty of hot water.
Food in the restaurant is generous and good, the lady in charge of the restaurant was very charming and professional.
F&B manager really needs to expand his wine list a little and ensure that he keeps his stock levels adequate as unacceptable when you have such a limited list to run out of wines!
Breakfast really good and cooked to order, fire needs to be lit earlier in the evenings in cold weather as adds to ambience.
Overall would be happy to stay there again as was made very welcome.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Just spent a wonderful time having afternoon tea. Fabulous sandwiches, cakes and scones with a glass of champagne and choice of teas which come in individual artisan tea pots. The waitress was attentive without being over powering. There's no mention on the website that the hotel serve afternoon tea, only picked up on this because of another trip advisor review. Really impressed and will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tripadvice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for one night whilst on business in Milton Keynes. The hotel is tucked away in a lovely quiet location with more than adequate parking faclities. The staff in all areas of the hotel are very polite and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them and they all go about their work with smiles on their faces. My room was in the main house, warm comfortable, spacious and very quiet - no noise from outside or late night people slamming doors, Bliss!!!! The food was excellent both at dinner and in the morning, i was actually served a l lovely hot breakfast, tea with extra water and toast all made for you with a choice of cold buffet to start.

The hotel looks a little dated in places but is excellent value for money and one of the most friendly places I have actually stayed in. I will definately book again - I had a lovely comfortable nights sleep, excellent food and a home from home experience with their friendly staff. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Unlike other reviews seen service was fine, girls friendly and helpful.

Sadly, not matched by setting. Cold snowy day and no fires or cheer as hoped for, invited to sit in a standard, but colourless restaurant area.. Hotel, had 'tired' look and decoration was drab and ill lit.

Sandwiches dry and had clearly been prepared earlier but not covered for some time. Cakes fine and scones excellent, presented warmed.

We asked to take residue cakes away for family later, expecting they might be boxed attractively. They were presented bundled in cling wrap.

I asked my wife would she recommend the experience to friends, A definite NO. (Already conveyed to friends locally.)

Clearly, a complete lack of appreciation of what constituted a luxury setting, or even a welcoming simple ambience.

Very disappointing!

Room Tip: No experience of accommodation,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel has character but it needs some love. We arrived at the hotel to a very crowded reception but no staff. Things did seem a little chaotic with staff rushing around and items from room service left out in corridors. Our bedroom at the rear of the hotel was spacious and comfortable. It was nice to have a fridge in the room and also iron and board. The room would benefit from a bright lamp in front of the mirror for when applying makeup. The ensuite has both a bath and shower. It was difficult to control the temperature of the shower and the general appearance of the ensuite was a bit tired, but could easily be spruced up. The guttering outside the window appeared to be broken and therefore when it rained in the night there was noise of constant running/splasing water from the gutters. Although the hotel has Wifi Its necessary to pay, which we thought should be free. There was a great choice of breakfast but the hot plates did not keep the food hot. With a few improvements this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesanexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday wedding anniversary dinner, which coincided with a wedding reception. The staff did a good job of separating the two functions, but inevitably there was some crowding both in the evening and the following morning at breakfast. There was some evidence of staff overstretch (uncollected items in the corridor; a buffet cover dropped on the floor) but this was eventually rectified. Our room was well sized, with a park view, and well appointed, though bathroom lighting could have been improved. The dinner and buffet breakfast were excellent with good service. Overall, easily accessible from the motorway, this is an excellent location both for business visitors and weekend leisure tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the main building are quiet, well insulated from events (e.g. discothques!) at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#8 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,219 reviews
5.4 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
406 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: £52 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing