We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Became like a 2nd home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It Became like a 2nd home”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

After being seconded on business to work in Milton Keynes, I was fortunate enough to spend my 1st night at the Parkside. After several weeks of being booked in a number of other hotels in Milton Keynes, I requested to go back to the Parkside, and subsequently spent nigh on 6 months in residence.

Getting the negatives out of the way:

1. Room quality - Varies room to room and generally in somewhat need of an update.

2. Car Park - Poorly laid out ending up with residents poorly parked which can lead to access being restricted.

3. Coach house accommodation - Provides basic rooms but are quite restrictive and not in the best of order (N.B. This is based on feedback from colleagues, rather than personal experience)

Now to the positives

1. Staff - To a woman and man, from Reception to Restaurant and Bar they were simply fantastic and made my stay so much easier, and couldn't do enough to help.
It really was of great solace, after an extended period away from a young family at home, that I was made to feel like a member of the 'Parkside' family.

2. Location - Considering it is no more than 5 minutes from the centre of Milton Keynes, you would simply not know it, a very tranquil and pretty location.

3. Restaurant - Recognising it already has a Rosette, this is backed up by the superior nature of the menu and food compared to any other hotel restaurant's I ate at and infact a lot of Restaurants in Milton Keynes.
In addition, suffering with a wheat intolerance, the staff made sure everything was checked and where possible an alternative 'wheat free' option offered.

To Rob and his team, I extend my thanks and hope at some point to return to visit

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to get feedback from regular guests as you have more of an insight into the positives (and negatives) of the hotel.

I'm delighted to see that on the whole your comments are positive and I'll ensure that I pass your comments on to the whole team.

Many thanks again

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    272
    122
    61
    38
See reviews for
185
343
38
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from a couple of nights away with Mum and Dad and have to say that this is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and welcoming. The lounge and bar areas are comfortable with a very nice décor and the bedrooms are of a high standard. We stayed in rooms on the ground floor of the main hotel building. The food in the restaurant is good quality and the breakfast was very good too. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet short break. The hotel is in a pretty location with lovely walks and cycle routes along the canal and through parkland.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor rooms in main hotel building to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your considered review. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay here, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely hotel, fabulous afternoon tea. Great service, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is good, freshly cooked. Bed was a little soft for me but of good quality.

We really enjoyed our stay and would go again. Realistically you need a car to get around. It looks like there is lots of local walking and the Grand Union canal is nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank KasayLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and over night stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed one night in Mercure. The room I choosed was the Coachroom. Its a small room I have but for under GBP 40, I considered its value for money. Its clean and the bed was comfortable. The toilet was clean but the shower was a bit weak. The recpetion staff was nice and helpful during my checked in. He also offer me a breakfast for GBP10 which was cheaper than booking it with the room online. The srroundings was nice and very counrtyside which I enjoyed most.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islander313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival I was very excited as the hotel looked stunning, only to find we were stuck out in the old stables which were dated and small. Room had electrical issues when using some of the light switches. Horrendous noise which would only stop when the trip switch was flicked. Tiny shower too! Breakfast good though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay and that it did not meet with your expectations.

I hope we can have the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked this venue for a 2 day meeting and can highly recommend it. It's really important to get a good venue and I wouldn't hesitate to use this one again. Great accommodation, excellent food, good location and very useful for delegates flying in from overseas....also an important factor is that it was very peaceful, no traffic noise etc. Meeting room was a bit cold on the first day but this was soon sorted. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, I am delighted your meeting was a success.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Amazing!!!! I have only just got round to writing my review but Nicola and her team were fantastic! They organised and help me plan a day I cannot fault! I felt like a true princess!
Food was delicious and well presented, bedrooms were lovely and comfy and Staff were so helpful!
I would recommended this venue to anyone whatever the occasion!
I can't wait to come back :)
Thankyou so so much again
Mr and Mrs Ives x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleysummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Ives,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, Nicola and the team will be delighted that you had such an amazing day.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)

Property: Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel (Was Mercure Parkside House) Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing